We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdoors experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pleasant Valley Sanctuary

Pleasant Valley Sanctuary
472 W Mountain Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2037
413-637-0320
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Attractions in Lenox
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Birdwatching, Viewing wildlife, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This 1,500-acre sanctuary, along the slopes of Lenox Mountain, features several miles of hiking and biking trails.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outdoors experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Good birding, love the trails, wildflowers. Got married there, actually, since my husband worked there as a young man.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    17
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

A hike or walk at Pleasant Valley is great any time of year. We've gone skiing in the winter, walking in the autumn and hiking in the spring and summer. There are varied, well marked and maintained trails from easy to difficult. The hike to the fire tower affords a four state view from the top. We love to watch the beavers at work at dusk. If you're very quiet you can always catch lots of wildlife going about their business. The programs are always great, too. Highly knowledgeable staff and very helpful.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“great place to hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I spent several hours hiking the trails, on my own. It was very beautiful and serene. I hiked to the top, where there was a wonderful view, and around some ponds where I saw beavers. Highly recommended, especially on a nice day.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well-marked Trails, Beautiful Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We chose this adventure for our last day in the Berkshire Mountains and we were glad we did. The trails are excellently marked (the best I've ever seen) and there are several trails to choose from. There are beaver dams and lakes to see and walk around. You can climb to a mountaintop, if you want. Many different plants and birds to enjoy. Many benches to rest upon and enjoy the views. This is a quiet place with few fellow walkers. The attendants are kind and helpful. Nice, clean restrooms.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

There are not too many sanctuaries around here that affords this much diversity. You can climb a mountain here or opt for a short and easy trail with views of beaver ponds. Walk through grassy marshlands or through wooded forests. I love it here and the lady at the front desk knows me to be a regular. My son and I always see wildlife here whether it's a turtle or a frog. If you do like we do and come late in the afternoon, maybe an hour before dusk, you can probably see a beaver in the upper pond. Sometimes we see his wake and the top of his head and other times he has lazed on the bank of the pond munching on "salad." There is a dry erase board in the front listing recent animal sightings. Be careful of bears!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pleasant Valley Sanctuary also viewed

Lenox, Berkshires
Lenox, Berkshires
 
Stockbridge, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 

Been to Pleasant Valley Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pleasant Valley Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.