We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific blend of hospitality and privacy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KAEDE Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ipswich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
KAEDE Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added KAEDE Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
16 N. Main St., Ipswich, MA 01938 (Formerly Town Hill Bed and Breakfast)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Ipswich B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Terrific blend of hospitality and privacy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

The Kaede Bed and Breakfast is a cool place. We loved it. The food was real and real-good. Our rooms were spotless and the beds comfortable. But what makes this B&B so great is the hosts: Makiko and Jason are charming, intelligent, helpful and not in the least suffocating. They made our week in the Cape.
We will return.
This is the first on-line recommendation we've ever written, so that should give you some idea about how we feel about this place. It's great. Go.

  • Liked — hosts, food, beds
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
31
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

Kaede served as a base for a few days of work in the region, and a few days of relaxation spent mostly in and around Ipswich. The property is typical of town houses for the region, and is well-located for walking (or cycling) around Ipswitch. The owners, Jason and Makiko, have achieved an admirable balance of Western and Japanese influences in the decoration and the overall atmosphere of the house: it very much feels like the living room of a well-traveled family, not a space for visitors to pass through. Authentic furniture and works of art, and beautiful detailing make this a space very different from most B&Bs one may encounter.
Other guests extolled the conventional breakfast options; I did not try these, opting for Makiko's Japanese breakfast: this was simply superb, and kept me going well into the afternoon, without the typical heaviness of a full Western breakfast.
I made much use of the quiet back balcony, and the beautiful side room; there's also two generous siting/dining areas, and a TV room, all covered by a wireless network. Having access to these spaces made a big difference (having recently spent a few days at another town where my room was fine, but there was no other comfortable space to sit in.)
And, lastly, Jason and Makiko were exceptional hosts, and took a genuine interest in making their guests comfortable.
Overall, a superb reminder of how a well-run, characterful B&B can provide a much better experience than much more expensive accommodation -- and easily showing how the style of "designer hotels" is really skin-deep.

  • Liked — Atmosphere, hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

We were looking for something affordable in Ipswich while I did some ancestry research. The location was WONDERFUL. Walking distance to great restaurants, the AMAZING cemetery, and the historical walking tour. If you want something different and more affordable, this is it! Our hosts even prepared an EARLY breakfast for us since we had to leave very early in the morning. It was a healthy and delightful treat.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

I happened to find this great B&B in internet while I was searching something “different” around Boston.

The building is a historic one, and inside the building was very clean. We stayed in an expensive Boston hotel (regular price can be up to $500 per night!) in the same trip, but this bed and breakfast was cleaner than that. This B&B also offered free Wi-Fi, which we paid $50 for at the Boston hotel.

The owners were very friendly and pleasant. They also prepared a playpen for our 10-month old son for free. He got minor injury while we were there, and they helped us a lot.

To be honest, we realized that staying at a B & B with baby wasn’t a great idea since we worried very much the noise he made. Luckily enough, our room was kind of isolated from other rooms, so his noise didn’t cause problems.

Japanese breakfast was very tasty, and we enjoyed it very much. Having breakfast with other guests was also fun.

We really enjoyed Ipswich, walking in a small charming town, having fried clams (after 1 hour wait!), and visiting a park. But the highlight of the trip was staying at Kaede. We will be back there, BUT after our son becomes older!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestown rhode island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2006

We have just returned from a weekend birding get-away to the historic Ipswich area where we spent the night at the Town Hill B&B. The new owners Jason and Makiko made us feel like we were staying with old friends. The inn was very clean, the beds comfortable and the location couldnt have been better. The shops and restaurants are all within walking distance. We highly recommend this inn if you are looking for a low key relaxed place to lay your head. Dinner at the Mediteranean restaurant was also outstanding.PS The name of this inn is being changed to Keade B&B in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to KAEDE Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KAEDE Bed and Breakfast

Address: 16 N. Main St., Ipswich, MA 01938 (Formerly Town Hill Bed and Breakfast)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Ipswich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Kaede Hotel Ipswich
Kaede b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KAEDE Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.