We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devonfield Inn

Save Saved
You added Devonfield Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Devonfield Inn
85 Stockbridge Rd, Lee, MA 01238   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Lee B&B and Inns
Cadiz, Kentucky
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Amazing Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My wife and I spent the night at the Devonfield Inn on our way to spend Christmas with the family and wanted an escape from the normal interstate budget motel. On our way, we found this amazing gem of an inn. When we checked in, Bruce was waiting for us and gave us a tour of the entire house since we were the only ones spending the evening and he upgraded us to room one since it had a cozy wood-burning fire place.

The room was welcoming with a wonderful canopy bed, great bathroom with fine amenities, and the wood burning fire place. Bruce recommended a nice restaurant (Perigree) in town for dinner and we got a coupon for a free $20 gift card if in the area again. Upon our return to the inn, there was a wide selection of after dinner adult drinks and Ronnie made some delicious chocolate chip cookies and left them in the kitchen area for us. The downstairs area of the house is welcoming with plenty of room to spread out and relax or play a game of Scrabble.

Breakfast in the morning was splendid. The coffee was fresh and warm and Ronnie's eggs with cheese and mushrooms was tasty. They also offered a selection of juices, fresh fruit, and breakfast breads for our enjoyment. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this military-friendly (they offer a discount) inn and confidently recommend it. If in the area, we will surely return.

Room Tip: The rooms with the wood burning fireplaces are nice during the winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    10
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
89
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester, ct
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

This review comes a little late, but with the anniversary of my engagment coming up, it prompted me to look up the oh-so-lovely Devonfield. In Nov. 2010, my "boyfriend" and I stayed a weekend in the tree house room for a fall getaway. The room was lovely. Great bathroom w/ jacuzzi tub, huge separate living room with complimentary cognac/glasses to enjoy and a bedroom with warm fireplace and comfy bed. The great room was warm and inviting as well, nice place to relax after exploring the Berkshires all day. The location was great..tucked away and quiet, but a quick drive to Lee's restaurants, outlet shopping and hiking. On our last night, we arrived back after dinner at Chez Nouz and walked into our room to find rose petals leading up to the bedroom from the door, a CD playing of love songs, candles, and a bottle of champagne. At the time I had no idea w.t.h. was going on, but I turned my head to find my now fiance down on one knee. I was in complete shock at the time and had no idea how he pulled it off, but came to find out later on that the inn was extremely helpful in planning the entire event and making it perfect...and that they did! There isn't a B&B that could have made the entire event more special. Wonderful place, innkeepers & breakfast! Can't wait to come back!

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at this charming bed and
breakfast nestled in the Berkshire Mountains on a scenic
meadow. The immaculate rooms were beautifully appointed and
luxuriously comfortable, while maintaining the grace and integrity of this
historic country estate. The sumptuous breakfasts were served on beautiful
china in the lovely dining room overlooking the meadow. The warmth from
the fireplaces strewn throughout the property was only matched by that of its
proprietors, Ronnie and Bruce Singer, and staff who assured their guests a
memorable stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We met some friends from NY here recently and were, for the most part, very pleasantly surprised. Though we did have a couple of comments for the owner that I will share we found the Inn to be more than we expected.

The property itself is large and, in nice weather, the grounds themselves would be great for wandering around. There is a good sized pool and even an archery target to shoot at. It is very convenient to the center of Lee and to some nice quiet roads to walk or bike along.

The common areas of the Inn are what made a real difference to us. They are large and inviting and include a large living room area, a TV room and a large enclosed porch area. There are always cookies, cakes and tea available. The breakfast they serve is well done and diverse...with fruits, cereals, cakes and a hot option available.

The room we had was cozy and did not have a fireplace. It did have a nice view of the backyard. But I think the front of the house rooms would be just as pretty and quiet as the road itself isn't too busy. The bathroom was pretty standard but the shower was large and the water pressure was great.

Our issues were that the bed moved and made noise at the slightest shift. We think that can be fixed easily but it did impact my wife's sleep (not mine) as she is a very light sleeper. We also think the toiletries could and should be upgraded. While these are easy fixes, they did sufficiently detract from our overall experience that we felt compelled to discuss them prior to our departure.

Because of these items we felt the value for the night was only average. This is not a cheap place to stay at. Still, it had aspects that were well above what we anticipated and we would give it another chance.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brucesinger, Owner at Devonfield Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Thank you for the positive review. I am pleased to advise you that we have removed the headboard from the bed frame and mounted it directly on the wall. The shampoo/conditioner that you refer to is already top of the line Greenwich Bay product. What you didn't like was the combo shampoo/conditioner. Several years ago we made the decision to upgrade our product and to combine the two for several reasons; hardly anyone used the seperate conditioner and we felt it was more enviornmentally friendly to cut back on waste and plastic products. Again, thank you for your suggestions and input. It is only with this type of feedback that we can continually improve our guest's experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

There is nothing more fun then having a charming late 1800's mansion all to yourself for a lovely evening in the Fall. That is exactly what happened to us in early October. We stayed at the Devonfield Inn and just by chance we had the whole Inn to ourselves. This was our very first stay at a Bed and Breakfast, and it exceeded our expectations! This B&B is huge, from the common areas to the bedrooms. Because we were the only ones there, we checked out all the bedrooms, any one of them would be perfect for any occasion. The ones with the fireplaces are especially romantic. The living room had a baby grand piano which my husband played while I check out the vast book selection. You can just feel the great history in a place like this.

The breakfast was delightful; cereal, granola, yogurt, fresh fruit, and banana bread...and that's just the first course! We then had egg and ham scramble with toast and orange marmalade. They also had a guest pantry stocked with cookies, muffins and fruit; along with glasses, dishes and a refrigerator if you need to store anything.

It was October, so we didn't use the pool, but it looked very inviting. This was a stop over on our drive from Ohio to Maine, the perfect halfway point, we will be returning!! Ronnie and Bruce were wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: Rooms with the Fireplaces are quite romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Your Berkshire B&B search ends here. Stop browsing travel websites put down your guidebooks and don't worry about doublechecking with friends/family about "nice places in the Berkshires to stay". Just book your stay at the Devonfield.

From the rooms to breakfast to the pool, mountain views and evening cordials, to the amazing Innkeepers, this is what you're looking. We've raved about it since we left, and you will too. Enjoy. We're longing to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We rode in on our Harleys and had a delightful stay. Fantastic welcome - forced to feel at home. The room was great - and there was so much of the Inn to relax in - and always something out to eat or drink. Breakfast was very good and not your average fare. Not ofter you get to stay and one of 'America's top 100 Inns'. Thanks!

Room Tip: Call ahead and let them help you pick the best room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Devonfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonfield Inn

Address: 85 Stockbridge Rd, Lee, MA 01238
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, yet a world apart, Devonfield Inn is set on 32 acre pastoral meadow shaded by graceful birch trees, with rolling tapestry of Berkshire Hills beyond. This 200 year old historic estate home has been graciously updated and is filled with fine antiques. It is sophisticated, yet comfortable and inviting. 10 beautifully appointed luxury rooms and suites * Central A/C * Jacuzzis * Fireplaces * Heated pool * Tennis * Exercise room * Bountiful breakfast * Gracious hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Devonfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonfield Hotel Lee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devonfield Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.