We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chambery Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chambery Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chambery Inn to your Saves list
Chambery Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   199 Main St, Lee, MA 01238   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Butternut Ski & Stay
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lee
Springfield, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chambery Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

On a recent trip to the Berkshires, we spent two nights in room 302, la Normandie, at the Chambery Inn, a renovated schoolhouse in Lee. Our room was spacious, comfortable, quiet and clean. The bathroom included a heated towel rack, good quality towels, and a jetted tub. Each morning a lovely, light breakfast was delivered to our room in a basket. The staff was gracious and helpful. We enjoyed walking around Lee and an especially nice dinner one evening at Chez Nous, just across the street. The Chambery and Lee proved a good central location for our visit to the Berkshires. While there, we hiked and visited charming Stockbridge and Lenox; the Norman Rockwell Museum; and The Mount, Edith Wharton's spectacular home and gardens.

Room Tip: Room 302, la Normandie, was at the top of the stairs. It was spacious, quiet, comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    47
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
148
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

As far as we can tell, all the rooms but one are quite nice. Unfortunately, our initial choice was the one that was not so much.

We booked the Chambery through a 3rd party website, and chose the Std Queen room. This is le Atelier (room 101), an ADA accessible room, and is quite basic, not up to the standards of the other 8 rooms in the hotel. All the other rooms have a fireplace and sitting area, and are beautifiully decorated in an early 20th century schoolhouse motif. In room 101 you face a pair of brown doors, and have to eat breakfast on the bed.

We complained after 1 night, and they gave us a complimentary upgrade to one of the other vacant "suites". The difference was night and day. A beautiful large room with a high ceiling, large sitting area, and a cute blackboard with chalk to write or draw "school-ish" things - which may remain for the next guests to admire. My girlfriend works for a school system and really got a kick out of this. A gas fireplace just adds to the romantic nature of the room (I can't attest that the other rooms have the blackboard or high ceiling, but all the rooms but 101 have the fireplace and sitting area).

We were a bit surprised to find that this was not a normal B&B, in that breakfast is ordered in advance and served on a tray in the room, as there is no public sitting area in the hotel. It was an adequate continental breakfast, including choice of quiche, hardboiled eggs, cereal, fruit, and bagel or muffin, and plenty of coffee. It turned out better than we had expected, especially when we could eat it in the sitting area instead of on the bed.

The location in Lee is convenient to the highway, and not that far from Lenox, Stockbridge, or the other Berkshire towns. Downtown Lee doesn't have much of interest, but it is a quaint old town, and quiet. Dinner at Chez Nous, almost across the street, was wonderful.

Bottom line is that the Chambery is a neat hotel, well decorated, comfortable, and well priced, but don't expect a gourmet breakfast, or a communal breakfast, and pay the few extra $$ to stay in any room but the Std queen.

Room Tip: Choose any room but 101, the std queen. The others are not much more $$, and the difference is stri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We made a reservation online for the supposedly "best room" in the hotel. It certainly was the most expensive. When we arrived we were taken to a basement room that smelled terrible. We asked to be moved but there was nothing else available. This is not a room that should even be used. The person turned on the dehumidifier and said that would take care of the problem. The rug in the room looked very old and possibly moldy. We refused to stay there and went on to get a much nicer place on the lake filled with sunshine. I would not recommend this hotel. The one good thing is that the person at the desk tried to get us another room at another hotel and it was not her fault that she was unsuccessful. I give her full marks for trying.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was my second time staying at the Chambery Inn. The first time was about 7 years ago, and it deserved a 4 out of 5 stars. I stayed in the same room, large schoolhouse suite, and nothing had been updated in the past 7 years- not paint, silk flowers, etc. A fresh coat of paint would go a long way. Our greeting was lackluster. The girl at the desk didn't introduce herself, explain the paperwork I was signing, or make small talk. Showed us the room, explained a few things and disappeared. She wasn't rude, just needs some more training. I was there on a gorgeous day, and it would have been lovely to sit outside on the lawn, not the shady, small patio. A stone patio with a few tables in the front yard, would be a great addition to the property. I won't stay again, especially with all the lovely B&Bs in the area to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

All the rooms here are old classrooms and a nice touch that the blackboards are still in place with comments from previous guests. They are of course large and nicely furnished.
We enjoyed the breakfasts delivered to the room and thought they were of good quality .A nice touch was to include the local daily paper.
Nothing was too much trouble for the very friendly and helpful receptionists and advice on local restaurants very useful. Try the Chez Nous just across the road for an excellent meal.
You will probably find that you get far better value for money here than in nearby Lenox.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

THis was our 2nd stay here in the past year. The staff is very welcoming and easy going. The rooms we stayed in were HUGE and a great value. The rooms were clean and every day we had new towels...soaps....ect. We stayed in both front and back rooms and had little issue with any road noise. Its set way back from RT20. I thought maybe the Sullivan Station restuarant would be noisy but no issue at all though that can depend on the customers there. Loved that both our rooms had a fridge. Also there were at least two sitting chairs to watch TV....other inn's we stayed at had one. The TVs' had both VHS and DVD players. The breakfast was delivered in a wicker style basket (at a time you pick) and was pretty good. We've had issues with guests (and some inn keepers) who think I'm on vacation to hear a 45 minute discussion on the political scene of the Berkshires, so for us to be able in comfort in the room...then head out for the day was nice! We used the small sitting area out front for a evening chat. If there was one small thing to add would be another sitting area in the grassy area...if they own that land. We'll be back come Nov!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noord-Scharwoude, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

A very nice bed and breakfast. We even got an upgrade to a suite with fireplace. Restaurants are at walking distance.
In the evening you fill out a form for your breakfast wishes. That breakfast is delivered the next morning spot on! A lovely basket, with warm items, fruit, juices and coffee or tea. Super!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chambery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambery Inn

Address: 199 Main St, Lee, MA 01238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lee
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chambery Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chambery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambery Hotel Lee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chambery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.