We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful setting with great history!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mount

The Mount
2 Plunkett St, Lenox, MA 01240-0974
413-637-1899
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 attractions in Lenox
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Author Edith Wharton's self-designed estate features historical exhibits, garden tours and educational lectures.
Glen Ellen
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A wonderful setting with great history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I read one of Edith Wharton's novels before we toured The Mount, so I had a feeling and a little understanding about the author. The grounds are quite lovely and the home is large but comfortable. Wharton designed the layout. I particularly liked the the sitting room, which is adjacent to the master bedroom. The dining room has a lot of eastern and southern light and has wonderful views. I can imagine a luncheon in this room would be delightful!

This was a very interesting tour.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    95
    15
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I recommend the Mount especially for the Gardens, which are beautiful in the summer. A great place to relax and take pictures. The house is also fascinating, although it retains few if any of Edith Wharton's original furnishings. Definitely worth visiting for a taste of splendor during the Berkshires' golden age.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Grounds and Historic Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Love the gardens (managed by my sister-in-law, by the way!) and the woodland trail. The inside is a fascinating glimpse into how the wealthy lived in the last century.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“You will fall in love with Edith”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I didn't know too much about Edith Wharton but after touring her estate, which she designed. I came to admire this new age woman and look forward to reading 2 of her works: The Age of Innocence and Edith Frome. Tour guides were very helpful. Make sure you watch the movie at the start of the tour. Although all the rooms are not completely restored yet, The Mount is still very worthy of touring. The gardens are absolutely fabulous with indigenous plantings.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

It was worth buying the pass to see several different sites, including the Mount. I didn't know who Edith Wharton was, so it was educational. I was disappointed, however, that they didn't tell me at the entrance that I could pay a little extra and go on a guided tour. I enjoyed my visit here, but liked going to the other museums in the area much more.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mount also viewed

 
Stockbridge, Berkshires
Stockbridge, Berkshires
 

Been to The Mount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mount, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.