We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverview Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Riverview Restaurant
20 Estes St, Ipswich, MA 01938-2106
978-356-0500
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Ipswich
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Gloucester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Great (four-star) pizza, cheap beer and wine, that's all you get, and the ambiance is also low rent but we love this kinda place. Nice waitress, friendly people at the next table over, you know, not fine dining, but nice thin crust and the pizza sauce is the best.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing no-frills pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Dont go expecting more than amazing pizza. They dont do salads, they dont do desert, they just do great pizza and drinks. Also, they dont do lunch, they only open at 4:30 pm.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“expectation so high”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I wanted so much to write a glorious review of our Riverview pizza, but it just didn't match up to all the "hoopla" that our friends and colleagues spoke to us about. We went for dinner last night for the first of what we thought would be many visits. We were aware of all the 'old fashioned' experiences, i.e. no plates, no knives, kinda scruffy decor. But we were more than willing to overlook all of that for a fantastic pizza. I won't labor on about the numerous particulars, but rather just stay with the facts. It's a greasy, tasteless pizza----even with all the trimmings on top. The crust could have the potential to be terrific because it's thin crust----but it was just crusty dough without any flavor. And as a good cook, let me say that if the mozzarella cheese is of high quality, it will n-e-v-e-r be greasy. Real mozzarella is like creamy, buttery clouds that melt in your mouth.....not stringy, greasy, flavorless.
Please....if you want an outstanding pizza, go to Boston and wait outside, in line, at Pizzeria Regina for the authentic, mouthwatering pizza that deserves your calories and worth the ride. Every vegetable on your pie is fresh, the sauce is divine, the crust is old world Italian with a chew like no other, and the cheeses are phenomenal.
Don't waste an evening and your money (even though Riverview is a very inexpensive pie.....which could be why the ingredients are so poor). We brought the leftovers home, but this morning they went into the trash. I am so sorry to have to write this negative review.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“they have been selling the same size pizza for over 30 years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

great place to go and get a pizza and a beer. this place hasn't changed for over 30 years or more. I like the place

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Favorite Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

You have to try it! Tucked in the old mill section of town, known to the locals a "Pol Ally" in honor of the immigrant workers who used to staffed the Ipswich mills.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverview Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Riverview Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverview Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.