We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience, worth the wait!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Forge Restaurant

Old Forge Restaurant
125 N Main St, Lanesboro, MA 01237
413-442-6797
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 restaurants in Lanesboro
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Experience, worth the wait!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A local couple recommended Old Forge to us. We had a party of six, four adults and two boys, 14 and 11. The boys were not thrilled when we were told we had a good 45 minute wait. It was a Saturday night, December 29th. There isn't much room to wait in, but after a while we got into the bar and were a little more comfortable. The atmosphere was really neat. It was noisy! People were having fun, nobody was complaining that they had to wait, and even if they were complaining, they weren't leaving. We were taken to the lower level dining room, which was quite nice, with a very large roaring fireplace. The menu had a lot to offer with a printed special selection. Appetizers were delicious, one of their specialties is their wings. Yum!! Actually, we were up there again on January 26, and couldn't wait (ha) to go again. The wait was a little longer but it didn't matter, because we knew that we would be rewarded with a really nice meal!! This time we had three adults and four boys, 14, two 11's and 9. It is a really nice family restaurant. This time for an appetizer the adults all chose the French Onion soup. This is reason enough on its own to go back. Unbelievably good. The choices on the menu are very eclectic. They do a lot of things extremely well. I chose a special which I can't remember the name of but it was awesome. It had prosciutto, sundried tomatoes , onions, garlic and maybe a few baby spinach leaves over Gemelli pasta. It was impossible to finish. The next day I started to heat it up, but it tasted really good even cold. I'm going to try to make this at home!! The service was fine, and even though they had a lot of people waiting they did not make us feel rushed. People who overlook the wait are sure to enjoy the rest of the experience at Old Forge and like us will gladly return again, and hopefully again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    47
    59
    26
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst customer service ever!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Called to make a reservation and were told they do not take reservations. We then asked how long the wait was and how busy they were and they told us "the hostess will tell you when you get here." We got to the restaurant and it took about 10 minutes for someone to notice us standing there to take our name. We were then told it was a 50 min wait. In the meantime while we were waiting for someone to even take our name we were standing in the entry way by a couple of swing doors and the owner or someone that worked there kept coming over to make sure the doors were shut - he was very rude about it and never even once asked for our name or if we had been helped. Then while we were waiting the couple in front of us went to ask if they had moved up on the list and how much longer it would be, they were told, "we have no idea you will get a table when you do." Everything about this place had been rude up to this point so we finally left. We should have known right after the first phone call we made there.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Adams, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere... warm feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Comfortable "neighborhood" feel. The like and dislike is a "catch-22"..the good is that it IS good... the bad is that it is so good that it is sometimes difficult to get in

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Oldest restaurant in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Was told that this was one of the oldest restaurants in Hancock. Well known for their large selection of beer. Calamari was pretty good. People were standing around the bar - busy night, friendly staff.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Where the locals go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were in the Bershires in the off season, so most of the restaurants we tried we often had the places to ourselves, this was the one lone exception. My friend & I joked that we finally found where everyone in the Bershires were, at it was right here. We selected this place based on reviews about the beer selection (several microbrews on tap & other bottled beer was available.) Since we had to wait, we went up to the bar and chatted with one of the locals about beer recommendations and what he would recommend from the restaurant. We settled on their wings, buternut squash quesadas. I would have liked to tried the wing variation that they were known for, but my friend suggested going with original style so we can compare with other places known for their wings. We liked both dishes that we had, and had plenty of leftovers. This is no place fancy, but if you like a good beer selection and friendly locals, at decent prices come here, just expect a wait, if you come during "dinner rush hour.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Forge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Old Forge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Forge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.