We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful setting with great history!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mount

The Mount
2 Plunkett St, Lenox, MA 01240-0974
413-551-5111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mount is a National Historic Landmark and cultural center that celebrates the intellectual, artistic, and humanitarian legacy of Edith Wharton. The Mount engages a diverse audience by providing context to Wharton's life and achievements through educational and public programs and the conservation and preservation of her historic estate and gardens. Each year, The Mount is host to over 40,000 visitors. Daily tours of the property are offered May through October, with special events throughout the year. Annual summer programming includes a joint exhibit with SculptureNow, Wharton on Wednesdays, Music After Hours, and the celebrated Monday Lecture Series. Exhibitions explore themes from Wharton's life and work.
Glen Ellen
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
77 attraction reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A wonderful setting with great history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I read one of Edith Wharton's novels before we toured The Mount, so I had a feeling and a little understanding about the author. The grounds are quite lovely and the home is large but comfortable. Wharton designed the layout. I particularly liked the the sitting room, which is adjacent to the master bedroom. The dining room has a lot of eastern and southern light and has wonderful views. I can imagine a luncheon in this room would be delightful!

This was a very interesting tour.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    111
    18
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
31 attraction reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I recommend the Mount especially for the Gardens, which are beautiful in the summer. A great place to relax and take pictures. The house is also fascinating, although it retains few if any of Edith Wharton's original furnishings. Definitely worth visiting for a taste of splendor during the Berkshires' golden age.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Grounds and Historic Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Love the gardens (managed by my sister-in-law, by the way!) and the woodland trail. The inside is a fascinating glimpse into how the wealthy lived in the last century.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“You will fall in love with Edith”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I didn't know too much about Edith Wharton but after touring her estate, which she designed. I came to admire this new age woman and look forward to reading 2 of her works: The Age of Innocence and Edith Frome. Tour guides were very helpful. Make sure you watch the movie at the start of the tour. Although all the rooms are not completely restored yet, The Mount is still very worthy of touring. The gardens are absolutely fabulous with indigenous plantings.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
41 attraction reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

It was worth buying the pass to see several different sites, including the Mount. I didn't know who Edith Wharton was, so it was educational. I was disappointed, however, that they didn't tell me at the entrance that I could pay a little extra and go on a guided tour. I enjoyed my visit here, but liked going to the other museums in the area much more.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mount also viewed

Lenox, Berkshires
Stockbridge, Berkshires
 
Stockbridge, Berkshires
 

Been to The Mount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mount, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.