We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we'd expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hearth 'n Kettle Hyannis

Hearth 'n Kettle Hyannis
Rte 132 & Bearse's Way, Cape Codder Resort & Spa, Hyannis, MA 02601
508 771 3000
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 168 restaurants in Hyannis
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not what we'd expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having eaten at the Hearth 'n Kettle in Weymouth and liking it we stopped here on our way home from a day trip on the Cape. The atmosphere was ok and we were shown to our booth immediately. We each ordered "hot" tea as our drink. It arrived and was not the least bit hot was left. I can't imagine how a restaurant (any restaurant) that specializes in breakfast cannot give a patron a hot cup of tea. It is always because they can't give you boiling water, always tepid and no good for tea. The only place we got hot tea regularly was at Waffle House in the South and the Spring Street Cafe in West Roxbury. The food I ordered was also lukewarm and blah (Linguine and meatballs). Desert was fine but our server couldn't tell us the makeup of one of them describing it as 'indian pudding, you know' - yes, we did.

Wouldn't go here again, but Weymouth is fine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

48% Recommend
    29
    34
    37
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Corning, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We enjoyed the food and the service was exceptional. The wait staff was not only polite, but a pleasure to talk to.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
“Long Time Server (Brad) Is Why We Return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

There are many places on The Cape that have good food, and H&K is certainly one of them. We have been going there for over a decade, and the thing that makes us go the extra mile to return to the the Hyannis H&K is a server named Brad. Brad always makes you feel welcome, and sees to it that every meal is exactly the way that you want it. He always wishes us a great vacation on the Cape, and invites us back the next time we are in town. We only get to The Cape a few times each year, and we have a few "must" things that we do every time. Because of Brad, eating at the Hyannis H&K is one of them. Every time. See you soon!!! Did I mention the food is good too?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We got vouchers to eat at the Hearth 'n Kettle as part of a "Suite Deal" package at the Cape Codder, and we were very disappointed. The best part of the breakfast was the hash browns - similar to what you would find at McDonalds. From the freezer to the fry-o-lator, these were hard to screw up. OK, that's not fair, the toast was good too.

The omelets, however, were inedible. The eggs didn't seem to be eggs (more likely pasteurized processed egg product from a carton) and the cheese didn't appear to be cheese, either. They had clearly been cooked in a puddle of oil on a grill.

The service was only slightly better than the food. When asked about a simple substitution, our waitress suggested her idea of a substitution, and was befuddled by our desires. We ended up going with her idea (double bacon instead of bacon and sausage) and got three pieces of bacon. Does that mean that we would have gotten 1.5 pieces of bacon if we also had sausage?

In summary, we still have $30 worth of vouchers for this restaurant, and we'll probably give the to one of the hundreds of high-school kids here for a student council convention. But that's a topic for another review.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Exactly what one would expect.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Perfect for breakfast and maybe for lunch, for a couple on a getaway. For dinner....it is perfect for families with kids after spending the day at the wave pool. Not so much for a romantic dinner, but you wouldn't expect that of a family restaurant like this! It delivers precisely what is expected of it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hearth 'n Kettle Hyannis also viewed

 

Been to Hearth 'n Kettle Hyannis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hearth 'n Kettle Hyannis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.