We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sand fleas” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Cod Harbor House Inn

Save Saved
You added Cape Cod Harbor House Inn to your Saves list
Cape Cod Harbor House Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cape Cod Harbor House Inn
119 Ocean Street, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 hotels in Hyannis
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“sand fleas”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We were very excited for a quick memorial weekend stay and despite the reviews greeted very friendly by the staff. After dropping out bags off we spend the day around town and returned to the hotel by 6pm for a quick nap. We woke up at 8pm with bite marks all over our body, it was terrible. We left the hotel that night and returned to CT.
Had a call from the local Health Department yesterday who advised me that they found sand fleas all over room number 5 and same has been treated now. The condition of the rooms is very poor despite the fleas. Broken doors, dirty bathtubs, dirty floors and stains on the pillows.
Stay far away from this place, it can ruin a good weekend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    41
    6
    8
    16
See reviews for
36
67
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem
2 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011 via mobile

Don't waste your time or money. Complete dump for a so called Inn. Whoever did this dumps web site deserves an academy award. I hope they have thrown out the two day old waffles that were in the so called breakfast area. Biggest rip off ever. DO NOT STAY HERE .

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

My wife and I (plus our bichon) just stayed at the Harbor House, and it's our second consecutive summer visiting the inn.
Although a bit pricey, we found the facility clean, comfortable and well maintained. The innkeeper, Ken, and his staff are friendly and more than helpful with ideas on things to do and see on the Cape. This year, it appeared the room's air conditioning, refrigerator and possibly the microwave were all new.
Beds are huge and comfortable, the bathroom and shower were spotless.
The continental breakfast lived up to its name - there were fresh muffins and bagels to choose from each morning. The inn also provides an extensive collection of DVDs for guests to watch, since each room has a DVD player along with theTV, on the local cable system. Harbor House is an older facility, but there's nothing run-down about it, and I don't understand how some of the other reviewers had the negative experiences they claim.
We hope to go back next summer!
Peter and Sue (and Twinkie!)
Prospect CT

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011 via mobile

I was a little nervous after reading other reviews but I am glad we did not cancel. Yes it looks a little run down but everything else made up for it. We thought our room was a nice size for 3 adults and a dog. There was a table with placemats and a kitchenette for those who want to bring supplies and cook their own meals that contains plates, cups, etc. All the staff we encountered were wonderful. Also, they partner with some nearby restaurants to get meal discounts. The best thing was how close we were to the hi speed ferry dock and not too long a walk to Main Street.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Can't fault this comfortable and friendly inn.
We almost didn't go to Cape Cod but it was almost the highlight of our New England holiday. This inn is comfortable, clean, staff are excellent and the breakfast is great.
Whatever you do, don't miss a whale watching trip or a drive to the end of the Cape.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seouljoo
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Went to Hyannis for a day because my mother and I have always wanted to visit Cape Cod. Decided to stay at the Cape Cod Harbor House Inn because the outside looked cute and it looked as though it was in our price range. We went it and the reception/host was INCREDIBLY rude. The only time he was nice was when we were leaving! We were yelled at, scolded, and sarcastically spoken to during our stay there. My mother really didn't want to go into the office because he was so mean. It was really quite a horrible experience. Anyways, we went up to our room which was pretty okay sized. Needs some serious upgrading and the mattresses sink in the middle (bed was still pretty comfortable though). Bathroom and kitchenette were small, but functional.

Wireless was spotty or non existent. Breakfast was okay. Waffles, bagels, and oatmeal. Nothing big or grand.

In all honesty, there really wasn't all that much to do in Hyannis. Nice place, but it was mostly shops and restaurants. I saw everything in about 3 hours. The inn is waterfront, but there's no beach. Just a dock to hang out and it's not even that big. To get to a beach, you'd have to drive. Price of the inn was expensive for an "inn". Yes, it's waterfront, but only the main office is waterfront. The rooms don't face the water at all. So, I don't understand why a room is $125 a night (Oh, btw, the guy said that he gave us a $50 discount). So, you're telling me that it's normally $175 a night?? No...way...

The room was worth at a MAXIMUM of $90 a night. And that doesn't include the rude service. They'll need to discount more for that.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtonville, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Great web site, clever photography, attractive discounts and attentive early contacts, but so very disappointing in real life. Refused to stay and DID get a FULL refund!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cape Cod Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cod Harbor House Inn

Address: 119 Ocean Street, Hyannis, MA 02601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cape Cod Harbor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Cod Harbor House Hotel Hyannis
Cape Cod Harbor House Inn Hyannis, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Cod Harbor House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.