We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my summer favorites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bombay Bar & Grill

Bombay Bar & Grill
435 Laurel St, Black Swan Inn, Lee, MA 01238-9510
+1 413-243-6731
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Lee
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Middletown, New Jersey, United States
1 review
“One of my summer favorites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is my favorite Indian restaurant. Chicken Tandoori at its best, excellent Nan, and Ginger lime martinis make a summer evening fantastic! Service can sometimes be slow but the food is worth the wait. The owner is gracious and patient.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    42
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Indian Overlooking the Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Delicious food, generous portions, lovely view if you sit by the lakeside. Highly recommended while in the Berkshires.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Upon entering the restaurant, the place appeared in utter chaos. There is just a wide open area to wait for a table with no direction as to who to ask for a table. There is a small bar where people seemed to be waiting for takeout. After a few minutes, the bartender yelled out "I'll be with you in a few minutes!" After a few more minutes, she yelled again, "Just a few more minutes!" Then the owner took over and told us the same thing, all while he was taking orders and taking checks. It was bizarre and odd as we felt we were hovering near diners trying to eat their meals. Finally, we did get seated near the window. There is a nice view of the lake but it directly overlooks a decrepit pool that is covered and has cracked pavement and fencing around it.

OK, anyway, the meal was pretty good. The naan bread was excellent and the eggplant appetizer outstanding. We ordered the shrimp dish (signature!) and the chicken and mushroom tandoori. Of the two, the shrimp was the better. Overall, food quality was good and once we were seated, service was also good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
393 helpful votes 393 helpful votes
“Indian in name only….”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This once was a more than respectable Indian restaurant—but gone now are the spices and flavors that are unique to Indian cooking. A dish described as "Tandoori grilled ginger chicken & mushroom cooked with basil & cashew cream sauce" included a few pieces of chicken that had never seen the inside of a tandoor. There was no basil either in sight or in taste. And the cream sauce in which it was swimming was completely bland.
Lamb and a vegetarian dishes were similarly without taste. Two breads were greasy and dull, dull, dull.
Worst of all were the desserts, kulfi and rice pudding.
In all of my travels in India and Nepal, of all of the Indians restaurants in which I have eaten in Canada and the USA, this was the worst. We should have listened to the host who, anxious to turn the table in under an hour, wanted to bring us the check before dessert—and then, having had the stuff, we had trouble flagging down a server for the bill. Go figure!
Servers were otherwise pleasant, but there was a distinct lack of organization and coordination. In addition, the entire place needs a serious overhaul. Windows to the lake have been clouded for years, the floors are ratty, and the one-stall ladies' room needs a good cleaning.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Food was unique and superb . Best Indian food I have had in a very long time. Unusual dishes and classic standbys great!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bombay Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bombay Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.