We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alberto's Ristorante

Alberto's Ristorante
Main Street, Hyannis, MA 02601-3904
508-778-1770
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Alberto's Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 177 Restaurants in Hyannis
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Alberto's Ristorante was established in 1984 at which time, Northern Italian cuisine and fresh homemade pasta were introduced to Cape Cod for the first time. Since then, we have continued this tradition of all fresh ingredients and in-house preparation of every course from the soups to the desserts. Our reputation for casual elegance arises from our emphasis on decor, service, the pride we take in food preparation, and our affordability. Over the years, we have received rave reviews from food critics from the Cape Cod Times, The Boston Globe, The Boston Herald, Cape Cod Life Magazine, Fodor's, AAA, and New York Times critic James Beard for "...exquisite Northern Italian cuisine". Our lounge is the perfect setting for a before dinner cocktail, an after dinner espresso, or an even more casual meal. .
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We've been here several times. The food is consistently great and there's a wonderful wine selection. The decor is nice. the restaurant is located is a quaint little area of Cape Cod; it's perfect for strolling.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    101
    42
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bourne, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Last Minute with Nice Lasting Impression”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was the restaurant we chose to celebrate our anniversary which is also on New Year's Eve. We called multiple restaurants in the lower Cape area but all were totally booked or doing ridiculously priced Prix Fixe menus. So we came across Alberto's...they had an open reservation and we just decided to take it so we weren't left sitting at home.

They were very accommodating with our table choice. They let us choose between table and booth even though the restaurant was very busy. Our waiter was very attentive and helpful with suggestions. We ordered a bottle of wine which they let us taste first. Then, halfway through our first glass the waiter came by the table to refill for us. Most places don't do that so I thought it was a nice touch.

Appetizers were so flavorful and clever. We had the gnocchi sorrentina for an app and expected normal size gnocchi but they were handmade, tiny and a delicious broth-like sauce. We practically licked the bowl. Bruschetta was also delicious and unique. It had a layer of pesto and red onion in addition to the classic tomato/basil topping.

Our meals were good. Not as good as the appetizers but still good. We stayed for about 2 hours and enjoyed each other's company and conversation. Despite the place being very busy it wasn't loud and we weren't on top of other tables.

All in all, we'd definitely go back again. They did a nice job on a very busy night of the year when they are crazy busy so they must be even better on an average day.

Good for romantic evenings/couples, girlfriends, families...really a place for anyone who enjoys good food and service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I love this restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have eaten at Alberto's Ristorante many times. I brought my mother and my two adult daughters for their first visit to this restaurant for a Holiday meal. The selections on the menu a numerous and varied. We each tried different appetizers and different entrees with satisfaction except one-the gnocchi was awful. The cannelloni was very good and the house salad is sweet and delicious! The restaurant is nicely decorated. The host who seated us should be fired--he is unfriendly, unkempt in appearance, and neglectful (no greeting, walked right past us as we waited for service to be seated). I've come across him at previous visits and I just don't know why this otherwise good restaurant keeps him in employment. We were there for dinner on Monday, December 23-not a busy night. Our waiter was very attentive and friendly (to balance the host?).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osterville, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We were very disappointed with our meals and the service at lunch. We we're seated immediately and place our drink order. A second staff person served our drinks and then we waited...and waited. My husband had to get up and go to the back of the resturant and ask if they forgot about us! They came and took our dinner order and again.....we waited and waited. I joked that they must have ran out of the ingredents and went out to shop! I ordered the Chicken Zingarella which was missing the artichoke hearts which was stated on the menu. Very bland. My husband had the Sinatra which was just ok. The whole terrible experience took about an hour an a half. There were only 4 tables taken so it wasn't that they were to busy with the holiday season. They shouldn't be open to the lunch crowd if they aren't interested in serving them. Over rated. We won't go back.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felis B, Owner at Alberto's Ristorante, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
I am truly sorry for your unpleasant lunch experience with us. The wait is not supposed to be that long and I apologize for the inconvenience. We strive for excellence at both lunch and dinner service hours. I hope you will give us another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osterville, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very Good Italian Cuisine in Hyannis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

It is a very dependable and reliable Italian cuisine in down town Hyannis and the food and service are both good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alberto's Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Alberto's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alberto's Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.