We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hyannis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hyannis to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hyannis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1127 Iyannough Rd, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Bottom Line (well top line in the case): Friendly staff, nice rooms w/comfortable beds, great pool area, tasty burgers, convenient location. I would definitely stay here again.

I'm a Marriott guy and haven't strayed from Marriott when travelling for business for probably 10 years. A recent trip left me with no other option than to stay this Holiday Inn. I have to say, I was pleasantly surpised. I wasn't sure if the Marriott quality I've come to expect was going to be at a Holiday Inn but it was! Here are the highlights:

- Very friendly and helpful staff, easy check-in. I will say one thing though, I pre-paid my room on line and I wanted to change the bed config to 2 queens at check-in, in a nice way they told me they weren't able to do this because the room I booked was more expensive. Not a huge deal but thought it was worth mentioning b/c Marriott would have done this in a heartbeat.
- Friendly bartender/waiter who noticed I was chasing my 2 year old around the lobby and when I walked by the restaurant he said "you definitely want to eat here, we have a kids menu" and he went and got me one and we did eat there. Limited menu but the burger I had was fantastic.
- Halls: looks like they were recently done (carpeting/lighting) and just starting to show wear.
- Room: Loved the room. Really comfortable king bed, clean bathroom, unbelievable shower head - one of the best I've had. Nice decor, this is the one thing they really needed to do right and they did.
- Pool area: AWESOME! Huge indoor pool area with a jacuzzi. Took my 2 yr old down there and we loved it.
- Hotel location: Can't beat it. Smack dab in the middle of the cape, close to rte 6, right near the ferry terminal, easy access to anywhere you want to go.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Hyannis, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Thank you for your great comments! Your "bottom line" really sums up what we aim for as a property...."friendly staff, nice rooms with comfortable beds, tasty burgers, convenient location" etc. Also, so pleased to hear that you loved our pool and jacuzzi...we think a lot of people are "pleasantly surprised", as you were, with all we have to offer. We do apologize that we didn't get you into a room with two beds at check-in (afraid we did "miss the boat" on that and have addressed with our front office associates). We really appreciate you having taken the time to write and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Hyannis - and maybe even making a "convert" out of you! :) One final fyi...Holiday Inn offers points for travel through our Priority Club Rewards program....we hope you will consider joining if you have not already.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    147
    71
    30
    13
See reviews for
125
137
14
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Falcon, CO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

The rooms were clean, comfortable, and the local area was safe. The hotel restaurant was very good and they offered a breakfast buffet. I chose to order from the menu and got a great omelet and coffee. The wait staff was very, very friendly and helpful. The pool and hot tub looked great. After a long plane ride from Colorado and a rental car trip from Boston, I was ready for a hot tub soak. Unfortunately, it was “kids week” (an annual week off school in the area) and the hotel was swarming with rugrats. [No big deal, I’ve got kids of my own.] The Holiday Inn was doing their very best to entertain the kids and everyone seemed to be having a great time… until… Apparently, the hotel filled the little buggers with soda, pizza, ice cream, and popcorn. The kids ran, played, and swam. One thing led to another and … let’s just say the hot tub was immediately closed “for maintenance.” No soak for me. Hotels can do a lot but it’s difficult for them to police their guests. Oh well. Would I stay at the Holiday Inn, Hyannis again. You bet. But not during kids week.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Hyannis, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Thank you so much for writing. We were glad to hear that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable (always a good thing!) and that the breakfast was to your liking. As you mentioned, you found your self in the middle of our popular February Kid's Week program.....admittedly not our usual demographic.....but one we happily cater to for School Vacation Week! Sorry, you never did get that soak in the hot tub...but happy to know that you would stay here again (with a little different demographic!) Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

The room is amazing great space. MY husband is very picky and we found a place he loves!
The kids always have a great time when we come every february! Service is amazing also
every thing is spot on! You get your moneys worth that is for sure! Thank you Holiday Inn!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Hyannis, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to pass on your wonderful comments about our property. We do our utmost to provide great accommodations, great service and great value - and we sincerely appreciate your recognition of our efforts. We will be sure to share your comments with our staff. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

well lets just start by saying i came from the horrific International inn "cuddles and bubbles" in hyannis (checked out early). called the holiday in and they were very understanding and accomidating. the check in time was 3pm but they let me check in at 1pm, when i had gotten there the girl at the front desk was unbelievable, she even upgraded in appology to the other hotel..

