We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hyannis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hyannis to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hyannis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1127 Iyannough Rd, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here in order to serve as support team for a family member running the marathon. The room we were assigned was so small, there wasn't enough floor space beyond the beds to put our luggage down without tripping over it on the way to the bathroom. The beds were also very small -- so short that my feet were hanging off the end, and too narrow for two people to share comfortably. There was a no-smoking policy in the hotel, but we kept smelling whiffs of cigarette smoke in the room. The walls between the rooms were so thin, we could hear whole conversations next door, and the people staying there were making noise as late as 2 in the morning. The heater in our room was also horribly noisy. The pool seemed like the nicest feature of the hotel -- one of the bigger indoor pools I've seen -- but there were 30 kids in it when I was ready to go for a swim. I have no complaints about the service we received or about the cleanliness of the room, but it failed to provide one of the most basic things one should get at a hotel -- a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: I have no idea how one can choose a good room here other than the old caveat that you probably get w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Hyannis, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience via TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that your guestroom did not meet your needs and that you experienced a noise issue coming from the adjoining room. We know our guests deserve a comfortable and restful stay and we sincerely regret this was not your experience. We will share your feedback with our overnight security staff as we work to continually improve the guest experience at our property. We do offer a variety of room types that might have been better suited to your requirements and hope you will consider staying with us and letting us know how we are doing should you be back in town again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    144
    66
    30
    13
See reviews for
118
134
13
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel to get away from the City for a couple of days. It was close to everything, malls, restaurants, etc. Even though we got snowed in we had no problems staying at the Hotel because it has an indoor pool and a bar. We didn't get in the pool but looked like the kids were having a blast, we did end up at the bar on Saturday night were the bartender was very pleasant and nice. Great place to stay for the money.
Cons: rugs on floor need to be replaced, and the Wi-fi doesn't work in the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Hyannis, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your Cape Cod getaway! Our central location does make us very convenient to area shopping, dining and attractions. Glad you had a good stay with us and we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again! p.s. we hadn't heard of any problems with wifi in the back of the hotel - but will certainly look into it. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brookfield Ma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

For a chain hotel we were pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of every one of the staff that we came in contact with. There was a nor'easter forecast for the weekend so we drove down early and hoped to be checked in earlier than the 3 o'clock check in. We arrived around 1230 and went straight to the hotel because of the bad weather. I was pleasantly surprised when they said they had a room ready for us...the young man at the desk told me the hotel was very busy because of a youth hockey tournament at the cape that weekend. There was a problem with the key cards not working which was fixed promptly by 2 very cheerful maintenance men who said they were working there the entire weekend because of the bad weather and the hockey and said the weekend before was full of Nstar people working to restore power on the cape and by displaced people with no power...they said they were the only hotel with power that weekend. The room was nicely recently redecorated and the bathroom was all marble and mirrors. The next day Sunday the weather was too bad to go out so we opted for the breakfast buffet in the restaurant on site...Again we were very impressed with the delicious food and reasonable price. At lunch time we were able to walk right next door to the Olive Garden for lunch, there are many restaurants right in the area. An in room movie (great selection PPV) for the afternoon was just the thing to spend a snowy afternoon and in the evening we went to the lounge for a drink and a "Plain Old Hamburger" as it was described on the menu...an excellent choice! I was pretty skeptical about ordering anything in the lounge but this was the best burger I've had in a long time! The rooms are pretty small and the heater kept us awake with constant blowing of cold air and the lobby was cold because of the blowing snow. The pool and hot tub area were very comfortable. All in all a very pleasant experience!

Room Tip: Spend a little more and get a loft room with a hot tub and deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Hyannis, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations in such a positive way! We like to think that we could share that old catch phrase "try us, you'll like us"! p.s. thanks for your room tip regarding our loft suites - they are definitely a nice option for families or for those individuals desiring some extra space and amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights on a visit from England to visit family on Cape Cod.
The hotel, staff and location far exceeded our expectations. The location is great, with plenty of restaurants within a very close distance. Cape Cod Mall is only a couple of minutes drive away.
Our visit coincided with the big winter snow storm of 2013! All of the staff went out of their way to look after us during this exceptional event with good humour! A truly great bunch of people - thank you!
We only had one meal in the hotel and were very happy with it.
The pool area looked great, although we didn't make use of it on this visit.
We were upgraded to a loft suite. This was wonderful. Loads of room for the 3 of us and the jacuzzi was brilliant!
We honestly can not fault anything. There is no question that we will return here on our next visit to the Cape - hopefully, next time with more favourable weather!
Thanks again!
The Winters Family.

