We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the lake view.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 Laurel Street, Lee, MA 01238   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Holbrook, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love the lake view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Now that we have found the Black Swan we will go there every time now. The Lake view is great. You don't even have to get out of bed to see it. Also the breakfast buffet is in a room overlooking the Lake.
Everything in the room seemed brand new. It must have been renovated very recently.
Free Wi-Fi. The bed was more comfortable than my home bed.
The front desk is helpful and always present for any questions.

We use Lee as the home base as we enjoy the restaurants and museums of the Berkshires.
We hit MOCA, ate at Sullivan Station not far from the hotel and hit the Lee Outlet Mall this time.

Room Tip: I would always get a Lake view obviously. There are rooms that face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    49
    18
    10
    3
See reviews for
35
72
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The rooms were clean. It looks like they've be updated recently. The guy at the front desk was helpful. He changed our room from the 1st floor to the 2nd floor, which we appreciated. The lake was frozen, but still pretty. Except during check in and at the restaurant we didn't see any other guest, that was pleasant. The continental breakfast could use an upgrade.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Araunah,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Black Swan Inn. It pleases me to see that you enjoyed your accommodations, as well as the customer service offered by our staff. We are aware that our continental breakfast requires some attention, which is why we plan a renovation within the next two months. The entire room will be receiving a new look, with new furniture, counters, flooring, wallpaper, etc. Once the renovation of the room is complete, we will introduce waffles, and possibly another form of a hot item. Thank you for your valuable input, we hope to see you again soon.

Robert McNary
Assistant General Manager
Black Swan Inn
Lee, MA
413-243-2700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Rooms were very nice and comfortable. Updated decor, clean. The washcloth shaped swans were adorable, was quiet and cozy. It was great to have a kuerig and coffee in the room. Free Wifi was a nice plus. Not far from grocery stores or gas. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear imreadyletsgo52,

Thank you for taking the time to write the Black Swan Inn a review on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our renovated guest rooms. We are in the planning stages of additional renovations to the structure and common areas of the property. Our breakfast room is getting a remodel within the next couple of months, and we will also be doing some exterior work to the building as well. Our location is a convenient one, as we are central to Lenox, Stockbridge, and Great Barrington. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon.

Robert McNary
Assistant General Manager
Black Swan Inn
Lee, MA
413-243-2700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

My husband and I stayed here recently for 2 nights while we went ice fishing. I decided that if I was going to brave the freezing temperature while fishing that I deserved a nice hotel stay. Having been an employee of an Ascend Collection hotel in CT I figured I should remain loyal, so I picked the Black Swan Inn. We were the only ones here since it was mid-week, so it was a quiet stay, but the staff was fantastic. They served us an abundance of breakfast items even though it was just the 2 of us, constantly made sure the coffee was fresh and refilled in the pots by the front desk and kept the room perfectly clean. The girl at the front desk was SO helpful, mapping out some of the best restaurants in town (the one in the hotel was closed while we were there) and she helped calm me down about my impending fishing doom.

The room where breakfast was served was very nice with a beautiful view of the lake and an awesome wood stove. the stove wasn't actually fired while we were in there but it was really cool to look at. If the day comes where I am dragged out ice fishing again I will certainly request that we come back to this hotel because we really enjoyed it!

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2015
Dear Stinator,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Black Swan Inn. Ice fishing can be a tough endeavor, especially on those subzero days, I hope you caught a lot of fish. As you mention, the winter months are a bit slow during the week, but this does not factor into our guests experiences. We do not minimize what we offer based on how many guests we have on any given night. That would not be fair to the current guests or guests in house. Thank you for writing this review on Trip Advisor, as you know, these help us very much in giving our potential guests a look into our property.

Robert McNary
Assistant General Manager
Black Swan Inn
Lee, MA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

My husband and I came up to the Berkshires to cross-country ski and stayed overnight at the inn. We picked the Black Swan based on the reviews and were not disappointed. It was very clean, comfortable and warm, the lakeside room relaxing and peaceful, the staff courteous and helpful. An added bonus was the Bombay Restaurant. We love Indian food and it was delicious. We didn't have to go out on a frigid winter night to eat dinner. Definitely this inn will be our go-to place in the Berkshires.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2015
Dear Emily G,


Thank you so very much for writing such a wonderful review for our property. I am pleased to see that we did not disappoint as your choice for Berkshire Lodging. After the winter we had, it was an outdoor adventurer’s dream location, with direct access to many outdoor activities. Whether it’s downhill or cross country skiing, Ski Butternut or Hilltop Orchards has your choice of winter activities. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon

Robert McNary
Assistant General Manager
Black Swan Inn
Lee,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Kara desk clerk was an outstanding employee.If I am ever in the area again I will most likely stay at this motel. the motel was very rustic with a very impressive lake behind the motel. I have nothing else to say

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2015
Dear James R,

Thank you for your recent review of the Black Swan Inn. I am happy to hear that Kara was so attentive and accommodating for your recent stay. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

St.Valentine's Weekend had the fury of Mother Nature bearing down on us once again.We had reservations at the Bombay Restaurant located inside the Black Swan Inn as well as a warm comfortable and clean room waiting to be inhabited. With the Champagne,Roses and Chocolate stowed away we opted for taking my car.A Saab with 4 studded tires 5 on the floor turbo, music tuned in softly and only114 miles to the Lee/lenox Mass. area.Without being intrepid of the soon to be snow covered roads we jetted on out of Dodge only to have them cooled to just under a safe radar speed. The storm was quickly becoming intense.The eloquent logo for the Black Swan became whited out in a swirl of snow and strong winds but I blindly took the turn into the parking area and found a Hollywood parking place.We have stayed here many times before. It is central to many fine restaurants,antique shops {etc.} and 7-8 ski areas within 45-50 mins drive.There are several other reasons why we stay here. Everyone is professional,personable and the place is always clean. All these are major factors in making us feel comfortable and wanting to return.When we finished with dinner all are goodies were waiting for us in a warm cozy room. Popping the cork is such a happy sound.We opened the curtains and watched Mother Nature's worst entertain us.So that's our Saab Story we never got stuck. Stick to The Black Swan and Bombay combo they make for quite a good time.James M.

Room Tip: During the warmer months get a room lakeside 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Assistant General Manager at Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear James M,

I would first like to start out by saying that this is the best review that I have ever had the pleasure of responding to. Thank you for brightening the day for our staff here at the Black Swan Inn with your thoughtful, and detailed account of your Valentine’s Day Weekend. We are happy that your accommodations were clean and comfortable, and that our staff was personable and professional. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 435 Laurel Street, Lee, MA 01238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the shores of beautiful Laurel Lake in the Berkshires, relaxation and luxury await you at the Black Swan Inn. Beautifully furnished guest rooms include all the conveniences you need such as refrigerators and Keurig coffee makers with Starbuck's coffee. Lakeside rooms have private balconies and some feature jetted tubs. Awake in the morning to enjoy our delicious continental breakfast while taking in a view of the lake. This lakeside hotel is convenient to all of the arts, culture, and outdoor activities the Berkshires have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Lee Hotel Lee
Lee Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.