We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of International Inn and Suites on Cape Cod

Save Saved
You added International Inn and Suites on Cape Cod to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
International Inn and Suites on Cape Cod
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   662 Main Street, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 22 hotels in Hyannis
Novi, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I didn't even stay the night! The first room lost cold water in the middle of filling a tub and I was burned really badly. Front desk didn't care very much but did give me a new room. This room's ceiling had caved into the hot tub! When I told them about this they said all they could do was give me another room and 1 free meal. Mind you this was a special anniversery trip. I obviously demanded a refund at the front desk and was assured that I'd get it. They have yet to even initiate the refund on my card and it is now a week and a half later. I wouldn't be surprised if I actually have to make a dispute about non credited merchandise.

DO NOT GO HERE! It's ranked poorly for a reason. This was the worst hotel I've ever tried to stay in.

Room Tip: Don't do it. Worst rooms ever. Dirty and horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
internationalinnands, Webmaster at International Inn and Suites on Cape Cod, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the International Inn & Suites during your recent visit to our area.

We thank you for your review and regret the incidence and our apologies howsoever.

At the same time we apologize on behalf of the concerned hotel staff for any unruly behavior and assure that it will never happen again.

We have given additional training to the hotel staff and reception managers to ensure that their requests are promptly taken care of and they always feel welcome and wanted.

We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will appreciate it.

During your next visit to our place please consider our hotel once again and experience a new hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    77
    56
    49
    131
See reviews for
30
201
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The location is great, but the inn is a bit old and run down. The decor is nice, but regardless, some of the room still have some fixing up to be done. Because of how reasonable the prices are and how great the location is, I continue to frequent this inn.

Again, the rooms need some revamping, but they're overall very nice. I always pick a room with a big jacuzzi, which are large and are made for two people. Overall, it is average, but for what you get, it's a good deal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Checked in on Friday, June 14 and the front desk they seem to not even care, gave me the wrong room it had someone's bags in there. We went into our room, it smelt moldy & the AC didnt work. The place was dirty, found a huge bug in the room. The hallways sent like POT a bunch of kids there partying and on the way out found a hole dime bag of weed on the floor along with a hospital bracelet that someone had just gotten discharged from hospital. Worst place to stay in would NEVER return there ever again.........

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
internationalinnands, Webmaster at International Inn and Suites on Cape Cod, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for staying at the International Inn and Suites.

We went through your review and sorry for the inconvenience that too when you were to attend your mother’s funeral.

Our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you.

We have taken this as a serious issue and enrolled each and every member of the hotel staff.

We have a new team of professional hotel staff and you would never have such an experience. The amenities and cleanliness is also being improved.

Please do reconsider your decision.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here about 25+ years ago and had a wonderful, romantic stay.Things have drastically changed since then. They've always promoted a "cuddle & bubble" romantic getaway. I thought it might be fun once again. They have jaccuzzi tubs in most rooms. Upon entering the front desk, we were a bit disappointed. It was outdated and in need of a face lift. We were greeted by a clerk (young woman) who advised us that we were listed as a no show. It appears that somehow the reservation we entered the previous day listed us as coming the previous day. The clerk kept speaking to someone in another room about our situation. As it turned out, the owner (I assume), an Asian woman was instructing the clerk on how to "fix" our reservation in the system. She then stepped out to the front entryway, never even looked our way, and proceeded to walk out the door to meet her young daughter getting off of the school bus out front. Very odd. I quickly became uncomfortable with the place. We were told we would need to leave a credit card with a $100 deposit in case we ruined anything in the rooms. To me, this was a clue of the type of clientele they get to stay here. I asked to view a room before we decided on staying. What appeared to be a groundskeeper escorted us through a tunnel to a section of the hotel and proceeded to show us 2-3 rooms. He seemed to be friendly. One room was blasting with heat and the baseboard was dismantled as if they were in the middle of making repairs. Another room had scratched up tables and night stands (very noticeable-the wood was gouged out with a knife or sharp object). Very unattractive! He told us we wouldn't be responsible for any of that as the management knows the condition of the tables etc. Each room was dark, dingy and the beds had thin mattresses and an odd odor. The jacuzzi tubs were the same ones from years ago. I thought, no way am I staying here. We arrived back at the front desk to a new clerk (a young man). We told him we changed our minds about staying and explained the place had really gone downhill and we weren't comfortable with the policy of the deposit, nor the condition of the rooms. He said, he might be able to waive the deposit. We told him we just were not interested in staying for many reasons. He assured us we would not be charged. We found another place nearby and had a great evening. Much to our surprise, our credit card was charged by the International Inn. We wrote a letter and disputed the charge with our credit card company. I'm sad to report, we lost. It appears the policy is clearly stated. I'm furious with the decision of the credit card company and with the hotel. Do yourself a favor and find another place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
internationalinnands, Webmaster at International Inn and Suites on Cape Cod, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for staying at the International inn and Suites.

