We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous - especially if you are Gluten Free” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Nous

Chez Nous
150 Main St, Lee, MA 01238-1616
413-243-6397
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Lee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $35
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Chez Nous is a chef- and pastry chef-owned operation where the focus is on real, seasonal ingredients prepared in both modern and classic ways. We offer half portions of many items, to encourage lots of tasting and variety, and we take care to prepare as many items gluten-free and dairy free as possible, leaving lots of choices for everyone. Our 1841 house has charm and comfort, and our newly-renovated bar is the perfect place to have a local craft beer, wine from our award-winning list, or a creative cocktail, along with bar snacks, our famous pate, or anything from our dinner menu.
Grapevine, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous - especially if you are Gluten Free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The food here would be amazing regardless of whether you were gluten free, but any place that offers fresh GF rolls with a meal get extra points. I had the lamb stew, which was excellent. Hope to travel in the area again so I can come back!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    60
    14
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Best meal on our New England holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

When you eat out a lot, you often find restaurants where the staff/owners are great but the food is below expectations. Sometimes, it is the other way round (i.e. good food, but poor service). Chez Nous hits both criteria superbly. On our recent two week 'road trip we had to eat out each day. On the day we ate at Chez Nous,a Sunday Evening, we had visited some friends for lunch, so on our way back to our Inn in Lenox, we only wanted a small meal and we chanced upon this small bistro. They were busy, but they managed to sort us a table outside, and made us very welcome. Many of the entrees are available as 'full' or 'half' meals, where half means literally that. Half the size of a normal portion for half the price. We both had half portions and our meals were just what we wanted and the best we had eaten on our two week trip. Quality rather than quantity. I had a Filet Mignon which was absolutely superb. The only downside is that we live in the UK, and will probably never eat at Chez Nous again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Authentic casual French bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Casual but elegant ambience, excellent service, and good food prepared with skill and love make Chez Nous a superior Berkshires dining experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Chez Nous, Lee, MA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Service and food are consistantly excellent at this charming restaurant. I enjoy the entree half portions which make it possible to enjoy an appetizer and/or a dessert. This restaurant never disappoints.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Top restaurant slips”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Having recently dined at Chez Nous on our annual trip to Tanglewood we were sorely disappointed with the menu selection and food preparation at what had beed a top restaurant. The menu is limited to six entrees (2 pork, 2 fish, 1 lamb, and1 veg.) We chose the trout and it was tasteless, not even lemon was served with it. When we mentioned this to the manager, we were offered more vegetables. Missing from the menu was duck or at least an interesting chicken dish. If one does not wish pork or lamb, the choices were limited. Given that the prices are comparable to other high end restaurants in the area, one can do much better than Chez Nous.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookies98, Owner at Chez Nous, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
We are so sorry that you were disappointed with your recent experience at our restaurant. We are confused, however, since we haven't had a pork dish on the menu all summer. We also certainly have plenty of lemons, or extra lemon vinaigrette (the sauce for the dish), to offer with fish. We have changed to a smaller menu format, it's true, changing our menu daily and working more closely with our local suppliers, and we still offer half and full portions of all of our entrees. We feel that this change gives us the chance to offer the best variety of seasonal dishes that we can every day. All of these changes have been extremely well-received by our guests overall, though certainly some will be looking for their favorite dishes to come around as the menu shifts. Online reviews are a great way to reflect on a restaurant's work, but this review has some strange inaccuracies; there's no pork here, at all, for months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Nous also viewed

 

Been to Chez Nous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Nous, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.