We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyannis Harbor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyannis Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   213 Ocean St, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This room had been booked for some time before our visit, but it was only the night before we arrived that I got round to reading the reviews on here. Some of them are very negative and whilst travelling there, plan B was being hatched.
We need not have worried, the room we were shown to was large, clean, decorated not too long ago and equipped with coffee maker, fridge and DVD player amongst other things. There was also a good view acrosss the bay. Whilst it was not the best room of out trip, it was nowhere near the worst.
The lack of the advertised restaurant was a pain, especially at breakfast if it was raining. The TV and intermittent wi-fi connection seemed unnecessarily complex.
The staff were cheerful and helpful pointing us to good places to eat and it made our trip to Nantucket that much better just having to cross the road from the ferry.
This review was really 3.5 out of 5, the restaurant would have lifted it. Do not believe all the negative things you read on here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    136
    129
    106
    102
See reviews for
182
228
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austria
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Big Motel at the Hyannis harbor. It's rather quiet there during the night time but not easy finding an open restaurant as soon as the holiday period has gone. Rooms are clean and spacious. Pool (in & out) available.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed on the King room with a jacuzzi, harbor front view and pool view. The staff were very friendly, room was really nice and clean. Walk distance to two great restaurants, or you can just walk across the street and take a ferry to Nantucket or Martha's Vineyard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Owner at Hyannis Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for being our guests at the Hyannis Harbor Hotel and writing such a great review. We are pleased to hear that our staff, our amenities, and the hotel itself exceeded your expectations.

Adjacent to the Nantucket and Martha’s Vineyard ferries, our harbor location makes us Hyannis’ most complete and convenient vacation destination, whether you are staying put to enjoy our extensive amenities or venturing out to explore the Cape and the Islands. Our guests enjoy the hotel’s amenities including our indoor and outdoor pools, outdoor fire pit, out door deck and recently renovated lobby with a business center workstation. In addition, the Blue Water Grille, our seasonal harborside restaurant and bar is a perfect choice for cocktails or dining.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Rooms in the hotel were fine if a bit dated and the location is very nice. My big issue was the hotel staff who were at best unhelpful with even the smallest issues. Also the tv in my room did not work and I did even get an apology when reporting it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Owner at Hyannis Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are disappointed that you were inconvenienced during your stay with the TV in your room not working properly. This past winter, we installed 42” flat screen HD televisions in all guest rooms and enhanced the wireless Internet serving the hotel to a faster state-of-the-art technology. We also upgraded to a new luxury bedding and linen program. Every room received new top-of-the-line custom mattresses with pillow top and high-thread count linens. This new “white bed program” is the most fresh and comfortable sleeping experience available. Also, all of the terry was changed to an upscale offering. Finally, you can enjoy the resort this summer in the comfort of the new robes that will added to the guest rooms for this season. I hope that you will choose to visit the Hyannis Harbor Hotel again so that you have the chance to experience all of these exciting upgrades and so that we can provide the level of service that you rightly expect. Of course, our location which can’t be improved remains unchanged with the exception of many new restaurants and other offerings that have been added to our harbor front neighborhood over the past off-season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

from the staff to the location to the quality of room this place had it all beautiful pool area with fire pit and a large size outdoor game of chess patio. my family and I had a great time and plan to go back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, FL
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night for closer proximity to Nantucket Island. The hotel is located across the street from the Hy-Line ferry line.the room was very clean, smelled nice and has inside corridors and the outer doors to get in the corridors are locked and only open with a room key card so security is good. The beds were comfortable with plenty of pillows on each bed. The room had a large LG flat screen TV and free WiFi access. The pool is outdoors. There is a restaurant on site but it was closed ( for the season, maybe?) so that was a disappointment. Hotel is no smoking. The room was large and has a mini fridge. There are a few restaurants within walking distance but no breakfast offered in hotel. The only place for breakfast we found was a coffee/ pastry shop near the ferry terminal. Since we were here after prime season, we were told we could park our car in the hotel parking lot while we were on Nantucket Island which saved us $30 in ferry parking fees. Front desk check-in was quick and staff was pleasant. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear of hotel are off the min road and very unite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynchburg, va
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was an ok hotel. Nothing great but clean, hot water, nice views, everthing is right there including The Black Cat restaurant which is to die for. We were only staying one night and ended up booking for a second night. This was September of 2012 and I would stay there again. I will say Victoria who we dealt with on the phone was rude but everyone else was nice. Visit Main Street its great. It was alittle outdated but the outside sitting area was very nice, right across from the ferries and plenty to do within 5 minutes walking distance. I would stay again there really isnt an upscale hotel in the area. Be warned no elevators so plan on taking your luggage up the stairs and no real views from the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyannis Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyannis Harbor Hotel

Address: 213 Ocean St, Hyannis, MA 02601
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyannis Harbor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyannis Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyannis Harbor Hotel Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyannis Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.