We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother's Day Weekend Irish Step Competition” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hyannis

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hyannis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hyannis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1127 Iyannough Rd, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Hyannis
Canton, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mother's Day Weekend Irish Step Competition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I normally don't write reviews for hotels, restaurants and the like but I felt that the service, hospitality, professionalism and caring shown by the staff at the Hyannis Holiday Inn was above and beyond and deserved to be recognized.

Our stay began on Friday May 10th, 2013 at check-in and once again you all did not disappoint.

This is our second year staying with you as our dancing daughter competes annually in the Cape Cod Feis in Hyannis held on Mother's Day weekend. Upon check-in the front desk staff of Jessica and Samantha were warm and welcoming, they efficiently handled the paperwork needed, lessening the time it normally takes to get checked in, keeping all 13 children happy and content as all they wanted was to "go swimming". Once in our rooms, we found them to be clean, well kept, nicely appointed and comfortable. After unloading the mountains of dance items and luggage all 5 families proceeded to take their children to the pool. There we became acquainted with Ruben - the lifeguard. Ruben was a pleasure, he came over and introduced himself, asked about our trip in and how long we were staying and was professional and warm. At one point some of the younger children began playing in the hot tub and he very gently asked them to stay in the pool - taking the time to answer their question as to why. We stayed until pool closing and left for the evening.

On Saturday we awoke early to get our girls ready to dance and have breakfast in the café. We arrived for breakfast but when we sat we were informed that due to a large high school group being in the hotel as well - the decision had been made not to offer the buffet this weekend. I know it seems like a little thing - but I will say this was the most disappointing aspect of the trip. We remembered the Breakfast Buffet from last year and how good it was and were really looking forward to it. We ordered our food which was delivered quickly, hot and with a smile. After eating we all left to begin a grueling day of dance.

When we returned at close to 4pm that afternoon it was raining.....fretting about what to do with 13 energetic children amongst the 5 families we decided on letting them swim. All 5 families (23 people total) proceeded once again to the pool to be met by Ruben .... He was again so nice and accommodating and even let us pull 3 tables together so the adults could sit together while the children swam. Around dinner time we had decided to order pizza - the year before we had done this and had a "pizza party" by the pool which the kids still talk about - when I went to the desk to ask about places that deliver I was met by Bryce. He is a great asset to you organization so friendly and warm. He gave me the flyer for Mike's Pizza and recommended them. When asked about having the pizza delivered to the pool Bryce informed us there was a no food policy in the pool area but quickly offered the small gathering area in the bottom level for our use. This was PERFECT! so knowledgeable and helpful. Needless to say, we had a terrific time Saturday evening staying again until the pool closed.

Sunday - Mother's Day - we were all scheduled to meet in the café for breakfast as a group and again your staff was warm and accommodating, pushing several tables together so all 13 children could sit at 1 table and the 10 adults at another. The service was fast, the food was great - although still disappointed about no buffet - and the coffee was hot and kept coming.

I will close by saying our daughter's dance school has approximately 10 families that attend this competition and on our recommendation 4 others stayed at the Holiday Inn and ALL raved about it and committed to staying again next year, further - the others that didn't (regretfully now) have also said they will be staying with us here next year as their experiences at other more expensive hotels was no where near what we had experienced.

Great Job by all and you have definitely made loyal returning customers on any trip we may take to the Hyannis Area

Kerry

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    121
    50
    26
    12
See reviews for
102
110
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here with my family for a last minute weekend away in late March.
We had a baby who had been sick overnight & they told us we could check in as early as we wanted.
There was a nice pool area near reception.
About 2mile drive to downtown area/JFK memorial so a car is a good idea if you stay here.
Also close to shopping areas outside of the town.
Would recommend this as a clean comfortable convenient place to stay in Hyannis which was very reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Hyannis, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your visit and for your recommendation of our hotel as a "clean comfortable convenient place to stay in Hyannis which was very reasonable" - couldn't have said it better ourselves! Thank you very much for taking the time to write and share your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

my friend and i were warmly greeted upon arrival. we asked if there was any chance of an upgrade and we were rewarded with loft suites! i wasn't expecting anything so i was especially thrilled. the front desk liason, melissa, was very accomodating, friendly and efficient. she filled us in on all the hotel accomodations and was helpful with directions, walking paths, beaches etc.
the hotel itself was quite nice. i did not try the restaurant but the pool and fitness room were quite nice. my only suggestions (minor) with regard to the rooms would be a space for luggage and a shelf in the downstairs bathroom for toiletries.
my overall experience was quite good and i would like to go back regardless of whether i get upgraded or not (although it was nice:). people like melissa and another young man (who's name, i regret to say i can't remember) were wonderful and that truly made for an enjoyable experience.
carol p.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Hyannis, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy one of our loft suites! Melissa is a 'gem" and thank you for your special mention of her! We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstable, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our family ended up getting the last two available rooms during the blizzard here on the Cape this year and thank goodness we did! We were without power for four days, so this became our second home. We had referred many people here over the years, including most who traveled here for our wedding, but had never stayed ourselves. The staff was fantastic, really going above and beyond to make us comfortable. Jessica at the front desk was truly amazing. She was super attentive, while keeping very patient and fielding what must have been hundreds of calls regarding room availability. She stayed calm , was very friendly and helpful guiding others who didn't have a place to go of available shelters. Top notch customer service from her and in a world that seems to be lacking just that, she was a smiling, breath of fresh air.

