We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely inn, with gracious and friendly hosts, in a beautiful little town.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Applegate Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Applegate Inn to your Saves list
Applegate Inn
279 West Park Street, Lee, MA 01238   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romance Package
Ranked #4 of 8 Lee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“A lovely inn, with gracious and friendly hosts, in a beautiful little town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Applegate Inn exceeded our high expectations. We knew it would be beautiful, but it was also impeccably clean and well-maintained for such an historic property. And we expected the hosts would be pleasant, but seemingly without effort they made us feel at home from the moment we pulled in. By the time we left, just 18 hours after arriving, we felt as if were leaving old friends. I can't recommend Applegate highly enough -- it deserves all of the accolades it has received.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    19
    0
    7
    0
See reviews for
5
94
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This Inn was advertised as a Select Registry Bed and Breakfast. We had one night to spend in the Berkshires and checked reviews online. For $275/ night we expected a luxurious room and delicious breakfast. Instead the room was dated, the bed had a hard thin mattress, plain thin coverlet and thin pillows. The windows were covered in a cheap white sheer material that looked like it was purchased at a thrift store. The afternoon wine and cheese was a bottle of red wine and white wine with chunks of 'swiss type' cheese and crackers out of a box. The breakfast was advertised as a 'Full Gourmet Breakfast' and was equally disappointing. It consisted of a bowl of fresh fruit-which was fine and freshly squeezed orange juice. However, the rest of the offerings were; dried, greasy pieces of toast which were coated in some kind of cheese and cinnamon sugar plus boxes of dried cereal and plain bread. When we requested eggs, we received over cooked tasteless eggs. Save your money and choose a different place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applegate5, Owner at Applegate Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
We regret that your one night stay at Applegate Inn did not meet your expectations. Your accommodation is a very popular one. It is occupied by many returning guest as their favorite. It is furnished with a canopy platform bed hence a substantial mattress without box spring. It is a room that is filled with sunlight as it has four large windows on a corner location. It is decorated with antiques and antique reproductions. There are organdy drapes on the windows and canopy giving it a bright and airy feel. The house is centrally air conditioned and each guest is able to control the heat and air with independent thermostats in each guest accommodation. Wine and cheese is served each night. It is usually a party. There are always a choice of two cheeses - one soft and the other hard cheese. In addition there are nuts, olives or grapes. We serve a red wine, white wine and cranberry juice. In each guest room, there is brandy and chocolate. Our guest refrigerator is filled with soda, bottled water, fruit, homemade cookies, popcorn, coffee, hot chocolate and tea. There are candy dishes at various locations throughout the house. All of this is complimentary. We do serve a gourmet breakfast by candlelight in our dining room or on our screened in porch in season. Breakfast consists of a fruit course served at your table. This morning it was baked apple. Fresh squeezed orange juice, sweet bread, and coffee and tea are also served tableside. We have two buffets for our guest to choose from. There are always two hot dishes. Today it was three cheese egg pie with roasted potatoes and salmon cakes with dill sauce. Also on the buffet daily are cheeses, hard boiled eggs, vegetables and yeast bread. There is a smaller buffet consisting of cold cereal, homemade granola, and yogurt. We are sorry that you somehow missed this extravagant spread.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewlett, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Inn is gracious but very warm at the same time. The owners
know how to make you feel as though you were in your home.
They have a large repeat business and that is due to their
hospitality. The inn is very centrally located in the Berkshires.
At the end of the day, it is very relaxing to "hang out" at the pool.
The serving of wine and cheese every day is a nice touch.
The delicious cookies and fruit are always available.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Serendipity.
First time at a B & B and was pleasantly surprised. In our short stay we experienced the gracious hospitality of Gloria & Len the owners of Applegate Inn, Lee Mass. We counld not find a place in either Stockbridge or Lenox so we looked in neighboring towns and found The Applegate Inn. The room and bath were lovely and very clean. Music, magazines with complimentary brandy and chocolates were a pleasant surprise, as were the homemade cookies left out for snacking. The wine and cheese in late afternoon welcomed us as we were checking in. Unfortunately the weather was not the best so we could not take advantage of the lovely heated pool. Maybe next time! Breakfast was also lovely as were the grounds and friendly staff. So as you can see everything was lovely. I refer to trip advisor all the time and believe me this is no exaggeration!

The Norman Rockwell museum is a must see for true Americana (our main reason for going). While visiting The Mount (home of author Edith Wharton) we chanced upon a dignitary also visiting, Laura Bush (what a nice lady). Of course Tanglewood is also a great attraction in the Birkshires. We almost did not book this getaway but I was so glad we did.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

I always check TripAdvisor before booking a hotel or B&B and this time around was no exception. As usual the positive reviews for this property were accurate. If you are looking for a charming, romantic getaway in the Berkshires you want to consider the Applegate Inn. Upon arrival we were greeted by the manager who gave us a short tour of the home. This is one of the cleanest properties you will find. The home is immaculate throughout and well appointed with antique furniture and a variety of items through and through. Our room was on the second floor facing the rear of the house which is a wooded area which provided a very quiet atmosphere. We also had a working fireplace with Duraflame logs that were provided as well which made for a charming and romantic setting. The linens are fresh and the mattress was very comfortable. There is coffee and tea available all day with homemade cookies and fresh fruit. At 5:00pm a wine and cheese tasting is available as well. The home is situated just outside of town about 1 mile and offset from the road enough to provide a very quiet setting. The village of Stockbridge is only 4.5miles and shopping at the Lee Outlet Center is about 2mi. I would highly recommend the Applegate Inn.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We chanced upon this place when another place we wanted to stay didn't come to fruition. The room was wonderful with a gas fireplace. Len and Gloria were wonderful people and we enjoyed our evenings in the Living room with the other guests. Just a great place!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falmouth, ma
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

We have stayed in many inns and B& Bs in Stockbrdge, Lenox and beyond. Applegate is charming, quiet, great location. Terrific breakfast, very clean, beautifully appointed. Friendly in a professional, not overly personal way. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Applegate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegate Inn

Address: 279 West Park Street, Lee, MA 01238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Applegate Inn located in the heart of the Berkshires region of Massachusetts. Applegate has a unique location - a country estate near Tanglewood, Jacobs Pillow, theatre companies, Norman Rockwell Museum, other cultural and natural wonders, with only a half mile walk to downtown Lee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Applegate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applegate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.