We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster nite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Roadhouse Cafe

The Roadhouse Cafe
488 South Street, Hyannis, MA 02601
+1 508-775-2386
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 177 Restaurants in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our menu offers everything from native seafood dishes, such as cioppino and blackened swordfish, to Italian specialties and pasta dishes, and a variety of choice steaks. If you're looking for a lighter bite, look no further than our Bistro where we offer salads, sandwiches and thin-crust gourmet pizzas in addition to our full dinner menu. A carefully culled wine list, 20 of which are available by the glass, and nearly 30 beer selections round it all out. House-made desserts, espresso and cappuccino are the perfect ending to a perfect evening at the Roadhouse Cafe. Whether it's a romantic dinner for two or a private party of 150, let the Roadhouse Cafe make your evening a memorable one.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lobster nite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Arrived by taxi the reception at the restaurant was friendly and very wellcoming. the staff expertly and knowledgeable . we ordered our lobsters one each just plainly cooked with salad a J.P. and followed by cheesecake . the food was great . Can Highly recommended

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    83
    26
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nr Guildford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Had to write a review ! Food was incredible, the best chowder we had, and we tried a few on our holiday ! Beautiful decor, and enjoyed the live jazz as well as the entrees which were delicious. Would highly recommend this restaurant and it's sister "The Black Cat" in the harbour if visiting Hyannis - especially with the $10 off voucher that can be found in your hotel !

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We recently returned to the Roadhouse to celebrate a special occasion. As always the food was excellent and plentiful. My husband and I each had a different seafood entree, and both were cooked to perfection. We asked for several substitutions, and were accommodated without hesitation'. We live on Cape Cod and this has always been a favorite dine out. Kim was our server and she made sure that our 49th anniversary was very special. Thanks Kim.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Looking forward to a return visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful dinner at the Roadhouse. Everything here was A-One. The service was wonderful; the atmosphere was homey yet upscale; and the food was delicious! I think this was the best chowder I had on the cape - and I liked most that I had. Others in our party enjoyed the oysters, clams, lobster and swordfish as well. After a week of seafood, I thoroughly enjoyed the short ribs, which were tender and delicious. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is by far my favorite restaurant in Cape Cod. I come every year and order the same entree...scallops in a newberg sauce topped with cracker crumbs. I hated taking the last forkful.My husband loved the blackened sword fish as well. It is upscale for the Cape but sometimes you just want a classy dining experience. This is it. In the winter time there is a roaring fire in the bar area and it is cozy and romantic. The service was excellent and the ambience is just what I want. On Mondays there is jazz music with a "dining on" piano bar. You will not be disappointed here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roadhouse Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Roadhouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roadhouse Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.