Rooms were clean and updated, but didn't filter noise well. We. Would hear people walking and talking in the hallways clearly, so if you're a light sleeper, I'd make sure they are aware so they can put you in a quiet spot.

Great little bar with average food (stick to the basics - we're giving them a break, a few things had to be sent back, but 'm sure they were short staffed due to the storm) and a good drink selection. We didn't visit the restaurant due to it being used to feed the emergency crews, but did enjoy a good breakfast overlooking the pool area.

Didn't use the pool, but it looked nice enough.

Being from here, I can vouch for the location and reasonable price (The Cape Codder is very close by and more pricey). You are close to shopping, dining, movies and more. Plus directly across from Cookes Seafood, which is always delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Hyannis, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you very much for writing and for your kind words. We are happy that we were able to provide you with the comforts of home (with room service and maid service! :) during the storm. Thank you also for referring us to your friends and family over the years - we really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had an appointment with a customer in Hyannis and booked a stay at this HI location. I have stayed in probably 100 different Intercontinental Hotels over the past five years. They are normally all the same. The location of the hotel is very convenient. The room was nothing special. It had a leather chair which was pretty comfortable. The bed was actually quite nice. The pillows were good too. The bathroom was a little small overall but had a nice sized shower. Although I didn't swim, there is a very good sized indoor swimming pool. The front desk people were very nice at check-in and check-out. For the price it was right. Don't know if I would stay here on a vacation, but it definitely served the business-stay-over need.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Hyannis, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks so much for writing! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here in order to serve as support team for a family member running the marathon. The room we were assigned was so small, there wasn't enough floor space beyond the beds to put our luggage down without tripping over it on the way to the bathroom. The beds were also very small -- so short that my feet were hanging off the end, and too narrow for two people to share comfortably. There was a no-smoking policy in the hotel, but we kept smelling whiffs of cigarette smoke in the room. The walls between the rooms were so thin, we could hear whole conversations next door, and the people staying there were making noise as late as 2 in the morning. The heater in our room was also horribly noisy. The pool seemed like the nicest feature of the hotel -- one of the bigger indoor pools I've seen -- but there were 30 kids in it when I was ready to go for a swim. I have no complaints about the service we received or about the cleanliness of the room, but it failed to provide one of the most basic things one should get at a hotel -- a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: I have no idea how one can choose a good room here other than the old caveat that you probably get w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Hyannis, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience via TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that your guestroom did not meet your needs and that you experienced a noise issue coming from the adjoining room. We know our guests deserve a comfortable and restful stay and we sincerely regret this was not your experience. We will share your feedback with our overnight security staff as we work to continually improve the guest experience at our property. We do offer a variety of room types that might have been better suited to your requirements and hope you will consider staying with us and letting us know how we are doing should you be back in town again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel to get away from the City for a couple of days. It was close to everything, malls, restaurants, etc. Even though we got snowed in we had no problems staying at the Hotel because it has an indoor pool and a bar. We didn't get in the pool but looked like the kids were having a blast, we did end up at the bar on Saturday night were the bartender was very pleasant and nice. Great place to stay for the money.
Cons: rugs on floor need to be replaced, and the Wi-fi doesn't work in the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Hyannis, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your Cape Cod getaway! Our central location does make us very convenient to area shopping, dining and attractions. Glad you had a good stay with us and we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again! p.s. we hadn't heard of any problems with wifi in the back of the hotel - but will certainly look into it. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hyannis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hyannis

Address: 1127 Iyannough Rd, Hyannis, MA 02601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hyannis
#7 Family Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hyannis 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Cape Cod, Massachusetts. Located on Cape Cod Hyannis, MA, home of the JFK Memorial. The Holiday Inn Cape Cod Hyannis Hotel, is conveniently located to US-6 and Route 132. The hotel is 5 minutes from Barnstable Regional Airport (HYA). This beautiful property is located between Cape Cod Bay and Nantucket Sound. We are surrounded by breathtaking views, historic charm and fine dining. Only minutes from Hyannis which boasts the area's largest concentration of businesses, shops, restaurants, and entertainment spots. In the main street and waterfront district you'll find Hyannis Harbor, the Village Green, the JFK Hyannis Museum, the JFK Memorial Park, and much more. This contemporary, stylish hotel offers 196 spacious guest rooms where you may select from a king, or two double beds. Special in-room amenities include complimentary wireless high-speed Internet, 27-inch television, movie channels, in room games and in room safe. Bi-level, Jacuzzi suites are also available. The Holiday Inn Cape Cod Hyannis Hotel features full meeting facilities, 24-hour fitness center, indoor pool, business services, lounge and restaurant. Hyannis hosts a variety of attractions including; Craigville Beach, Kalmus Beach, Orrin Keyes Beach, Veterans Beach, JFK Memorial, John F. Kennedy Hyannis Museum, golf courses, Cape Cod Central Railroad, and Hyannis Whale Watcher Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Hyannis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hyannis Hotel Hyannis
Hyannis Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hyannis Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hyannis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.