We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Personal Touch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Cod Harbor House Inn

Save Saved
You added Cape Cod Harbor House Inn to your Saves list
Cape Cod Harbor House Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cape Cod Harbor House Inn
119 Ocean Street, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 hotels in Hyannis
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Personal Touch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I were a little skepitcal when we searched the trip advisor site and read some of the negative reviews on this propery. However we were in Boston and wanted to spend the weekend in Cape Cod and this was one of a few properties that allowed us to bring our 65lb Yellow Lab.

After speaking to the owner Ken my fears greatly subsided thanks to his charming personality and immediately upon arrival we realized this was going to be great place to spend the weekend. Our room was more like a small condo with a full kitchen as well as a large main area with two queen beds. It was very clean and comfortable and a great location from which to explore this charming town and its many good resturants. The beaches were also within walking distance although there is a tram that runs between the downtown, the hotel, and the beaches. However, the biggest plus of this property was Ken and his son who really give the personal touch and are always happy to take the time to point out places of interest and dispense useful advice on what to see . Unfortunately we only had a weekend but we will be back to this charming property in this most charming part of the world.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    34
    6
    8
    16
See reviews for
28
64
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Merrick, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I gave it 3 stars as place for dogs. It only rates 2 stars as a place for people. The room (9) was dated and could use some rearrangement. The mattress was not that good, the bathroom was cramped with no place to put any thing. We used the small counter by the sink in the kitchenette for our bathroom stuff. The water pressure is good but it is easy to soak the floor with the way the shower curtain fits. The trash can in the bathroom was very rusted. The trash can in the kitchen had no lid on it. The armoire for the TV was poorly positioned right next to the door. You need to open the doors on it to watch TV and that blocks the entry for the room. A simple set of the right hinges and a screwdriver would fix this. Ron was very helpful and full of info on where the best places to go with our dog. (See my review on the Black Cat Restaurant for the exception). The location is fantastic being right by the docks and just a couple of blocks from Main Street.

Room Tip: Dog rooms are on the bottom floor but if I didn't have a dog I would try to get a second floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We spent two days at this hotel and although we are usually frugal people, we decided to get the best room they had.Over $500 a night with tax. The room has a gorgeous view of the entire harbor. Nice king size bed ,a day bed with trundle bed, balcony off of main bedroom overlooking harbor.Large bathroom with jacuzzi tub. Kitchen with small fridge, microwave, gas stove, they give you plenty of Keurig coffee for single cup coffee maker.Kitchen had another day bed with trundle Large lcd tv with cable. Wi-fi access.We took harbor tour, went to free beach on other side of harbor, deep sea fishing,shopping downtown, ate at some fantastic restaurants.This hotel is close to everything.Free trolley comes by now and then.It's supposed to come by every 1/2 hour but don't count on it.
We had 4 people in our party and a small dog. No problems at all. Staff was great.Room was great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

A friend and I were looking to stay in Hyannis for the weekend. We had never been there and we had no idea where to stay so we called around to pretty much every hotel/motel in the area. We landed on the Cape Cod Harbor House Inn because the staff I spoke with on the phone, named Rob, was so extremely helpful and friendly. He told us all about the area and was very accommodating to our needs and gave us a great price! He told us check in was not until 3pm the day we arrived, but welcomed us to come by any time that day and we would be able to park the car there and even possibly get in our room early if it was ready. On the day we arrived the staff member in the office that checked us in, named Josh, was so fantastic! He told us all about the area, restaurants, beaches, nightlife, etc. Our room was very clean and had everything we needed. There was even a small kitchen stocked with dishes, which would definitely come in handy if you were staying for a couple of days. The bathroom was very clean and a fantastic shower with great water pressure. The AC was blasting and the place was so cool we even turned the AC off completely at night, even though it was hot outside. Free breakfast in the morning was wonderful... coffee, juice, bagels, muffins, croissants, etc. I must say the best part about this place is its location! Right on the Harbor! Short walk to Main St. where there are restaurants, bars, shopping. But there are also several great restaurants right there on the harbor surrounding this Inn. You can walk to a nearby beach or hop on the free trolley and take a very short ride down the road to a bigger beach. All in all our stay was relaxing, comfortable, and very enjoyable. I will definitely be staying here again on our next trip to Hyannis and I would absolutely recommend friends to stay here as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canton CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I too was nervous to stay here when I saw some of the reviews. But there were no sand fleas or other bugs, the staff were very pleasant and had a cookout for the guests on the 4th of July, and we had a fantastic spot to view the fireworks. It is pet friendly and the room we stayed in had wood floors (laminate probably?) so it felt clean and did not seem 'doggy' like some other pet friendly places we have experienced. It was roomy with a pretty good kitchen. There was no pool, and probably not a hotel I would stay at for a long time, but for 2 nights it was more than decent. It was quiet and filled with families (no loud partiers which I worry about when staying in Hyannis). The location on Hyannis harbor allowed us to do many fun things in the area without worrying about parking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We were very excited for a quick memorial weekend stay and despite the reviews greeted very friendly by the staff. After dropping out bags off we spend the day around town and returned to the hotel by 6pm for a quick nap. We woke up at 8pm with bite marks all over our body, it was terrible. We left the hotel that night and returned to CT.
Had a call from the local Health Department yesterday who advised me that they found sand fleas all over room number 5 and same has been treated now. The condition of the rooms is very poor despite the fleas. Broken doors, dirty bathtubs, dirty floors and stains on the pillows.
Stay far away from this place, it can ruin a good weekend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem
2 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011 via mobile

Don't waste your time or money. Complete dump for a so called Inn. Whoever did this dumps web site deserves an academy award. I hope they have thrown out the two day old waffles that were in the so called breakfast area. Biggest rip off ever. DO NOT STAY HERE .

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cape Cod Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cod Harbor House Inn

Address: 119 Ocean Street, Hyannis, MA 02601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cape Cod Harbor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Cod Harbor House Hotel Hyannis
Cape Cod Harbor House Inn Hyannis, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Cod Harbor House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.