We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Misleading a real shame” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyannis Harbor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hyannis Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   213 Ocean St, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 22 hotels in Hyannis
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Misleading a real shame”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We arrived at the Hotel expecting a top class hotel but left with a bitter taste in our mouths.

The hotel, although advertised as high end is anything but. The rooms we were given were very dirty, old looking and musty smelling. The staff are really unhelpful and have absolutely no regard for the customer. Your queries are met with shrugs and blank stares. I raised this with a senior member of staff at the hotel who was just as useful as the team they lead.

But the ace in the hole is the parking charge. Not only do you pay top dollar for the room but you have to pay for the privilege of parking at the hotel too. $15 per night. You are only made aware of this charge when you check out, which is fun as they take your credit card when you arrive to ensure they can charge you regardless. When I asked about the charge, Why it was not advertised etc, I was told Its not my fault you are being charged. truly phenomenal.

If i was to do the trip again, I'd reconsider the hotel and maybe stay somewhere a little more honest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    115
    115
    100
    94
See reviews for
156
198
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We checked into the Hyannis Harbor Hotel with an efficient but not terribly helpful front desk clerk. The facility is very large and appears to be many buildings that were combined to make-up the complex. We were lost on several occasions, some of the halls are dead ends and you have no choice but to backtrack to get out. Our room was very clean and the beds very comfortable. The bathrooms were dated and not as nice as the sleeping area of the room. The location is quite nice walking distance to harbor, restaurants, ice cream and local artisans. We felt was a little high for the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the parking area, get good directions to your room. We ran into other guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We read the reviews and were very nervous. However the hotel is fine. It's not luxurious but is very comfortable holiday hotel. You only pay for parking on Fridays and Saturday at €12 per day which is fine. There is a great beach ten mins walk away and parking a Cape beaches is $20 per day so you've saved already! The ferries to Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket are across the road from the hotel. The Black Cat restaurant is very close and really good. Baxters Fish & Chips nearby is great for a drink overlooking the Harbour. Spankys is over rated. The hotel is five mins walk from Hyannis so it's location is great. We had breakfast on our balcony which we bought in Shaws as we just wanted fruit and bread rather than big American breakfasts. We had a room at the back. It's not got a good view but better than being on the front which is quite noisy. You don't need a view as you'll on be in the room to sleep - take a coffee in the nice outdoor sitting area instead to look at the view. The room was very big and perfectly clean if a bit basic by Tv was huge butler daughter was the only person to turn it on. We stayed for 8 nights and it was a great base for exploring Cape Cod and the Islands. The only compliant was the bar was closed one night for a staff party which isn't good. But there are lots of great food an bar options all within walking distance. The staff at the hotel were all very pleasant. Free wifi was good and worked well. Really comfortable beds and good shower.

Room Tip: I think he back rooms are best. Quietness and a good night's sleep is better than having a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed two nights June 22-23, Great location, rooms overlooking court yard/outdoor pool is the idea spot. We enjoyed our view and room. Will highly recommend this hotel and will return again. Go and have summer fun. It's a coast line hotel so you know what to expect. Everything is nearby and great places to eat.

Room Tip: rooms in front on second floor 200-220 overlooking courtyard/pool/fire pit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was looking forward to spending three nights here as a base for my trip around Cape Cod, the location was great, right across from the ferry dock, which was very handy for my trip to Nantucket. But, was majorly disappointed in the hotels condition, reception area nice and clean and reception staff reasonably helpful, although understaffed as had to wait for about 20 minutes to check in.
The rooms were the main disappointment, we had a room on two levels, the upper room was very large and looked like a conference room, in fact, I didn't even want to sleep up there alone it was that unwelcoming and cold looking. The hotel is very dated, and in good need of refurbishment...
On the morning of our second day, the toilet became blocked and wouldn't flush, so we asked reception if they could sort as we were out all day, upon our return to the hotel, they informed us that they couldn't fix the problem, so on our last night we had to change rooms, which meant moving our luggage with no offer of help to do so... This was our only option, my impression was they couldn't be bothered to solve the blocked toilet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for a week in June.
Apart from the lack of understanding of the staff when booking in, regarding our reservation, we found the hotel to be clean and tidy, following their refurbishments.
The staff were very helpful,our beds were very comfortable queen sized, large screen tv , tea & coffee facilities. Pleasant view from our room on 2nd floor, overlooking pool & restaurant .
The rooms were well maintained daily. Ideal location just opposite the ferries to Martha's Vineyard & Nantucket.
We would definately stay here again in the future.
Alan & Pauline Newport Pagnell Bucks

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

What a terrible, disgusting place. We checked in and literally had to drive around the parking lot 3 times to find our room just to find out the rude woman at the front desk gave us wrong directions and we were right by our room initially. When we finally got to our room our "harbor view" room it over looked the pool which gave our room a delightful (not) chlorine aroma. After that we found a dirty bandaid and waterbottle which I complained about 3x and everyone at the front desk blew is off. When I demanded to speak to the manager they said he was in a meeting. We paid over $300 to spend the weekend here and it was just madness. And paying for parking is ridiculous. Overall, close to hyannis main st however there are many other hotels on sea st we could have been happier at. Lame. Don't come here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyannis Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyannis Harbor Hotel

Address: 213 Ocean St, Hyannis, MA 02601
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 hotels in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyannis Harbor Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TravelClick, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Hyannis Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyannis Harbor Hotel Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyannis Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.