We have observed your detailed review and sorry for the inconvenience.

We have investigated the entire episode and rather than giving any explanations, have taken steps to avoid any such lapse from our hotel staff.

We sat with them and enrolled them about the importance of professional hospitality.

In light of this and the current hotel staff guest relations, you should consider giving a chance to prove ourselves.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is our second time staying at the hotel and we will stay again. Check in was quick, staff was not very friendly. Hotel is alittle run down, but our room was clean. The breakfast buffet was good. The location was great - you could walk to most everything you wanted to get to - shopping and great places to have dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
internationalinnands, Webmaster at International Inn and Suites on Cape Cod, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thanks for choosing to stay at the International Inn and for the guest review.

At the outset we are glad that you liked the check in, hotel cleanliness and the location.

We are thinking of remodeling the rooms and your comments on the thin walls will be certainly considered. The amenities of all rooms have been checked and fixed.

We have sat with the front desk team and enrolled them to treat our guests with a dedicated hospitality.

We assure you a nice stay next time and consider visiting us again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewerton NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I chose this hotel for its location and because it had a pool for our kids to swim in. Pool was locked the entire time we were there because they said they didn't have a lifeguard. The rooms were shabby and for what we paid I was very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
internationalinnands, Webmaster at International Inn and Suites on Cape Cod, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with the International Inn during your recent visit to our area and the review.

We are addressing your observations related to the amenities and cleanliness.

Each room will be thoroughly checked before checking in a new guest.

We await your earliest next trip to our area and promise a nice stay with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Worse part was at check in , waited for 2 hours before room was allocated.
Room was run down, dirts are everywhere on the floor skirting a, air cond was old and torn apart, dirty and noisy. Swimming pool was right in the middle of the parking lot and. Dirty.
The reception was friendly but rather inefficient, however, was apologetic and did make up for the delay with a room upgrade, which was lucky for us, as we saw some guests demanding for refund because of dirty rooms.

Room Tip: If you have to come to Cape Cod, Hyannis is probably one of the better places to stay, never stay at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
internationalinnands, Webmaster at International Inn and Suites on Cape Cod, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the International Inn and Suites, Cape Cod.

Thanks for staying with us and we appreciate the time taken to write the review.

We have checked each of the points mentioned in the review.

Nevertheless we have taken each of the responsible department to task to ensure that
there is no second chance to have any negative comment.

We hope you would appreciate our efforts and do visit us to confirm this.

You will find your next stay a really nice experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to International Inn and Suites on Cape Cod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Inn and Suites on Cape Cod

Address: 662 Main Street, Hyannis, MA 02601
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 hotels in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — International Inn and Suites on Cape Cod 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The International Inn & Suites is a downtown Hyannis hotel offering romantic hotel accommodations for weekend getaways and vacations in Hyannis, Massachusetts. Our boutique hotel features a variety of unique amenities, romantic guest rooms and Jacuzzi suites, and friendly, professional staff. When you choose the International Inn & Suites, you'll enjoy a variety of unexpected extras, from our superior hotel amenities to our romantic vacation packages and hotel specials. Enjoy our convenient downtown location close to the best family attractions, historic landmarks, outdoor activities, museums, cultural events, shopping, dining, and live entertainment for a fabulous getaway in Cape Cod, Massachusetts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your International Inn and Suites on Cape Cod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Inn And Suites On Cape Cod Hotel Hyannis
International Inn Hyannis Ma
International Inn And Suites On Cape Cod Hyannis, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Inn and Suites on Cape Cod, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.