We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure if it's a good value for the amount they charge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   445 Pittsfield Road, Lenox, MA 01240   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Jiminy Park Ski & Stay
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Lenox
Clinton, NY
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Not sure if it's a good value for the amount they charge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

My husband and I wanted a quick anniversary get-away and a trip to the Berkshires seemed to fit the bill. Based on the trip advisor ranking, we decided to give the Hampton Inn and Suites a try. It was decent but I wouldn't rank it 4 1/2 stars. The bedding was uncomfortable, the furnishings in a king whirlpool room were very sparse and the "free breakfast" was - well - awful. The waffles were inedible and the "kielbasa" type sliced sausage just looked too weird to even try. I hated that they used plastic disposable plates, cups and utensils. I am not the "greenest" person but it seemed so wasteful to me.

Yes, the staff is friendly and the location is good. The in-room whirlpool tub was a nice size. However, in the end the entire room experience just didn't seem to add up to the $170 a night + taxes that we paid.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    125
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
143
170
25
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Took our son to camp and wanted to spend a day hanging around the Berkshires -- this hotel fit the bill. Kids slept fine on the pull-out couch and loved jumping around in the tiny indoor pool. This is definitely not a spa. While it's very highly rated for hotels in Lenox it doesn't hold a candle to resorts -- it's a clean, recently-built, chain hotel off the highway, far from the sights, pretty reasonably priced. Staff are lovely and the bedding comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

This is a standard Hampton Inn. Seems pretty well run and appears to be the best option in the area for young children.

Location: The immediate area is horrible--right off a busy highway surrounded by low end strip malls and cheap motels. But it is very central and easy to get other places.

Rooms: Fine. Mattresses on the firm side. Air conditioning works great. Water pressure in the shower is low but that's true of almost every hotel. Linens were nice.

Housekeeping: Average. Toiletries not refilled.

Pool: Small but pleasant. Kids enjoyed it. NO hot tub.

Fitness Center: A treadmill, an elliptical machine and an inflatable ball. NO weights.

Service: Everyone we dealt with was very pleasant and helpful.

Breakfast: Well stocked and well presented, but very limited. Really only pastries, bread, cereal and waffles. There is no healthy option, and no protein. In my experience, most hotels like this usually offer something like a bowl of hard boiled eggs at least.

Wi-fi: No free wi fi in rooms, but a fast internet connection in the business center.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

Booked one Saturday night for a last minute trip to Jacob's Pillow and Tanglewood. King "suite" 234 is huge (but one giant room and dressing alcove): sofa; desk; bed; area with mini-fridge, microwave, etc; large alcove with dressing area and separate room for shower and toilet (that room is small by comparison to size of rest). Would be plenty of space for a family. Free breakfast had lots of healthy choices (yogurt, fresh fruit, special k) and very helpful staff. Staff generally was extremely pleasant. 10 minutes to Tanglewood.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

My wife and I spent the night here during a recent trip to the Berkshires. We really liked this place. We had a king suite, which was very roomy, and we had a nice view of some neighboring green space. The bed was very comfortable.

The hotel is set back quite a bit from the road, which makes it quiet. Also, as noted above, the hotel has some attractive green space around it.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, including the manager who visited every table during breakfast. The selection of food wasn't large, but what they had was of good quality. The only disappointing thing about breakfast was that the plates, cups and utensils were all disposable plastic. Hopefully, they are recycling some of that.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

The hotel is relatively new, and the room we had (2 Queens) was spotless, quiet and comfortable, if a touch small for the money we paid (about $160 plus tax for a weekend night). The bathroom was adequate, with a decent shower and reasonably spacious vanity. Internet connection was free. The receptionists were very friendly and helpful. The location, while central, is off a charmless highway full of strip malls (Marshalls and a supermarket are the neighbors). Chocolate chip cookies were available in the lobby in the afternoon and evening, and soft drinks and crackers and cheese in the late afternoon. Breakfast was not that great: frozen discs of scrambled eggs and ham rewarmed, with stale biscuits, and the usual assortment of pastries, bagels, toast, some cereal, yogurt and fruit.

While I like the hotel, I thought the price was a bit much for what we got. For $160, I expected a more upmarket breakfast, a somewhat larger room, and perhaps a more attractive location. Suites are available (although they are studio suites, without a separate bedroom) for about $40 or $50 more. We really would have preferred a B&B, but with a small child, this was not possible. Next time we will probably try the Crowne Plaza in Pittsfield; I haven't seen it, but I suspect it offers a similar experience at a better value.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Family came to visit, including with kiddies under 5. After doing research on TA and making a few calls, I realized that many bed and breakfasts, boutique style hotels and vacation rentals do not allow children under 12. So, a chain was our best alternative and so happy we found this via TA reviews!

It's at a very convenient location, very clean, and good value. Set back away from the main highway, it was a quiet place to stay. Parking is also free. Booked a standard and got upgraded to a suite. Room was spacious and clean. There's a sitting area, mini bar/fridge sink area, and a spacious bathroom with vanity area.

They also offer snacks/coffee midday and a decent complimentary breakfast. They also seem tolerant of "energetic" kids. I would recommend this place if you're coming with the family. For a chain, and the price paid, I was very satisfied.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires

Address: 445 Pittsfield Road, Lenox, MA 01240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires Hotel Lenox
Hampton Inn And Suites Berkshires
Hampton Inn Berkshires
Hampton Inn Lenox
Lenox Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.