We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as expected...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyannis Harbor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hyannis Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   213 Ocean St, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 hotels in Hyannis
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not as expected...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was looking forward to spending three nights here as a base for my trip around Cape Cod, the location was great, right across from the ferry dock, which was very handy for my trip to Nantucket. But, was majorly disappointed in the hotels condition, reception area nice and clean and reception staff reasonably helpful, although understaffed as had to wait for about 20 minutes to check in.
The rooms were the main disappointment, we had a room on two levels, the upper room was very large and looked like a conference room, in fact, I didn't even want to sleep up there alone it was that unwelcoming and cold looking. The hotel is very dated, and in good need of refurbishment...
On the morning of our second day, the toilet became blocked and wouldn't flush, so we asked reception if they could sort as we were out all day, upon our return to the hotel, they informed us that they couldn't fix the problem, so on our last night we had to change rooms, which meant moving our luggage with no offer of help to do so... This was our only option, my impression was they couldn't be bothered to solve the blocked toilet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    129
    115
    100
    98
See reviews for
169
211
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for a week in June.
Apart from the lack of understanding of the staff when booking in, regarding our reservation, we found the hotel to be clean and tidy, following their refurbishments.
The staff were very helpful,our beds were very comfortable queen sized, large screen tv , tea & coffee facilities. Pleasant view from our room on 2nd floor, overlooking pool & restaurant .
The rooms were well maintained daily. Ideal location just opposite the ferries to Martha's Vineyard & Nantucket.
We would definately stay here again in the future.
Alan & Pauline Newport Pagnell Bucks

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

What a terrible, disgusting place. We checked in and literally had to drive around the parking lot 3 times to find our room just to find out the rude woman at the front desk gave us wrong directions and we were right by our room initially. When we finally got to our room our "harbor view" room it over looked the pool which gave our room a delightful (not) chlorine aroma. After that we found a dirty bandaid and waterbottle which I complained about 3x and everyone at the front desk blew is off. When I demanded to speak to the manager they said he was in a meeting. We paid over $300 to spend the weekend here and it was just madness. And paying for parking is ridiculous. Overall, close to hyannis main st however there are many other hotels on sea st we could have been happier at. Lame. Don't come here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Located right across the ferry dock and walking distance to main street. Nice fire pit, pool and hot tub area. Only complaint is they close the pool and hot tub at 8pm, really? We went over Memorial Day weekend and were grateful they accepted a 1 nite reservation as most properties had 2-3 night minimum. Be prepared for lots of families and the noise they make. Must recommend the Sunnyside Cafe for breakfast...it's a taste of Americana, a true diner with the nicest waitresses, best food and downright New England hospitality.

Room Tip: Splurge for a harbor front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for location on Hyannis Harbor in Massachusetts. Paid premium rate for harbor view but view of harbor could fit on a dime. We are partially handicapped senior citizens but ramp only goes to three rooms facing street. All other rooms accessible only by climbing stairs. Beds and large flat screen TV were very good. Bathroom was miniscule with no counter to place travel kit on. One crank out window was broken and could not be closed to weather and had no screen. Desk clerks were very considerate. Restaurant food price and quality was average.

Room Tip: This is surrounded by parking lots on three sides. Is on harbor side street facing harbor but few r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I'm not one to review, but this one I have to do it. We just got back yesterday and what a cluster "F" this place is. Gorgeous location, looks great from outside, get inside and forget about it. I guess this is the easiest way to do this - 1. We were guaranteed a harbor front room that we didn't get (Myeisha tried to tell me that their computer system went down and lost that information - didn't lose our original reservation or the date change we made, just the room type and there was only 1 other room we could have, the only room left in the hotel) 2. They put us in back of the hotel with all of the families and kids attending a soccer tournament (you can imagine the noise) 3. We go to our room and the lock on the door was broken had to wait for them to fix it because they could't move us. 4. Ceiling and floor in the bathroom were stained 5. Came back to our room after dinner and our key didn't work 6. Kids running up and down the hallway, doing gymnastics (or something close to it) in the room above us. We've stayed at this hotel numerous times over the years and were happy to hear it was renovated. I think the only thing they renovated was the lobby and they fire pit area. Other than that (looking good from the outside) there is absolutely nothing else to draw you back. Being Memorial Day weekend with that gorgeous bar area outside, I did not see one other person in the restaurant / bar all weekend but yet it was standing room only everywhere else we went. Why is that? My husband and I went to the restaurant for breakfast (because it was comped) and we were the only two there for over an hour and still nobody in sight when we left. It was a buffet but we had to wait for the eggs and the bacon to be cooked because as the waitress informed us "the chef is in the bathroom" ... thanks for that visual right before he cooks my breakfast. Just an all around bad experience and we will never return unless the place is taken over by someone with some hospitality experience because this place has none and Myiesha at the front desk was rude and useless.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else to choose a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plympton, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

great staff very helpful good price nice rooms large pool hot tub bar and tv beds and pillows great fun place food and drink walking dist. across from fast ferry to MV great fishing and the town right up the street good night life

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyannis Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyannis Harbor Hotel

Address: 213 Ocean St, Hyannis, MA 02601
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 hotels in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyannis Harbor Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hyannis Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyannis Harbor Hotel Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyannis Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.