We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New England Tour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyannis Harbor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hyannis Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   213 Ocean St, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 22 hotels in Hyannis
Tadley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“New England Tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights here as part of a self-drive New England Tour. We were quite tired when we arrived and were given a room with a single queen bed. It was one of the smallest rooms we have ever stayed in and although surprised by the size, we didn't complain immediately. The next morning I found that this particular room wasn't even listed under rooms on their internet site, so we then did complain. We were told we should have complained immediately (it was a different person in reception to the one we had encounterd the previous day when we checked in, and was most likely more senior). We packed up and whilst we were out they moved our cases to another room. This was more like what we had expected and experienced throughout our New England Tour. A good size room with two queen beds. If we had been given this room the previous day I would have given the hotel and the room a 4 or 5 star rating. I'm not sure why we were given the earlier room (and we were not told why). The restaurant was closed but there is a good selection of restaurants nearby and the hotel is well situated for Hyannis itself and the JFK Memorial, etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    119
    116
    100
    96
See reviews for
160
199
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Rhode Island
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Booked our stay through hotels.com and when we arrived there was no room available that matched what we had paid for (balcony, king bed). We were then told that for n additional $200 we could have a room with a balcony! Of course we chose not to stay. the front desk was rude and treated us as if we were being cheap and unreasonable. We PAID to have a specific room type and they did NOT provide us with such. We have been fighting with Hotels.com and the hotel and getting no where. They should be ashamed of themselves....ruined our anniversary weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mifflintown, PA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

booked by one of our group of birders out of Pennsylvania. it was their last weekend open and stayed several nights. disappointed that their restaurant was already closed, but we were happy with the stay here. Very surprised that they didn't have a ramp or elevator for the upstairs, it was a bit of a chore to carry all of our stuff up 2 sets of steps. room smelled musty most of the time, they did spray something the 1 day we mentioned it, but it still lingered. we did have to keep asking for washclothes, but everything else was fine. ample parking and very easy to get on the ferry to marthas vineyard. bed was big and comfy. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: would probably ask for room downstairs since there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Well located across the street from the island ferries, the rooms are spacious and the two queen beds were comfortable. The layout and furnishings are nice and there's a good blackout curtain. But the room seemed to lack ventilation and the air conditioner had to be kept running constantly, including during the night. The bathroom was comfortable enough but lacked sufficient counter space for our grooming supplies. There was a nice chair for reading but no lamp to read by. They give guests a random, impossible to remember username and password for their wi-fi that you have to keep inputting it every time you stop using your device for a few minutes. But the signal is good and strong. All the same, the room was better than the average room for around a hundred dollars though that rate was for October which is the beginning of the off season for island travel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We approached this hotel with some trepidation, with it being somewhat out on a limb in a relatively small town. However, it was great. Staff ensured we had a room with a king bed (the booking was for a queen twin), and we had a lovely view over the harbour. Only downside is, being on the first (US) floor, our room had the wooden walkway outside, and when guests were arriving/leaving, it could be quite noisy.
Wouldn't put us off staying there again though if we were back in Cape Cod etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

If your interested touring the Cape and a visit to Nantucket or Martha's Vinyard this hotel is a perfect location. Front desk was very helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Nearby, restaurant a plus. Easy access to head out & tour the various cape towns, don't miss Chatham, a beautiful scenic drive. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you have a disability be sure to mention in your reservation, no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Hyannis Harbor Hotel was great. It was our first visit to Cape Cod. I found the hotel on an internet search. We drove in from NJ so we had a car, but didn't need it. The Hotel is directly acros the street from the Ferries that go to Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket, and within walking distance of restaurants, bars, seafood, breakfast. Also a short drive to Provincetown and the beaches. It was great to wake up, walk across the street, catch the ferry, spend the day away, come back tired and walk back to our room.
Highly recommended and yes I would return.

Room Tip: Rooms 217 - 220 face the Harbor and you can see the Ferries
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyannis Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyannis Harbor Hotel

Address: 213 Ocean St, Hyannis, MA 02601
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 hotels in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyannis Harbor Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyannis Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyannis Harbor Hotel Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyannis Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.