We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catholic Church” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Francis Xavier Church

St. Francis Xavier Church
347 South St, Hyannis, MA 02601
508 775 0818
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 30 things to do in Hyannis
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Summer church of the Kennedy's
Winchester, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Catholic Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We love this little church. Lots of masses. Several masses in other languages. Darling place. Lovely priests.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    14
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnstable, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Small Town Church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Too many people vist St. Francis expecting something like a movie set. It's just one of our many local RC churches. Not spectacular, not flashy. It is a quiet place, a comfortable place, a place to sit and think or pray.

Yes, the Kennedy worshiped here, were baptized here, were married here and probably were buried from here too. If you want flash, it's not here.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auvers-sur-Oise, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disgusted”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Better to consider this a tourist attraction.A church it should not be.

We were unfortunate to choose this church for my father's funeral.We were told that
there would be no eulogy allowed even though OTHER people had been allowed to in the past.
The hymns chosen were not played and we were only to learn of this at the funeral.
Then the officiating priest asked me at communion if I was a catholic.
Horrible experience to say the least.
If you are looking at this as a church to attend look again.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“An unexpected pleasure; proof that the Kennedys were "real" people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were not sure that we'd be able to go into the church, but luckily, we were able to do so. We had a large group, but the church was ready for us. The docent delivered a detailed narrative about the history of the church and its relationship with the Kennedy family through the years.
I sat in the exact spot where President Kennedy used to sit! This church is really beautiful inside & out. Take the time to visit!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not What I Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This little church known for Kennedy weddings is not as grand as I expected it to be. Just a small town church without much curb appeal

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Francis Xavier Church also viewed

 

Been to St. Francis Xavier Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Francis Xavier Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.