We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Simmons Homestead Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Simmons Homestead Inn to your Saves list
Simmons Homestead Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   288 Scudder Ave., Box 578, Hyannis Port, MA 02647   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hyannis Port B&B and Inns
Middletown, New York
1 review
“Can't wait to go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed in the "Jungle Room" room 8, which is very bright and airy with all the windows. The bed was alittle too firm for us so sleeping wasnt the best (we perfer a softer bed). The water pressure did get weak one of the morings there but its a nearly 200 year old house so that didnt bother us much. Only downside to the room was there were only two hooks to hang jackets up on, but there was a nice size closet. (We placed our suitcase infront of the door so it was kinda outta the way)The innkeeper Bill was extremely nice and helpful. He made sure we had coffee made when we had to leave early one moring. Breakfast was very tasty and had fresh fruit each morning. There are menus of nearby restuarants so you can decided where to go before you even leave the Inn. If you dont like alots of knick knacks and cats then this isn't the place for you. We cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    37
    6
    8
    19
See reviews for
25
70
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

The reservation process started our personalized relationship with the Innkeeper (Bill). The whole reason we stay at B/Bs is due to the fact we are Flight Attendants and stay in white walled, white sheeted boxes every week (chain hotels). This place is quirky, personable and unique. One of the attractions for us was the pet friendly environment. Bill and April are very knowledgeable of The Cape and set us up for the best use of our time. Our room was clean, breakfast was good, and cats (outside) made us feel at home. It was our first visit to The Cape and Bill gave us very good recommendations.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed in the 'servents quarters', room 10. Nice big room, dated bathroom, nice private patio right outside. Our dog loved going in and out from the patio, treats (and poop bags) were waiting for him upon check in. Patio screen needs repair at the handle, I got 5 bites on my face during the week while asleep. Breakfast was hot,nice and filling. Back yard spacious and relaxing. Way too many nick nacks on the walls and tables. Bill, you need to leave table tops and counter tops free of clutter so your guests can put their own stuff somewhere. Hooks around the room would also be welcomed, to hang jackets, hats, clothing. My husband and I are tall, the parrot hanging from ceiling near the toilet was always troublesome. Tattered rug should be replaced. Staff is very friendly. Location is fabulous. Enjoyed the kittys. We felt right at home and enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We discovered Bill's B&B back in 2003, when planning our first trip to the Cape with three large dogs. To give you an indication of how much we enjoyed ourselves, we booked a week, and ended up staying two. We found Bill to be incredibly helpful, in an unobtrusive way, and very accommodating with regard to our dogs, who were not perfectly behaved (e.g. woofed more than we would have liked).

We stayed in the Fish Room, one of two rooms located in the separate wing. The room was perfect for us, easily fitting three crates and all our luggage, and the separate entrance made walking dogs so much easier. We loved the quirky decor and relaxed atmosphere, and that fact that we didn't have to constantly worry about putting something out of place. It reminded us of the laid-back, pet-friendly B&Bs we'd visited in horse areas, like Middleburg, VA.

A few years later, we returned without dogs, stayed in the same room, and had a wonderful time. And tonight, we returned from our third stay, again without dogs. This time we stayed in the Bird Room, which we liked even better than the Fish Room, and then spent two nights in the Rabbit Room, after deciding to extend our trip. This room may be the nicest off all. One warning - access to the second-floor rooms in the main building is via two narrow stairways typical of an old, historic home, so make sure you (and your dog) can manage this. If you have a pet, go for a first-floor room, or a room in the Servant Quarters.

Kudos must also be given to the staff - April was working during our stay, and gave us spot-on restaurant recommendations and even helped up with our heavy luggage. We can't speak to all the rooms, of course, but the two we stayed in this time were very clean. And regarding the cats, Bill is a preferred adopter for one of the local rescues and has a soft spot in his heart for orange cats, all of which are obviously well-cared for. In fact, we look forward to playing with them during our visits.

At this point, we think of Bill and his staff not just as hosts, but friends. And we can't imagine staying anywhere else on the Cape.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gotham, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Nice wine. Place was a bit different. But . . .
Lousy smell of cats or some animal urine--literally held our breath at times passing from one area to another. Also, a pet peeve: the sausages sucked--for the price of the stay, they should not provide cheap meat, previously frozen and thawed (multiple times?); left a bad taste in our mouths.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

My husband and I and our little dog just spent a wonderful three nights at the inn.I,m always looking for a place for our dog to join us on vacations .Loved the laid back attitude toward pets ,have been places where you can't leave the dog in the room alone.That doesn't make any sense to me. Why be pet friendly then? We all loved the huge yard and porch.We would go out for dinner ,then come back to the inn to sit on the porch or a hammock with a glass of wine.Very relaxing and enjoyable. Janice, Eric and Fergus

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We recently stayed at the Simmons Homestead Inn and will definitely be back for a return visit. It was conviently located just a few miles from Main Street in Hyannis and the beach. Bill was a wonderful host, providing us with tips and tricks for dining with a dog in the area. He also is a mean cook in the kitchen providing us with a wonderful breakfast before setting out for the day. We stuck around for the wine hour both evenings and chatted with his friendly staff, April and Janine. We enjoyed a nice afternoon nap in the hammocks in the back yard. We chose one of the rooms with a private entrance for easy access to the backyard for bathroom breaks for our dog. Overall we had a wonderful stay and will definitely return with the dog when we get a chance. I'd advise anyone staying there to check out Bill's car and scotch collections if you get the chance, both are very impressive.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a dog, request one of the rooms with a private entrance so you can easily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Simmons Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simmons Homestead Inn

Address: 288 Scudder Ave., Box 578, Hyannis Port, MA 02647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis Port
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hyannis Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Simmons Homestead Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Simmons Homestead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simmons Homestead Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.