We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tanglewood

Tanglewood
West St off Rte 183, Lenox, MA 01240
413 637 5165
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 18 attractions in Lenox
Type: Symphonies, Theaters
Activities: People-watching, Picnicking, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The summer home of the Boston Symphony Orchestra features performances by world-renowned conductors, soloists and musicians.
Glen Ellen
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Such a lovely setting for an evening concert! Bringing a picnic and enjoying the music is so pleasant!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    37
    10
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ivoryton, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Grand Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Tanglewood is such a wonderful place to go !

* Make sure you get there early ; parking could be a hassle ! Then you can pick your perfect
spot on the lawn, read your book, go for walk around the grounds, sit and relax,
people watch, take a nap or just be...

I have heard Classical music in the Summer of 2010 a few times on the lawn; Great experience !

The James Taylor Charity Event on July 2nd 2012 in the shed.

The tickets are cheap for the lawn; which is the best place to sit because you can still hear the music, people watch, get up and walk around without disturbing the people next to you if you were in the shed, and I think you can't eat in the shed. The shed is a great place to sit if it was raining !

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Summer living”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have yet to sit in the shed for a concert because we love the lawn experience so much! We have invested in a "garden cart" with big rubber wheels to carry all of our picnic gear. Last year we even upgraded to a folding picnic table & stools. It is such a wonderful experience to hear live music, outdoors on summer's afternoon or evening. Always a good idea to bring a tarp or something to put under your blanket since the evening air can be moist. A don't miss experience!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love the lawn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great place to be on a summer night. Bring a blanket and sit on the lawn. BYO wine and dinner or buy it there.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Venue but watch out for vacationers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We always used to have a good time visiting Tanglewood. If you go for the classical music, you'll never have a problem. But if you go for the special events, such as 4th of July (usually with James Taylor), or John William's Film Night, be prepared for a LOT of people and many of them just plain rude. This is why I cannot give the venue an Excellent rating. We never sit in the shed but go early in the day with picnic baskets, chairs, blankets, and books to read as we wait for the concert to begin. The screens above the outside of the shed provide plenty of viewing of what's going on on stage. We "stake out our territory" so we can enjoy it but as more and more people arrive, especially those from out of state, they move our things to make way for their own. I've had people walk right across our blankets and step on my items (had a basket broken, too) with nary an "excuse me" or "pardon me." We get there early, like a lot of other people, and don't appreciate this behaviour. One instance, a group from out of state squeezed between us and the people behind us and then complained they couldn't see over our chairs (we have beach chairs which are low and they didn't have any). If you plan to go to one of those venues, if you want to see the stage and not be sitting far away, be prepared for those who have no care for anyone but themselves. One nice thing is you can leave your things alone after setting up and no one will touch them. But as time gets closer to the performance, don't leave anything unattended or else these rude people will pack up your stuff so they can take your space.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanglewood also viewed

Becket, Berkshires
Stockbridge, Berkshires
 

Been to Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanglewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.