We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST of the Berkshires” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanglewood

Tanglewood
West St off Rte 183, Lenox, MA 01240
413 637 5165
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Attractions in Lenox
Type: Symphonies, Theaters & Stadiums
Activities: People-watching, Picnicking, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The summer home of the Boston Symphony Orchestra features performances by world-renowned conductors, soloists and musicians.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“BEST of the Berkshires”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Every year we find the time to spend an afternoon or evening or both at Tanglkewood. As the summer home of the Boston Symphony Orchestra and the Boston Pops, the music is fanatastic, but that is only the starting point.

Surrrounded by well manicuredlawns, a hemlock tree maze, mor ethan adequate servcies, free parking and a low cost of entry, Tanglewood is agreat familyt experience, for friends, or couples. Pack a picnic basket, bring your favorite libationns, a candle or two and relax an enjoy the evening.

Jaes Taylor makes it his summer home, garrison Keiller comes every summer and surprises with his specia guests.

I cannot picture a summer with a Tanglewood in it !

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    51
    11
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tanglewood: Tops in wonderful music!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hearing the Boston Symphony and the Boston Pops on the same weekend was a memorable experience. Contrasting programs, from the classical to music from the movies. made for a very special experience. The venue , in the out of doors in the Berkshires of western Massachusetts. adds a special component. This is a "must do:" for music lovers!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Last concert this Season.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a joy it was to hear the Boston Pops in their summer venue. Our tickets were inthe Shed to hear Conductor Lockhart and hi orchestra accompany Patti Austin sing aka Ella Fitzgerald. What a joyous matinee.
Most of all, while in Lenox we have met gracious, friendly people anxious to be friendly to new visitors like us.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not just for classical music lovers...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

For years we have enjoyed listening to classical music both inside and out on the lawn at the magnificent setting of Tanglewood in Lenox, MA, in the heart of the Berkshires. However, non-lovers of classical music should take note as more and more diverse kinds of entertainment are being offered here during the summer. This summmer we began our Tanglewood season with our annual visit to the live taping of Garrison Keillor and his "Prairie Home Companion." We closed our summer Berkshire season with the live taping of the NPR show "Wait, Wait, Don't Tell Me." Both shows offered clever humor and treated their audiences to entertainment an hour and a half beyond that of the regular length of their broadcasts.
Visitors to the Berkshires should check out some of the unusual offerings there, although the sounds of the Boston Symphony Orchestra wafting out over the lawn on a summer night are hard to beat!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tanglewood A Place To Remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I attend a weekend of concerts every Summer and I am never disappointed. The Movie noght is especially good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanglewood also viewed

Lenox, Berkshires
Becket, Berkshires
 
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 

Been to Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanglewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.