We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This accommodation is the equivalent of poor quality static caravan site.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Village

Harbor Village
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyannis Port
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbor Village
160 Marston Avenue, Hyannis Port, MA 02647   |  
Hotel amenities
Ilkley, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This accommodation is the equivalent of poor quality static caravan site.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

This accommodation was booked on the basis it was and I quote "a 4 star beach house". One of the wildest overstatements I have ever come across.

In reality the complex is an undermanaged, generally unkempt, and very tired site desparately in need to investment. The 3 bedroomed accommodation is extremely small small and no way near big enough to accommodate a family of 5. To the point where the managers did not even leave us five chairs to sit around the table. The accommodation also smelt damp.

The outside areas were weed ridden, the patio furniture dirty and the outside shower a moss ridden disgrace. The patio itself was broken up with sharp edge broken tiles.

To make matters worse, the resident manager advised us that we could not stay out at night because the bugs were biting!

We arrived and left on the same day and still await a refund from the owners/operators. We have photgraphs to prove our disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirleyharborvillage, Manager at Harbor Village, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
I'm sorry that we were not given the opportunity to meet the needs of this guest as they chose to lodge elsewhere without giving us the opportunity to address any concerns that they had.
The only concern raised to us was that they thought the home would be larger than it was.

We don't represent ourselves as a 5 star lodging. If the third party tour agency did we apologize for that. We are a quaint Cape Cod cottage community of 21 homes set on 17 private acres. The house in question had just been newly painted and decorated. As in all of our houses the carpeting and couch had just been shampood and the reclining chairs in the living room were brand new , Each house is cleaned by professional cleaners after each use.
There are mosquitoes in the summer in Massachusetts . If a person wants to sit out at night we always advice people to use a repellent.

This particular booking was made through a tour agency. We never had payment from them so did not have it to return. We negotiated with them on a settlement and assumed that it had been settled.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

My aunt has been coming here for years, she likes that they allow dogs. We went up for a big family reunion this year. You can choose from several cottages, all of which are clean and well-kept. There's a beautiful walk to a local beach, so we were there much of the time. You have to drive to most everything else on the Cape, and there's no swimming pool at Harbor Village--we missed that. But the folks who maintain it are really helpful, and our stay was nice and easy...cookouts on the big grills every night, we had a washer/dryer in our place for the constant kid laundry, etc. We saved a lot of money by shopping at the local market and eating most every meal in our place. All in all, it's a good deal.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

We stayed in Harbor Village (www.harborvillagecapecod.com) in October 2007, in Hannah Baker House, a lovely one-bedroomed cottage. It is a proper seaside cottage with a woodfire, deck with sea view, big bedroom, nice bathroom, cosy sitting room and good kitchen. It was beautifully warm and well-equipped. We found this a nice base for exploring the Cape, but also a great place to just relax and unwind. It was very quiet. The owners, Bob and Shirley Palardy, were friendly and helpful. We liked it so much, we are returning in 2009.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbor Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Village

Address: 160 Marston Avenue, Hyannis Port, MA 02647
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis Port
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Hyannis Port
Also Known As:
Harbor Village Hotel Hyannis Port

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Harbor Village to your Saves list