We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get Lit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bookstore

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Bookstore
11 Housatonic Street, Lenox, MA 01240
(413) 637 3390
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Shopping in Lenox
Attraction details
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get Lit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Really? We weren't sure if Matt and his bookstore were figments of our imagination or if we really did spend the best hours of our four day vacation over Thanksgiving weekend browsing the shelves and chatting it up with the locals. If I had an ounce of ability or ambition to write a novel, it would almost certainly be set at The Bookstore in Lenox.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    0
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No time for this customer”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The owner was totally occupied with someone who was not a customer and never asked to help me--I was sitting with three possible purchases. I asked if he could discount a $30 book: answer: NO. I subsequently purchased the same book, NEW, for $7.00

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great poetry selection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I could have spent half a day here. Wonderful selection of books, and an unusually large (in my experience) selection of poetry volumes. I had to put back half the books I chose, as I could not take them all. No room in the luggage!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Don't miss this bookstore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

When I think of Lenox, I think of Tanglewood and this wonderful bookstore. I never fail to stop by when in the Berkshires. Its pleasures are many: the enjoyment of going to a real non-chain bookstore and leaving with unexpected treasures, the conversation with Matt, the owner, book expert and raconteur, the little cafe for snacks, coffee, and wine. And finally, I love sitting in the orange chair in the front for excellent people watching and book conversation.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bookstore also viewed

 
West Stockbridge, Berkshires
 

Been to The Bookstore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bookstore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.