Our room was AWSOME, one of the most cumfy beds i have ever slept on, gorgoeus in wall fire place , amazing jaccizzi tub, great modern look, very clean, wifi, nice fitness center, and huge pool!!

i was so excited we booked a double bed room for the next night, and grabbed our small children to enjoy another nights stay there!! so in a nutshell saved us!! THANK YOU!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Hyannis, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you for sharing! So happy to hear that we were able to "turn things around" for you for the week-end and that you enjoyed both your King room with Jacuzzi and Fireplace and the double bedded room with your family. We're fortunate to have a variety of rooms (all with the comfy beds you mentioned!) to accommodate families, couples and business travellers. Come back and visit us when your schedule permits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

Last night I worked late Hyannis and stayed at this Holiday Inn. I was awoken my the maid banging her keys on my door Very hard a few minutes before 9am. This noise jolted me out of my bed. I thought there was an emergency. She kept saying "Check out time... I need to start my day" over and over. UM checkout time is at 11am. This left me with hardly 4 hours sleep and leaving very angry. The front desk staff were hardly apologetic. I will never stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyanhi1, Manager at Holiday Inn Hyannis, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
Wow, not good! Your review was most disappointing to read. Please accept our apology for your less than positive experience. I have spoken with our Executive Housekeeper about the room attendent being over zealous in starting her day and she is sharing your review with her entire staff
Thank you for your comments and we hope you will give the Holiday Inn Hyannis another chance when Cape Cod is next on your agenda...I promise, you will be glad you did!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

First the positive - very comfortable bed, nice bathroom. Now to the negative points -
motel style at hotel price, very very thin walls and loud heating/air conditioning. Kids running through the hallways even late in the evening and parents letting them, this maybe was just bad luck. I would suggest the posting of signs at entrances encouraging quietness if this is their usual clientele. Definitely no place for light sleepers. Free internet in the rooms but no PC station in the lobby and not everyone travels with a laptop. I ate a small dinner in the bar (restaurant closed as it was Thanksgiving and did not appreciate that an 18 % gratuity was added to my bill (supposingly only for parties of 6 or more). On a future trip to the cape i will try another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS14, Manager at Holiday Inn Hyannis, responded to this review, December 17, 2010
Thank you for your comments - both the good and the “not so good”. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfortable bed and bathroom. We regret that you experienced noise issues during your stay. We were hosting a group over Thanksgiving week-end that did create some noise challenges. This is not the “norm” of our clientele; however, we wish that we had done a better job of assigning your room away from the group. We apologize also for the problem in the lounge – an automatic gratuity is certainly not our policy and we have addressed this with your server. We hope that you will reconsider a stay at the Holiday Inn Hyannis, so that we can better meet your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
533 reviews 533 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
532 helpful votes 532 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

This hotel is right on the main road leading into Hyannis and looks like it was recently redone. Very nice place with very clean rooms and a large indoor pool and friendly staff. It is centrally located so you are close to everything on the cape and it is near route 6 which leads you to all points east or west. The prices for off season were reasonable, the only complaint I have is that the free WiFI they offer was very spotty and only worked half the time. I called their tech support twice to log me on and it worked but would time out. Overall not a bad place to stay. The restaurant here served breakfast and the service was decent and the food was cheap and actually pretty good!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS14, Manager at Holiday Inn Hyannis, responded to this review, December 17, 2010
Nice review....thank you. We agree - the Holiday inn Hyannis does have a great central location, clean and recently redone rooms and as you experienced…reasonable rates. We’re sorry for the problem you encountered with our complimentary WIFI service – we will be looking into this. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write to share your thoughts. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property the next time you visit the Cape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hyannis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hyannis

Address: 1127 Iyannough Rd, Hyannis, MA 02601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hyannis 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Cape Cod, Massachusetts. Located on Cape Cod Hyannis, MA, home of the JFK Memorial. The Holiday Inn Cape Cod Hyannis Hotel, is conveniently located to US-6 and Route 132. The hotel is 5 minutes from Barnstable Regional Airport (HYA). This beautiful property is located between Cape Cod Bay and Nantucket Sound. We are surrounded by breathtaking views, historic charm and fine dining. Only minutes from Hyannis which boasts the area's largest concentration of businesses, shops, restaurants, and entertainment spots. In the main street and waterfront district you'll find Hyannis Harbor, the Village Green, the JFK Hyannis Museum, the JFK Memorial Park, and much more. This contemporary, stylish hotel offers 196 spacious guest rooms where you may select from a king, or two double beds. Special in-room amenities include complimentary wireless high-speed Internet, 27-inch television, movie channels, in room games and in room safe. Bi-level, Jacuzzi suites are also available. The Holiday Inn Cape Cod Hyannis Hotel features full meeting facilities, 24-hour fitness center, indoor pool, business services, lounge and restaurant. Hyannis hosts a variety of attractions including; Craigville Beach, Kalmus Beach, Orrin Keyes Beach, Veterans Beach, JFK Memorial, John F. Kennedy Hyannis Museum, golf courses, Cape Cod Central Railroad, and Hyannis Whale Watcher Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hyannis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hyannis Hotel Hyannis
Hyannis Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hyannis Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hyannis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.