We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite restaurant in Lenox” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateways Inn & Restaurant

The Gateways Inn & Restaurant
51 Walker St, Lenox, MA 01240-2719
413-637-2532
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 59 Restaurants in Lenox
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Lenox”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Lenox to see the foliage. We had dinner in a few of the restaurants and thought the Gateways Inn & Restaurant was the best. The menu is very creative reflecting the culinary teams expertise utilizing local products. Michele and Eiran are wonderful hosts. Looking forward to dining there the next time we are at Tanglewood and visiting The Rockwell Museum.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    14
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lee, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food and service in Berkshire County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We booked the Gateways Inn for my wife's 40th birthday party, and it was a superb evening. I wanted all guests to choose from the menu, and not have a set menu, which the Gateways owners, Michele and Eiran graciously agreed to. They take great pride in delivering a great experience and their staff were also a delight to work with. The service was outstanding and perfectly paced, the bar service equally great, friendly and relaxed. This is truly a gem in New England, unpretentious and a great atmosphere. I cannot wait to return. It was a perfect night and the owners and staff did everything to make it a memorable event.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A nice Inn in a beautiful area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A very pleasant stay. Michelle and her husband have managed to create a comfortable, unpretentious and happy atmosphere. I highly recommend it and hope to return. The nightly entertainment is wonderful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We make our annual "August" trip to Tanglewood for the music. Each year we search for a place to enjoy a nice dinner...this year we discovered a gem. At the Gateways we had a wonderful choice and excellent preparation to satisfy everyone. After dinner we moved to the living room area of the bed and breakfast to enjoy our dessert. What a great trio they had, woodwinds, piano and bass! This will definitely be a "must do" from now on!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
1 review
“A Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a great meal at the Gateways. The decor is lovely and in the style of a charming New England Inn. The service was wonderful, the innkeepers make you feel like you’re a member of the family and food was hot and delicious. Their mushroom crape appetizer is not to be missed. The veal chop was done to perfection. While dining two local celebrities happened to arrive at the inn. John Williams was in the dining room having dinner and James Taylor was in the piano bar enjoying the music. It was truly a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateways Inn & Restaurant also viewed

 
Lenox, Berkshires
 

Been to The Gateways Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateways Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.