We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nudel Restaurant

Nudel Restaurant
37 Church Street, Lenox, MA 01240
413.551.7183
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 59 Restaurants in Lenox
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“unique menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

It's very small and you may have to wait, but the wait is worthwhile. Innovative menu choices, attractive presentation and great taste make this a top choice in Lenox.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    33
    18
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Delicious and Creative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Amazing food. Fresh available selections mostly from local area and beautifully presented. The service is good and the servers are helpful with guiding you in your selections if you need it. Reservations a must.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Favorite Lenox restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Nudel met every expectation we had and more. It’s in an unassuming location, in fact we walked by without realizing this was the restaurant we were looking for. The size is small and intimate. The staff is friendly but not overbearing. There’s no hint of snobbery by patrons, staff or chef.
You can sit at a table or at a small bar in the back where you can watch chef Bjorn Somlo perform his magic. I can see why he was nominated for a best new chef award by Food & Wine.
Every dish we had was interesting and so tasty. The ingredients were fresh, the presentation lovely and the portions reasonably sized and priced. We ate in several wonderful and satisfying restaurants on our Berkshires trip and this was our #1 favorite.
Read more about this restaurant ftlauderdalenews.com

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had heard that this was the number one restaurant in Lenox and tried to get in last year - without luck. This time we had a half-hour wait and were excited to be able to try this "great" restaurant. The service was friendly and very knowledgable about the food and the wine. The food -- nothing to be excited about. The chicken and rice croquettes starter were overcooked and tasteless. The mustard spaetzle with chicken and cabbage (2 kinds) was overly sour and the pork ribs confit (again with cabbage) were okay. Dessert (at $10) was tiny bits of peanut butter brownies, chocolate ganache squares and a scoop of peanut butter mousse. The caramel sauce helped the very dry brownie bits. The chef gets credit for "trying" to create inventive food, but it just doesn't succeed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“The chef is an artist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Such a creative menu and an inspired meal, it was worth the wait. It's a tiny place and doesn't take reservations but they have a great system. They call you on your cell phone once you come in and ask for a table. It worked well. We not only had a great meal but we made friends with the couples at the tables on both sides of us who were also enjoying their experience just as much.
We heard that the chef changes the menu every day so we'd love to go back and try it again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nudel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nudel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nudel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.