We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See Lenox life from a local's perspective!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastgate Inn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lenox
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eastgate Inn B&B
Save
You added Eastgate Inn B&B to your Saves list
207 West Street, Lenox, MA 01240   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 Lenox B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“See Lenox life from a local's perspective!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Dalija Merrit, is the perfect host.
She is friendly and accommodating in a low key helpful way.
The location is a short and enjoyable stroll from Lenox, Ma. It is right beside Tanglewood which is an amazing classical music hieve. Tanglewood backs onto a beautiful lake, so if you're a nature lover this Is the place for you. Lenox is a pretty town, associated with the arts. I went to visit Sienna Gallery , lovely, progressive, Contemporary Jewellery.
Also Mass Mocca - a super modern art museum.
East gate Inn is really clean, comfortable.
Dalija prides herself on making it a home away from home. She gushes with enthusiasm about what she will do next with this b&b, it is newly refurbished , it oozes excitement and possibility.
Dalija takes the time to listen to what YOU want to do, she gets an idea of your taste, what you would like to get from your break and tailors her suggestions accordingly.
As a single woman traveling alone, I felt very at ease - more like id dropped in to see my Lenox family!!
I whole heartedly reccomend a stay at Eastgate Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

All I have to say is the Eastgate Inn was an unexpected gem. My wife and I were really just looking for a B&B close to Tanglewood. We try and visit Tanglewood every summer and were just hoping for a clean and comfortable place, but what we found will hopefully be our go to Berkshire location for years to come. Delija is a fantastic and gracious host, and its only a matter of time before the word is out on the Eastgate Inn. My wife and I were actually laughing because we both had the same thought about writing this review. We feel strongly that Delija deserves a great write-up, but both feared that doing so might result in difficulty getting a room here in the future. Whatever, Delijah deserves it. Besides, not only does she get a great rating from us on the B&B alone, but I dont think there is a better location if you are visiting Tanglewood. You are walking distance to the main entrance. We had to drive, since we were traveling with my parents and my father requires a wheelchair/walker, but you can save yourself the headache of dealing with the pre/post-performance traffic and just walk. It's that close.

As for the rooms. We initially stayed in the 1st floor King bed the first night which was clean, comfortable and spacious. We then moved up to the second floor queen, since my parents needed a first floor room. The queen room was equally clean, though notably smaller than the king room. Delijah serves a large continental breakfast each morning between 8-10:30. Breakfast included fresh fruit, bagels/english muffins, yogurt and fresh baked goods. There is always coffee available (Keurig type with a nice selection of options), and several tea options as well. We made use of the back deck throughout the weekend. There is comfortable seating that can accommodate at least 20 people.

Please note, this is apparently only Delija's second season managing the Eastgate Inn. (any reviews before 2011 are from the prior owner) I think the only reason she is not ranked higher on trip advisor is due to the lack of reviews. So It's only a matter of time before the word is out on the Eastgate Inn!!! I just hope that next season we can get a room.

Room Tip: The location and sevice rating does not do this place justice. Excellent is an understatement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have been going to the East Gate Inn for many years, but we have never been as spoiled as we were on our recent visit. The new innkeeper, Dalija Merritt is just wonderful and she has quite a green thumb! The deck is adorned with a multitude flowers overlooking a lovely garden. We ate our ample breakfast including just baked muffins, cinnamon buns and banana bread out on the deck. Dalija is a source of all sorts of resources including local swimming and hiking spots. and we went to a lovely outdoor dinner conert at the Mount (Edith Wharton's place) on her recommendation. She also provided us with a cart, table and an umbrella so we could easily take our chairs and picnic basket with us as we walked to Tanglewood- a very short 10 minute walk from the inn. It's amazing to be able to walk to and from the concerts and not have to bother with the traffic and parking hassles. We just love this place and we'll be back again next summer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We just came back from our first visit to Eastgate Inn and also, our first James Taylor concert at Tanglewood. It took us just 10 minutes to walk to the concert from Eastgate Inn. This property is beautifully landscaped and furnished. The huge back deck is filled with wicker furniture with comfy cushions and pillows. The deck overlooks the rest of the yard and the wooded area beyond that. It was just so relaxing. There are four rooms - 1 king, 2 queens and a (2) twin and they all have their own bathroom and TV and internet. The new owner Dalija was as gracious and welcoming as they come. Breakfast was fabulous with fresh fruits, hot and cold cereals, home made breads, bagels, jams, crousants, juice and a Keurig machine that was available all day long. I will definitely stay here the next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We just came back from our first visit to the Eastgate Inn. It will certainly NOT be our last! This place is a hidden gem. It was an easy stroll to Tanglewood and NO traffic snarl for us! The inn is clean and comfy, and the innkeeper, Joan, is wonderful. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

Great small B&B located 1/4 mile from Tanglewood. Perfect walking distance.

We stayed in late August for the James Taylor concert. Joan is very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was good, Joan had lots of tips on things to do during the day in the area. Walked to the concert, only 1/4 mile, and it was nice walking back and not fighting the legendary traffic. Rooms very nice and comfortable.

Overall we had a a great trip, and are looking forward to going back for our next trip

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastgate Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastgate Inn B&B

Address: 207 West Street, Lenox, MA 01240
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastgate Inn B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.