We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alberto's Ristorante

Alberto's Ristorante
360 Main St, Hyannis, MA 02601-3904
508-778-1770
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Alberto's Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 168 restaurants in Hyannis
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Alberto's Ristorante was established in 1984 at which time, Northern Italian cuisine and fresh homemade pasta were introduced to Cape Cod for the first time. Since then, we have continued this tradition of all fresh ingredients and in-house preparation of every course from the soups to the desserts. Our reputation for casual elegance arises from our emphasis on decor, service, the pride we take in food preparation, and our affordability. Over the years, we have received rave reviews from food critics from the Cape Cod Times, The Boston Globe, The Boston Herald, Cape Cod Life Magazine, Fodor's, AAA, and New York Times critic James Beard for "...exquisite Northern Italian cuisine". Our lounge is the perfect setting for a before dinner cocktail, an after dinner espresso, or an even more casual meal. .
West Yarmouth, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Alberto's has a lovely atmosphere and impecable service. The food is not quite as good as the setting, but it is a nice place to celebrate an occasion or for a romantic dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    117
    73
    32
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Barnstable, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“If it's Italian Food your after, this isn't the place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Went in for dinner around 8:45pm, host not very welcoming, server was friendly and very helpful. Restaurant not very busy and ambiance was average. They had a special for a 3 course meal which included a bottle of wine for $29.00 per person, we started with the fish soup and a salad followed by the Saltimboca and my guest had a shrimp pasta dish, both of which we didn't finish. Main dish had no flavor at all and presentation wasn't very imaginative. After three visits I would not recommend this place, needs a lot of improvement in the kitchen and more work on making the guest feel welcomed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always treated like a king!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We found Alberto's during a summer vacation at least 10 years ago. We have a large (boisterous) party, now numbering 22. We always make an early weekday reservation, take one of their more private areas, and stay about 2 hours. Unlike most other Cape restaurants, our reservation is always honored and our table is set before we arrive. In fact, if one of the owners takes my call, they will often remember me by my voice from the previous summer. The food is always fresh and delicious. Our service has been great to fabulous. We always make it once during our week, but often return for a second trip once we remember how well they treat us. I love the Seafood Alberto, but the Lobster Fra Diavolo for two is out of this world. We have tried every single dish on the menu. We have never found a bad one. Don't tell Felize I told you, but they will make a special order dish if you ask nicely. The wine list is deep and reasonably priced. The desserts, if you have room, are to die for. My favorite, the Heath Bar Pie. But try the chocolate mousse too. Personally, I look forward to my visit for weeks in advance. I cannot explain the occasional reviewers who had anything but a fabulous meal. The boisterous party next room may have been ours!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A sure-fire standby on Main Street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

A friend and I were looking for lunch on the weekend after Thanksgiving, and only Alberto's was open on this end of Main Street. As always, it was very good. Nicely prepared, authentic Italian food, friendly staff, reasonable prices.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis Port, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“going way downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Let me start by saying my wife and i have been going to Albertos for 15 years now. Not sure whats been happening but the food and service has been gradually going downhill getting worse the last year.
We went for lunch yesterday i got the veal parm. It was Disgusting . Must have been the worse grade of veal u can buy. So tough i coudnt chew it. had to cut in small bites with knife. My wife got the Italian
Quesidilla it was terrible ,bread was cold they didnt heat it just threw it in a wrap and served it . Had to eat it with a knife and fork.Couldn;t pick it up because the bread was so full of grease.We have decided that there are much better Italian restaurants on Cape Cod instead of Albertos in the future.
Such as Amari;s and IL Maistro and Buccas. It;s a shame Albertos years ago was great .

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alberto's Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Alberto's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alberto's Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.