We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very homey place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyannis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
319 Sea Street, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hyannis B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“very homey place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

we stayed at Saltwinds on a very, very rainy September weekend and although the weather couldn´t have been much worse, we truly enjoyed our stay.
Ginny and Craig make you feel absolutely welcome and have loads of great advice of things to do in the area, the sweet or savory breakfast (different every day) definitely helps you getting started and ready for the day.
We did a day trip to Nantucket, which was beautiful even in the grey weather and Ginny gave us a ride to the ferry terminal.
The rooms are very comfy and the whole place felt very "Cape Codish" to me.
also, in comparison to other places in the area, it´s very cheap and a great find, we´d definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    8
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
71
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at Saltwinds B & B for one night on our way to Nantucket and we are very happy that we did. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable, with a cottagey charm that made us feel quite at home. The location, in a lovely residential area, is perfect and it's an easy walk or bike ride to restaurants and shops.
Craig and Ginny are wonderful hosts who provide a delicious breakfast, great coffee, and lots of tips on where to eat and what to do in the area. They were especially helpful to us in a minor crisis, as we returned from our visit to Nantucket to find the battery in our car had died. They went beyond the call, first trying to fix the problem themselves, then stepping up to expedite service from AAA and making sure we were safely on our way. While we waited, Craig kept us entertained with his fascinating stories and offered us refreshments to help us keep our cool on that warm day. Thank you, Ginny & Craig. We were very impressed with your kindness and look forward to our next stay at Saltwinds.
Laurel & John

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conroybaxter, Owner at Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and we are happy to see you arrived home safe and sound. Thankfully it was a minor problem with the car and it didn't ruin your hard earned holiday. We thank you for selecting to stay at Salt Winds and look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.
All our best
Ginny & Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, IL
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This was our second stay at the Saltwinds B&B. Ginny and Craig are lovely hosts who have lots of great recommendations for the area. Loved our room that graced the back yard and had a deck for hanging out. Will have to remember our swimsuits next time to enjoy the pool. Breakfasts are always hardy with plenty to eat. Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conroybaxter, Owner at Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you both very much for staying with us again. Brady and Bo especially loved the doggie treats, they are very spolied. We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday and the weather even held out for you. Karen & Jim you are part of the Salt Winds family for sure. I am sure your pups were happy to see you home :)
Thank you again
Ginny & Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Hyannis and absolutely loved "Saltwinds B&B"! Ginny and Craig were so helpful to us in finding activities, restaurants, etc..., and even provided transportation! We felt as though we had 2 new friends who were wanting to make our stay comfortable and stress-free. The accomodations were very clean, wonderful and relaxing, especially the front porch. The little store down the street was very close and convenient, and it was a short walk to the beach! The main street is far enough away for quiet nights, but is close enough to walk to the numerous shops, restaurants, etc... The breakfast was the best we'd ever experienced at a B and B, even giving a gluten-free option! We will return here for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conroybaxter, Owner at Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you both for staying with us, we enjoyed your company and very happy to hear you had a good time. Hope you found the remainder of your holiday relaxing and enjoyable. Once again we appreciate your choosing us.
All our best
Giiny,Craig,Amy & Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We've just returned from a fantastic holiday in the USA, for 4 days we stayed at the wonderful Salt winds. The owners, Ginny and Craig, are the most hospitable people I have ever met which comes naturally to them as they are both very natural with people.
The rooms are beautiful and cleaned every day and the breakfast is amazing. The hospitality starts here, with a daily change of breakfast which Ginny happily adapted to suit my difficult dietary needs. Whilst you decide on one of the amazing activities to do that day, you are advised and helped to make any reservations you may need to through their local knowledge. We had a hire car with us, but if you don't have transport they will happily drop you anywhere you need to go.
In the evenings there is plenty to do on the Cape but one our favourite things was spending the night at Salt Winds, eating fresh fish which we BBQed on the grill supplied.
The whole atmosphere is friendly. It stems to those staying there as we relaxed and chatted to other residents either over breakfast, by the pool or with dinner in the BBQ. Everyone loved it there.

Thank you Ginny, Craig and team for our favourite part of our 2 week trip. We felt like part of your fabulous family, which was a privilege.

We will definitely be back one day! Lots of love, Lisa and Kevin xxxx

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conroybaxter, Owner at Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you Lisa & Kevin; It was our pleasure having you stay with us. I know while there are many other options we are thankful you chose us. It was fun chatting and having a glass of wine with you both and Emma & Barry. We so love our business and truly get excited when new guests get to enjoy all the Cape has to offer. Thank you Ginny & Craig, Amy & Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomazzo, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed 2 night at Saltwinds in August 2012 and it was a really nice experience.
The rooms are very nice, each room has its colours and each detail is in the same nuance.
I really liked the breakfast, freshly made each morning.
Ginny and Craig were very helpful with their suggestions and we really spent a very nice time with them.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conroybaxter, Owner at Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Alessia it was a pleasure meeting you all and chatting about Italy, hopefully we will make over one of these days, when we do we will be sure to look you up. Glad you enjoyed your trip to America and hopefully the remainder of your holiday went smoothly.
Thanks again form all of here at Salt Winds
Ginny, Craig, Amy & Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have stayed at other B & B's in Hyannis, but so far this is our favorite. We stayed a week (7/28-8/4).Ginny and Craig are delightful innkeepers. The Inn is close to a small beach or you can walk up to Main Street (it's a mere 5-7 minute stroll). Craig is happy to pick folks up and give tours. Ginny makes yummy breakfasts (the strawberry french toast was my favorite) and keeps things running smoothly. Our room was in the back - the room was very clean (yay) and comfortable (tho my back requires a mattress a bit firmer, but it was ok for the week). There are tables and chairs throughout the property for all to enjoy - and all who were there during our stay respected times (translation: there was no loud talking at night or during coming and goings). We enjoyed the small deck with a table and chairs out back during a couple of hot, muggy nights (there is AC in the rooms). After all our outings (Provinctown Whale Watch with Dolphin Fleet - best around in my opinion and Craig made our reservations, Monomoy Seal excursion, Cahoon Hallow Beach, Brazilian Grill, The Black Cat, shopping, ect) it was nice to just sit and enjoy the grounds and the pool. I think I should work for CC Chamber of Commerce...lol...We met some delightful people during our stay. Thanks Ginny and Craig...we hope to return in the fall.

Room Tip: Ask about shower size...Shower was small so if you are a larger person you may be uncomfortable. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conroybaxter, Owner at Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
It was a pleasure meeting you both and happy you enjoyed your stay. Ye showers are stall size but in old house and providing private baths can sometimes be a challenge. Thank you for your input
All our best
Ginny & Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast

Address: 319 Sea Street, Hyannis, MA 02601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All private baths,air,full breakfast,pool,parking. Apartments available, sleeps 4-5 people, full kitchen weekly rates available. Walk to beach and town, grill,use of beach chairs,umbrellas and beach towels. Let us help you plan your vacation, local knowledge on the best beaches,eateries and shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saltwinds Hotel Hyannis
Saltwinds Bed And Breakfast
Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.