We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cork 'N Hearth

Cork 'N Hearth
Route 20, Laurel Lake, P.O. Box 355, Lee, MA 01238
413 243-0535
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 41 Restaurants in Lee
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We got to Lee rather late on a Friday night and not knowing the area took a chance on the Cork N Hearth. We were seated in the room overlooking the lake at sunset...service was good, my wife loved the duck and my Filet Mignon was excellent!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    11
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cork 'N Hearth a good choice for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've had quite a number of good meals at Cork 'N Hearth over the past few years. The food is tasty, the prices are reasonable, the main dining room is comfortable and the service usually pretty good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray Brook, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Rehearsal Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Last week we hosted a rehearsal dinner for our son and his bride at Cork 'n Hearth. We also invited out of town family and friends, so our party was about 50. The dining room was beautiful...flowers on the tables, overlooking the lake. The food was wonderful and the service flawless. Chris and Jasmine could not have been more gracious and helpful. It was a perfect way to begin the wedding weekend. Chuck and Helen Cairns

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“It's all relative...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

In another area, this might be a four or five star rating, but this area is a tourist haven with a lot of restaurants to choose is from. There is a certain ambiance here that's also a bit disconcerting for the mixed messages... it's like a place that's evolved without a real identity. It could be a pub. It could be an upscale dining place... It could be...

This is an expensive area in general so it's probably unfair to claim "over priced," but I suspect it would be possible to find better value. The rolls were hard. The menu seems to feature chicken and veal prepared different ways... only two beef entrees. We were not offered a choice of potato or rice, all dishes (one fish, one chicken, one veal) came with a baked potato. Given there were very few entrees under $20 this seemed a bit presumptuous.

The service was prompt and pleasant but hardly personable. We made a reservation for our party of three and when we asked for a window table were told, "We can't promise that." This was on a Sunday night and the dining room was only about 25% filled leaving one feeling this is a restaurant trying to move from a place the locals love to an upscale place with a certain snob appeal--at least during the summer when demand is high and supply is low.

In summary, good food, good service in a restaurant that has a bit of an identity crisis.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Second Visit as Good as the First”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We recently made our second visit to the Cork N'Hearth, because the first time was very good!

The time we enjoyed ourselves just as much. The dining room was crowded (from a bus tour group), but we had seats near the (large) back windows which overlook a lake.

We both ordered steak, which came with real (not frozen) oven roasted potatoes, and oven roasted veggies. The meal also included rolls, butter, and a pot of coffee. For desert we ordered small ice cream sundaes, which are VERY small, but they are just enough to satisfy.
All very tasty, and reasonably priced.

The decor is a little bit dated, but the place is clean and homey.

I'm pretty sure we'll go back for a third visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cork 'N Hearth also viewed

 

Been to Cork 'N Hearth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cork 'N Hearth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.