We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second year, and hoping to come back next summer!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Cod Harbor House Inn

Save Saved
You added Cape Cod Harbor House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Cape Cod Harbor House Inn
119 Ocean Street, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 hotels in Hyannis
Waterbury, Connecticut
1 review
“Our second year, and hoping to come back next summer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

My wife and I (plus our bichon) just stayed at the Harbor House, and it's our second consecutive summer visiting the inn.
Although a bit pricey, we found the facility clean, comfortable and well maintained. The innkeeper, Ken, and his staff are friendly and more than helpful with ideas on things to do and see on the Cape. This year, it appeared the room's air conditioning, refrigerator and possibly the microwave were all new.
Beds are huge and comfortable, the bathroom and shower were spotless.
The continental breakfast lived up to its name - there were fresh muffins and bagels to choose from each morning. The inn also provides an extensive collection of DVDs for guests to watch, since each room has a DVD player along with theTV, on the local cable system. Harbor House is an older facility, but there's nothing run-down about it, and I don't understand how some of the other reviewers had the negative experiences they claim.
We hope to go back next summer!
Peter and Sue (and Twinkie!)
Prospect CT

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    31
    6
    8
    16
See reviews for
19
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011 via mobile

I was a little nervous after reading other reviews but I am glad we did not cancel. Yes it looks a little run down but everything else made up for it. We thought our room was a nice size for 3 adults and a dog. There was a table with placemats and a kitchenette for those who want to bring supplies and cook their own meals that contains plates, cups, etc. All the staff we encountered were wonderful. Also, they partner with some nearby restaurants to get meal discounts. The best thing was how close we were to the hi speed ferry dock and not too long a walk to Main Street.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Can't fault this comfortable and friendly inn.
We almost didn't go to Cape Cod but it was almost the highlight of our New England holiday. This inn is comfortable, clean, staff are excellent and the breakfast is great.
Whatever you do, don't miss a whale watching trip or a drive to the end of the Cape.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seouljoo
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Went to Hyannis for a day because my mother and I have always wanted to visit Cape Cod. Decided to stay at the Cape Cod Harbor House Inn because the outside looked cute and it looked as though it was in our price range. We went it and the reception/host was INCREDIBLY rude. The only time he was nice was when we were leaving! We were yelled at, scolded, and sarcastically spoken to during our stay there. My mother really didn't want to go into the office because he was so mean. It was really quite a horrible experience. Anyways, we went up to our room which was pretty okay sized. Needs some serious upgrading and the mattresses sink in the middle (bed was still pretty comfortable though). Bathroom and kitchenette were small, but functional.

Wireless was spotty or non existent. Breakfast was okay. Waffles, bagels, and oatmeal. Nothing big or grand.

In all honesty, there really wasn't all that much to do in Hyannis. Nice place, but it was mostly shops and restaurants. I saw everything in about 3 hours. The inn is waterfront, but there's no beach. Just a dock to hang out and it's not even that big. To get to a beach, you'd have to drive. Price of the inn was expensive for an "inn". Yes, it's waterfront, but only the main office is waterfront. The rooms don't face the water at all. So, I don't understand why a room is $125 a night (Oh, btw, the guy said that he gave us a $50 discount). So, you're telling me that it's normally $175 a night?? No...way...

The room was worth at a MAXIMUM of $90 a night. And that doesn't include the rude service. They'll need to discount more for that.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtonville, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Great web site, clever photography, attractive discounts and attentive early contacts, but so very disappointing in real life. Refused to stay and DID get a FULL refund!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrytown, Louisiana
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed at Harbor House Inn during our recent trip to Cape Cod with our Golden Retriever. The weather was horrible and Ken, Robert and the young lady in the office were more than helpful in planning day trips. We could not go to Nantucket (because of the weather) or Martha's Vineyard (because of weather and a presidental vacation) but Ken was especially helpful in suggesting interesting day trips for us. He also suggested wonderful restaurants, especially The Black Cat Tavern (which excepts pets)
right down the street. The breakfast we were served was delicious, especially the cinnamon rolls.. There was a cute little patio overlooking the harbor which we would have enjoyed had it not been raining. The rooms were not fancy but they were very clean. We had a very comfortable four night stay. The staff was very helpful, including looking things up for me in the phone book while we were on the road. We would stay there anytime again.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

The Cape Cod Harbor House Inn is located in the harbor area of Hyannis. Besides having a very good location, the only other favorable thing I can say about it is that the housekeeping service was very good. The facility looks as if nothing has been updated in the last 30 years. The beds are uncomfortable and the "furnishings" looked like the original chairs, table, appliances and couch from many, many years ago. The A/C was noisy and didn't do a very good job of cooling the room/sleeping area. The bathroom was very small with no room to store toiletries. All-in-all, we were disappointed and only stayed because it was prepaid for the 4 nights we reserved. It is convenient to get to the ferry to both Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, but you need to take your car to one of the two beaches nearby. The lobby/office area where they served breakfast looked dirty and was unappetizing. Therefore, we did not partake of their free continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cape Cod Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cod Harbor House Inn

Also Known As:
Cape Cod Harbor House Hotel Hyannis
Cape Cod Harbor House Hotel
Cape Cod Harbor House Inn Hyannis, MA
Address: 119 Ocean Street, Hyannis, MA 02601
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 hotels in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cape Cod Harbor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Cod Harbor House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.