Room Tip: The loft suites are fantastic. Loads of space split over 2 floors with your own jacuzzi and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Hyannis, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Wow! We so appreciate you sharing your wonderful comments regarding recent stay with us. We couldn't be happier to hear that you enjoyed a "fantastic stay" and thought us to be an "excellent hotel"! What more could we ask for! Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Holiday Inn Cape Cod in Hyannis has provided terrific service and accommodations. More specifically, the head of Guest Service - Jessica Pandit - was exceptional in her support of my senior parents who were displaced from their home unexpectedly as a result of a severe storm and power outages. While we feel lucky to have found a place to to take them in, we feel even more lucky for the above-and-beyond welcoming atmosphere. I truly felt relieved that my folks were in such fabulous hands. Honestly, great to know the Holiday Inn supports it's community. Kudos to the the staff and Jessica.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Hyannis, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so pleased to hear that we were able to provide a comfortable "home away from home" for your senior parents during the recent blizzard. Thank you also for your special mention of Jessica - she really is an asset to our team and it is so nice that you recognized her efforts via TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Front desk staff (Melissa) was outstanding. She honestly rivaled any premium grade hotel experience (seriously!). She was kind, attentive, and PRO-Active in her approach. She asked for my preference of floor and among many wonderful things, she proactively asked if I was flying out in the morning. I was and she quickly pointed out that I could print out my boarding pass for free in the Business Center.

The in-house dining option was equally fantastic!! If you're a member of the Priority Club, receive a coupon at check-in for a free cup of Excellent clam chowder (it was as good as Legal Seafood's at BOS airport). The room was nicely appointed with a large flat screen, marble bathroom that was clean, along with tidy and comfortable bed. Importantly, the bed was good as well as offering labeled pillows of soft or hard firmness.

Rich in the restaurant is a great guy. He quickly whips up drinks, and promptly brings prepared dishes. I was relieved to see that the food selections were very reasonably priced!! Most of the menu under 15 dollars for entrees [a great value considering nearby eateries on Main Street are almost double that price and the quality, again - good! I recommend the Burger Benedict - AND DON'T PASS UP THE EXCELLENT CLAM CHOWDER!

This property embraces what we look for as travelers - Warm, Attentive, Courteous Service Consistently combined with nice rooms and good location (Just moments from the Hyannis airport and on Main Street). I will be staying with the Holiday Inn again on my next trip to Hyannis.

Room Tip: It depends on the traveler - overall, the hotel is quiet and my room was on the back of the hotel, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Hyannis, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for writing and for sharing your terrific comments! We will be sure to pass along your wonderful comments about Melissa and Rich. We're so glad that you enjoyed your experience with us - especially coming from a seasoned traveler - and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Hyannis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had the pleasure to spend a couple a days with you folks this past weekend with my family, and i have to tell you that we've had an amazing time...

From the warm welcome, to the connecting rooms,( very confortable and spacious ), we couldn't have asked for more.
Ms. Jessica Pandit, ( Dir. of guest services ), that i've had the pleasure to meet in my previous stay was phenomenal. She completely made sure that our stay was going to be a memorable one. Very professional, very detail oriented, she just put our lives at ease throughout our entire stay. You can definitely be proud that you have a staff, that goes above and beyond to make sure that every guest is taking care and provide everyone with amazing stays...

I would also would like to give props to housekeeping for the wonderful job cleaning our rooms, and most certainly "Sir Richard", (as i call him), from the Bar/Lounge, for the friendly service, specially in such a slow season, he was a perfect gentleman on Sunday evening times the Patriots Game.

We're looking forward to our next visit to the Holiday Inn Hyannis, and once again congratulations for such an amazing staff and an awesome hotel...

Room Tip: The two floor suites are awesome, speacially in the Summer, because they offer a fantastic patio on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Hyannis, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Terrific!! How nice of you to share your wonderful comments about our property and to recognize the hard work and efforts of Jessica and "Sir Richard"! Thanks also for sharing your tip about our loft suites - our guests really do enjoy the two levels and balcony that these suites offer. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hyannis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hyannis

Address: 1127 Iyannough Rd, Hyannis, MA 02601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hyannis 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Cape Cod, Massachusetts. Located on Cape Cod Hyannis, MA, home of the JFK Memorial. The Holiday Inn Cape Cod Hyannis Hotel, is conveniently located to US-6 and Route 132. The hotel is 5 minutes from Barnstable Regional Airport (HYA). This beautiful property is located between Cape Cod Bay and Nantucket Sound. We are surrounded by breathtaking views, historic charm and fine dining. Only minutes from Hyannis which boasts the area's largest concentration of businesses, shops, restaurants, and entertainment spots. In the main street and waterfront district you'll find Hyannis Harbor, the Village Green, the JFK Hyannis Museum, the JFK Memorial Park, and much more. This contemporary, stylish hotel offers 196 spacious guest rooms where you may select from a king, or two double beds. Special in-room amenities include complimentary wireless high-speed Internet, 27-inch television, movie channels, in room games and in room safe. Bi-level, Jacuzzi suites are also available. The Holiday Inn Cape Cod Hyannis Hotel features full meeting facilities, 24-hour fitness center, indoor pool, business services, lounge and restaurant. Hyannis hosts a variety of attractions including; Craigville Beach, Kalmus Beach, Orrin Keyes Beach, Veterans Beach, JFK Memorial, John F. Kennedy Hyannis Museum, golf courses, Cape Cod Central Railroad, and Hyannis Whale Watcher Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hyannis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hyannis Hotel Hyannis
Hyannis Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hyannis Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hyannis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.