We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem - Martin Rocks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Cod Ocean Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Cod Ocean Manor to your Saves list
Cape Cod Ocean Manor
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   543 Ocean Street, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hyannis B&B and Inns
boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem - Martin Rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

This is a truly hidden gem. Place is clean as a pin, the owner will travel an extra lightyear to make sure that you are happy. We stayed in room #4, we loved it! There is a balcony with a beautiful view where you can eat breakfast/lunch weather allowing. The room is done in a marine theme with great taste. We spent quiet a few minutes chatting with the owner whose name is Martin, he is a fine Irish gentleman, an example of friendliness and hospitality. The hotel was full when we got there. I think there is some sort of a special sound insulation because we did not hear any of our neigbours at any time. This hotel is within a short walking distance to the Hyannis harbor where you can take a ride to Martha's Vineyard or Nantucket, or a boat tour around the harbor. So, overall this is a very good place, the only place where my wife agreed to stay the next time we go to Cape Cod.
Nick
PS. Just asked my three year what she liked most about the hotel. The king size bed of course! She did her fair share of jumping on the bed (we have a smaller bed at home)...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    21
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
78
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

My husband and I stayed for two nights at the Ocean Manor in Hyannis. We were pleasantly surprised. I had read nothing but great reviews on TripAdvisor, and it fufilled or surpassed every thing we were looking for.

PROS-Friendly service. Both the gentleman and lady we dealt with both days were SUPER nice

LOCATION-1 Mile to the ferry, 1.5 miles from Main Street, a few hundred feet from 2 beaches. All walking distance

ACCOMODATIONS-We stayed in Rm #5. LARGE. and SPOTLESS.
Full size AC unit
It appeared the carpeting was either brand new or freshly shampooed.
The bathroom? Immaculate. No lie, you could eat off the floor. Not a spot of mildew. Not a hair. Clean towels. Moderately comfy king size bed. BIG mini fridge {I forgot my orange juice in the freezer :( Nice microwave
Balcony was perfect for two people; not more than that. Bright, with 2 windows and a sliding glass door. We didn't need the air conditioner the second night! LOTS of outlets for charging our Iphone, laptop, cell phone, curling iron, flat iron, etc

AMENITIES-No toiletries, but c'mon people...this isn't a third world country. Go to the CVS (there's at least 500 between the airport and the inn) and get something you would actually use, not just stuff in your bag as a momento.
* Hair dryer dried my long hair quickly.
*The Wi-Fi isn't just LIGHTNING FAST, but FREE!!
*Breakfast...meh; fresh fruit, 5 different dry cereals to choose from, OJ, coffee, tea, muffins. Your typical light continental.

The spots aren't assigned, but every night we had a parking space waiting. Do urself a flavor and once you park just leave the car..

CONS-That we only stayed 2 nights. And that we met the guy with the tops of his fingers cut off (HE WAS NOT AT THE INN). No disrespect to people w/o finger tips, but this dude stared at me too much. And that now everyone is going to go here and it won't be one of the most affordable places in Hyannis that are sweet, cozy, and private.

I think thats about it, I've posted lots of pics in hopes that you will find this review useful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

We booked late and were offered two nights, different rooms in this small b&b, one long
block from a nice bay beach (kalmus beach) and down the block from the port where harbor trips abound as well as fast boats to nantucket and martha's vineyard and all the restaurants you could want.
The cape cod ocean manor is nicely located against a marsh with an ocean view from the second floor decks. We mostly just relaxed at the b&b and on the beach.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

good size room with its own balcony and great view, would recommend but have our own preference.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

The positive points of the Ocean manor: walking distance to beautiful beaches, personable and caring hosts. Unfortunately, there are a few negatives and future guest should be aware of the following: Room # 4 was the only one available when we booked a few months before. We didn't mind that it was rather small, that there were no amenities save a minuscule bar of soap, or that the bathroom was fifties vintage, what gave us a real hard time was the shower. There is no temperature regulator on the trickle of water: if and when someone opens a tap or flushes anywhere in the house, you get scalding hot or ice cold water! From what we could gather from the other guests, this scourge is unique to room #4.
We didn't like the fact that there is no proper breakfast area: you have to eat off your knees or off a coffee table in the living room; the alternative is the deck - if it doesn't rain!
There are no common areas in the house: the living/breakfast room is off limits after breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

If for nothing else, we would go back for the attention and kindness shown to us by the owner Martin, as well as the rest of the staff. That having been said, the room was large and comfortable with amenities like a fridge and microwave. The view was wonderful and the location very good. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. We will plan another trip to the Cape in the future and the Cape Cod Manor will be number 1 on our list of places to stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

I found this B&B on this site, and therefore do feel obligated to share our experience, so others can benefit as well. My fiancee and myself spent four nights at Ocean Manor, and enjoyed every moment of our stay. Martin, Sandra-Lee and their staff treated us like family. Everyone we've interacted during our stay was extremely friendly and helpful (whenever we needed help). We stayed in room 3, on the second floor, and loved it. The bathroom is not huge, but nicely done and everything you would normally need is in there. The shower has a good water flow at all times. Location wise you wold be about a minute drive from Hyannis Ferry Station to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, and two minutes drive from good restaurants. We also enjoyed a great deal an evening with live jazz at Road House Caffe.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Cod Ocean Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cod Ocean Manor

Address: 543 Ocean Street, Hyannis, MA 02601
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cape Cod Ocean Manor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Cape Cod Ocean Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Cod Ocean Manor Hotel Hyannis
Cape Cod Ocean Manor Hyannis, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Cod Ocean Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.