We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Library” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First Lenox Library

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
First Lenox Library
Lenox, MA
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 19 attractions in Lenox
Type: Libraries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This 1815 library is on the National Register of Historic Places.
Bedford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Library”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Lenox library is our home away from home in the summers. We spend a lot of time there, borrowing books, attending lectures and buying books at their great book sale.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Love the smell of books!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Perfect retreat for a quiet place to study while in town, browse the rows of books and settle down for a good read in a classic New England library

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Don't miss the library!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is a beautiful old building, well restored, lovely ceilings and decor. Always some display about history of the area, and of course a large choice of books. Internet available, and used books to buy in case you run out of reading while you travel. I would not have thought to go to a local library on my trip, but wanted to see a display about Tanglewood. I was so happy I did not miss this beautiful sample of old Americana.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Nyack, NY
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

If you are just passing through Lenox you probably won't think of visiting the library, but if you have a few minutes and you are walking through town on the way to Haven or Loeb's or Nudel or anywhere really, you should take a few minutes to stop in and check it out.

There is some nice artwork on the walls, interesting magazines on a big table in the reading room and if you are looking for a place to get out of the heat of a summer afternoon and take a break, this is a great place to do that.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

If you love books and architecture this is the place to see. A gem. I wish I could have had a guided tour of the place.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Lenox Library also viewed

 

Been to First Lenox Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Lenox Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added First Lenox Library to your Saves list