We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute village by the water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Village

Harbor Village
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyannis Port
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbor Village
Save Saved
You added Harbor Village to your Saves list
160 Marston Avenue, Hyannis Port, MA 02647   |  
Hotel amenities
Southington, Connecticut, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cute village by the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed in the Watkins cottage with our three young kids. It was nicely decorated and the deck had a lovely view of the water. Bob and Shirley the property managers are extremely helpful and a pleasure to talk to. The walk through the woods to the beach was an adventure for the kids. I wouldn't say this was convenient or practical for hauling all the things needed for a long stay on the beach though. We ended up driving to some bay side beaches instead. Overall the location was convenient to Main St. Hyannis and easy enough to get to Rt 6 to go exploring the cape. Some bonuses were the ability to get fresh towels whenever you needed them, paper towels, toilet paper, beach chairs, garbage bags etc. Having people there to provide these benefits is huge! Our grill was attacked overnight by some random animal...it ate the gas line. Within 5 mins we had another grill delivered to our deck. You wouldn't get this kind of service renting from an individual owner who is not on site to assist.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here for a week in July 2011. As with any accommodation booked unseen we weren't sure what to expect, but it was fantastic in every respect. We stayed at "Wilmslow" which has sea views and is well equipped and furnished. Everything was as described and Bob and Shirley, the site managers, were welcoming, friendly and nothing was too much trouble - they thought of everything we could possibly need. The outdoor shower attached to the cottage was lovely after a day at the beach. This is just a short walk away - about 5 minutes. Beach chairs, Parasols, body boards, buckets and spades and even towels are available to all guests to borrow for the beach. If you want to spend a lovely relaxing week in Hyannis by the beach enjoying the same views as the Kennedys (you can see their compound from the beach), this is for you. We would love to return one day - we will. Can't recommend it enough !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We've been staying at Harbor Village for 4 years now and love it. I found this place by pure luck trying to find a dog friendly place to stay on the Cape. We've always stayed at hotels but really love staying here. Shirley and Bob are the managers and are very friendly and helpful. Shirley takes pride in making the homes cozy. The area is very peaceful and the ferries to Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket and fishing boats are less than a 10 minute car ride and the beach is a 5 minute walk. We've stayed at 2 of the cottages and are always pleased. If you are looking for a relaxed atmosphere, near the beach with cozy cottages this is your place. We love going in September when the area is less crowded, the beach allows dogs and the water is still warm. Love the Hyannis area because it is mid cape . This place is a hidden gem and can't wait to go back in September.

Stayed September 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

This accommodation was booked on the basis it was and I quote "a 4 star beach house". One of the wildest overstatements I have ever come across.

In reality the complex is an undermanaged, generally unkempt, and very tired site desparately in need to investment. The 3 bedroomed accommodation is extremely small small and no way near big enough to accommodate a family of 5. To the point where the managers did not even leave us five chairs to sit around the table. The accommodation also smelt damp.

The outside areas were weed ridden, the patio furniture dirty and the outside shower a moss ridden disgrace. The patio itself was broken up with sharp edge broken tiles.

To make matters worse, the resident manager advised us that we could not stay out at night because the bugs were biting!

We arrived and left on the same day and still await a refund from the owners/operators. We have photgraphs to prove our disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirleyharborvillage, Manager at Harbor Village, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
I'm sorry that we were not given the opportunity to meet the needs of this guest as they chose to lodge elsewhere without giving us the opportunity to address any concerns that they had.
The only concern raised to us was that they thought the home would be larger than it was.

We don't represent ourselves as a 5 star lodging. If the third party tour agency did we apologize for that. We are a quaint Cape Cod cottage community of 21 homes set on 17 private acres. The house in question had just been newly painted and decorated. As in all of our houses the carpeting and couch had just been shampood and the reclining chairs in the living room were brand new , Each house is cleaned by professional cleaners after each use.
There are mosquitoes in the summer in Massachusetts . If a person wants to sit out at night we always advice people to use a repellent.

This particular booking was made through a tour agency. We never had payment from them so did not have it to return. We negotiated with them on a settlement and assumed that it had been settled.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

My aunt has been coming here for years, she likes that they allow dogs. We went up for a big family reunion this year. You can choose from several cottages, all of which are clean and well-kept. There's a beautiful walk to a local beach, so we were there much of the time. You have to drive to most everything else on the Cape, and there's no swimming pool at Harbor Village--we missed that. But the folks who maintain it are really helpful, and our stay was nice and easy...cookouts on the big grills every night, we had a washer/dryer in our place for the constant kid laundry, etc. We saved a lot of money by shopping at the local market and eating most every meal in our place. All in all, it's a good deal.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

We stayed in Harbor Village (www.harborvillagecapecod.com) in October 2007, in Hannah Baker House, a lovely one-bedroomed cottage. It is a proper seaside cottage with a woodfire, deck with sea view, big bedroom, nice bathroom, cosy sitting room and good kitchen. It was beautifully warm and well-equipped. We found this a nice base for exploring the Cape, but also a great place to just relax and unwind. It was very quiet. The owners, Bob and Shirley Palardy, were friendly and helpful. We liked it so much, we are returning in 2009.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbor Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Village

Address: 160 Marston Avenue, Hyannis Port, MA 02647
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis Port
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Hyannis Port
Also Known As:
Harbor Village Hotel Hyannis Port

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.