We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Breeze Inn

Sea Breeze Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sea Breeze Inn to your Saves list
Sea Breeze Inn
270 Ocean Ave, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hyannis B&B and Inns
Maine
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“stay away!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here off season for an anniversary. The photos on the site were very old, the rooms are run down, the beds are of campsite quality, mold and dirt everywhere. We changed rooms and had to pay a fee to "upgrade". The first room we had was so bad we couldn't sleep and spent the night in the car. This was probably a nice place 20 years ago but the current owner is not keeping up with maintenance.

Room Tip: If you must stay here pay for the best room available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    7
    11
    14
See reviews for
7
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have just returned from a pleasant four day stay in the Sea Breeze and have only just read the very negative reviews, so we feel we must respond. Granted it is a little old fashioned, but this is far outweighed by the friendly welcome and excellent location. Our room was quite small, but clean and comfortable. The ensuite shower/bathroom was also clean, though the shower was very small and it took a while for the water to warm up. The choice at breakfast was slightly limited, but on a par with many others we have stayed in, but what raised it above them was proper cutlery, glassware and crockery (not plastic as in many places in USA), home made muffins and the solicitousness of Raisa (the owner) who was on hand to provide ample coffee and toast and was a delight to talk to.
We arrived in horrible conditions on a very wet day, tired after a difficult journey, Raisa could not have been more welcoming or friendly. Fortunately the weather improved greatly and we had a very happy three days exploring the area. We accept that had the weather been consistently bad you would have felt very cramped in a small room, but there is a lounge/kitchen area which guests are free to use and there are extensive garden areas for when the weather is fine.
To repeat, on a three week stay in New England, staying in seven different locations, this was far from being the worst in terms of accommodation and value for money. It was very different from your standard motel, but all the more charming for that. Please don't be put off by the very negative reviews displayed here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

This B&B was so disgusting we could not stay. As soon as we arrived we were asked to sign for the room. Then we were shown the rest of the house. We noted every door and window was open (no screens) and still the smell of mold/mildew was extremely strong as we went upstairs to our room. Once inside our room, I was affaid to touch anything. The furnishings looked to have been picked out of the trash, not quaint antiques.The linens were very worn and dingy. The bathroom was gross. We turned on the air conditioning (only 65 degrees outside) but it could not remove the strong smell of mold. After 1/2 hour and fearing for my health, we decided to leave. Upon telling the owner about our decision and asking for a refund for 2 out of the 3 nights, she replyed "YOU NO GET YOUR MONEY!!" I am currently in a dispute with the Inn and have contacted the BBB, Chamber of Commerace, Town Hall, Consumers Affair and Health Department in Hyannis. I wish I had checked this site before our May 2011 reservation. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We had the misfortune to book into this place - 2 double rooms. It is disgusting - we did not, could not stay. Dirty mouldy bathroom, unpleasant furnishings. Just terrible. We have travelled widely and have never had the misfortune to encounter such a place. The owner was rude and aggressive too. Please, please do not stay here - it should be closed down. In fact I am getting in touch with Hyannis Chamber of Commerce/Tourist Agency to see if I can do just that.

Room Tip: No where in this place would be acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We had a wonderful visit to the area and did some island hoping. The area and access to the Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket ferries is great. The Inn was disappointing and a poor value. We stayed on the second floor, above the check-in area. The place is not very well kept. It seems like the owner is enjoying the income, but not doing anything to keep the place clean or nice. Everything is outdated.

Thankfully I was the first in the bathroom in the morning and disposed of the large spider in the sink so my wife wasn't freaked. The toilet leaked, the bathroom light/fan was missing a cover and covered in filth. Mold was everywhere. The shower was the smallest I've ever experienced. Once in the shower, you can't move. The showerhead was covered in mold.

The television was the smallest I've ever seen. Electric outlets throughout did not work.

Do not go on the roof-top deck, it is very unsafe. It is propped up on wood blocks and moves all over the place. Someone is going to get hurt or killed on this thing!

Breakfast was a disaster. Stale cereal, dirty silverware and glasses, no fruit. What was offered should not be called food, let alone breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

This is my third time staying at the Sea Breeze Inn and honestly, my best. The room we stayed in this time was a bit more expensive than the ones we reserved before, but worth every penny. The place in general is super clean and well-maintained. Like in previous experiences at this Inn, the room we stayed in was clean, bright and airy. The hostess does a great job explaining things to see and do all over Cape Cod so you'll always see something that you haven't seen before. I like this place too because it's close to the beach so you don't have to drive and pay for parking. It's also quiet and my husband and I find it romantic and cozy. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Do not stay here!! It is disgusting!! I read the reviews on TripAdvisor, and didn't believe what people were saying, and thought it looked nice by the pictures...WRONG!!! Apparently the pictures that are online are from the previous owner! If I had been prepared to go camping, this place would have been great! But definitely was not expecting this for a B&B. At first we tried to make the best of it, but then just could not justify paying as much as we did to stay here!! We didn't even want to sit down on the toilet, and would have had to wear our flip flops in the shower!!! So gross! BE ADVISED: THEY DO NOT GIVE MONEY BACK IF YOU LEAVE! Only if they "re-rent" the room. Yeah right! Like they would even tell you anyway! DO NOT STAY HERE! We left immediately!!! Dirty. Dirty. Dirty!!!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Inn

Address: 270 Ocean Ave, Hyannis, MA 02601
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sea Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Hotel Hyannis
Sea Breeze Inn Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Breeze Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.