We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Mountain Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyannis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Mountain Inn
328 Sea Street, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hyannis B&B and Inns
Oakfield, NS
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A perfect Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My Sister-in-law and I spent 3 wonderful days on Cape Cod. We stayed in the 2 bedroom efficiency suite on the 2nd floor. It was clean, casual and comfortable and had the Cape Cod Charm we had hoped for. Nick and Mike were perfect hosts. They greeted us warmly, helped us with our luggage, and acquainted us with the property. Breakfast was served on the outdoor patio, and we looked forward to coming down to see what the mystery breakfast of the day would be. While we were there we had Omelet, French Toast and Breakfast Sandwiches - all very good. After breakfast was served Mike and Nick would join us providing lots of great suggestions regarding towns to visits and dinner and lunch suggestions, Also info on ferries, parking, etc.

The location was perfect. We were able to walk to the beach. it was a very short drive to Main Street. And central for our day trips to Chatham, Well Fleet, Plymouth and Falmouth. Chatham, Wellfleet and Falmouth were suggestions from our hosts, and we were so pleased we took the time to explore these towns.

We ended our evening with a glass of wine on the verandah. Just reminiscing about our day, enjoying the quiet and fragrances from the garden.

When we left, Nick helped us getting our luggage to the car, and both came to see us off.

We felt like we were saying good bye to friends.

Lynn

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
115
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were recommended this B&B by a relative that has traveled the world. We traveled with another couple that had never been to the Cape and took a chance on the P-Town efficiency. It was perfect. The efficiency was roomy, clean, quiet and very comfortable. The stove / oven came in handy when we decided to eat in one night. Despite the rainy weather, the trip could not have worked out better. Mike and Nick were excellent hosts, to the point where Nick virtually planned our day based on the weather (what to do, where to park, etc.) and even offered to drive us to the pier for the Nantucket ferry. It was just a short walk to the beach… where we saw a gorgeous sunset. My wife and I have been to quite a few B&B’s and I don’t recall ever having such unique, delicious breakfasts every day. Seating for breakfast was conducive to chatting with the other guests, whether indoors or outside. The yard was spacious, with chairs to relax by the koi pond. We were fortunate to be able to stay for a week and every day our hosts were accommodating and fun. This is one of the few B&B that we have been to where we felt as though we actually became friends with the hosts. If we had the vacation time we would come back in September 2013, but we are already penciling in a visit in 2014. We were given the opportunity to look at the other rooms. and any room in the Inn will do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our perfect week at the Cape (though we had more rain than we would have liked) was accentuated by this wonderful B&B. Located within walking distance to the beach and a short walk to the shops and restaurants, staying at this B&B make our week special. We stayed with another couple in the 2 room efficiency located on the side of the house. Mike and Nick are really special hosts, being very social and informative. Awesome breakfasts (a different surprise each day) and an open house atmosphere made us feel right at home. Nick was great at providing tips on where to visit, where to park, what restaurants had special values... He even offered to drive us to the harbor or Main street if needed. I must comment on earlier reviews from this year. Going to a B&B means getting to know the owners, enjoying their company while feeling right at home. Breakfast was served on the outdoor decking, unless it rained. We were invited inside when weather was bad. We found that there was plenty of room to eat there. Frankly it did not matter as the breakfast and atmosphere were excellent. Since this B&B mainly operates in the warmer weather, their common area is an outdoor porch with plenty of room for socializing. Nick and Mike were very up front about the accommodations at the B&B. (most notable smaller than normal showers). For those guests sharing a bathroom upstairs, this is known when the reservation is made. Many B&B's offer only shared bathroom accommodations. As to Nick and Mike, you could not ask for better hosts. We ended the vacation feeling like we left family behind. Nick/Mike, Thanks for a really great time while staying at your B&B!

Room Tip: Ask questions when booking a B&B. When you know ahead of time what is offered, it makes your sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our room, at the top of a long tricky flight of steps, had a shared bath, one chair, bed and dresser. If at night you wanted to read, there was no common room, only an outdoor porch at the bottom of the steps. Decor was old, depressing, the yard was not glorious but ill kempt, and the siting on the road could be very noisy in season I'd guess. Foreigners who come because the price is low will not get a good impression of the Cape from this unbeachlike place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Owner at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
In response to this review and the one prior as these two couples were traveling together.
Thinking they were relative as they did not play well with others. They did not mention that
they were here for only one night as they were headed to Nantucket. They arrived late
afternoon and left in the morning. They also did not mention that they were quite elderly and
a 15 minute walk might be too much for them. In the morning it was raining so we served inside our breakfast room which we have had no complaints about being crampy. Breakfast is usualy served outside on our large deck. We have many common areas around the yard including a large wrap around front porch and other areas in the yard. The decor of the rooms we try too keep true to the age and style of the building( 1852 Greek Revival ) and still maintaining a cape cod feel These people would be happier in a hotel and the innkeepers would be happy if they did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

At $140 tax included for a room and breakfast the value is there. But there is no indoor common sitting room you're a good long walk from the harbor or Main Street and breakfast is served in a cramped room. Certainly offers friendly hosts and an ample breakfast but if price is not your major criterion you might want to pay more and get more.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Feel so bad that it has taken me so long to write this review, sorry Mike and Nick! We are a family of two adults and two children who had an amazing stay here last June. We had booked a two-bed efficiency which was so cosy and classic New England. We were very unlucky with the weather which was quite cold but the apartment was warm and very comfortable. Mike and Nick made us so welcome, it was truly a home-from-home experience, and I really hope we make it back there again one day. I must mention breakfast... Wonderful! The most creative and delicious breakfasts I have ever had anywhere. Nick is an absolute gem- he is a mine of information on anything on the Cape and gave us excellent advice, particularly with regard to our whale-watching trip (from Providence, amazing!!!) and on our day on Martha's Vineyard (an absolute must!!!). Thank you, guys, so very much for making our stay so special. We hope you are well. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I just recently celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at the Green Mountain Inn. We were hoping to have a nice experience and we were not dissapointed. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed as though they were "old friends". You feel as though you have known Mike and Nick forever. They go out of their way to accomodate you. For example, we were unable to have breakfast(which all are deliciously prepared and served) one morning due to having to catch an early ferry. Mike and Nick had 2 "bags to go" with their famously delicious breakfast sandwiches waiting for us. Their B&B is absolutely lovely and very clean! They are so thoughtful in all the little touches they add to make your stay special. Mike and Nick know all the great places around town and take the time to give directions and advice. Overall we had an excellent experience and are glad we chose the Green Mountain Inn for our special occasion.We definately will reccomend this place to all our friends and family whenever they plan a stay at the cape. Thanks Mike and Nick for making our 25th a memorable one. you guys are great and we loved your dogs too! See you next year! Ken and Nicole

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Address: 328 Sea Street, Hyannis, MA 02601
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Hyannis
Green Mountain Inn Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Green Mountain Inn to your Saves list