We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Low Numbered Rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
287 Iyannough Road, Hyannis, MA MA 02601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beware of Low Numbered Rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a cute hotel. The bed was OK. The bathroom only had a shower...I'm glad that the kids stayed home. No hot tub on site put a damper on our plans to soak at the end of the day. The fire pit was nice to sit by on a chilly night, but you need to be pretty much on top of it to feel the heat. You are not in walking distance of the downtown area or the better restaurants though. You do need to get into the car to see the town.

I was terribly disappointed with my room location mostly due to the airport across the street. Room 200 is at the front of the building and perhaps the WORST room if you are not a heavy sleeper. On both nights of my stay, I was up way too early because of the planes taking off. You mostly hear small propellers but I did hear a jet on a few occasions. Also, housekeeping didn't make it to our room until at least after 2:30pm and because we came back to relax for the afternoon, they never got into our room for new linens. We had left around 9am that day to give them time to get in here -- it never happened.

Breakfast is OK. If you are a HHonors member, you will get the continental breakfast but it's not much at all. For $4 more, you can upgrade to the hot buffet -- which isn't too bad for the price. If you are paying out of pocket for the whole thing, find somewhere else. The Keltic Kitchen is a nice place and not too far away. There are other, better options to check out than the hotel.

When we checked in, I was surprised that the front desk tried to keep me out of the restaurant. The staff said that they had 6 buses in for a tour and suggested that we go elsewhere. But we didn't see the crowd. Anyway, we were happy to grab take-out from the Black Cat on the first night (45 minute wait for table...so we took it to go) and wandered to Spanky's Clam Shack (which was across the street from the Black Cat and few bucks cheaper) on our second night.

Overall, an average stay. If you aren't spending hours in your room, it works. But again, don't let them put you in a low number room. The better views are in the odd numbered rooms which overlook the courtyard and fire put; even numbers overlook the parking lot.

Room Tip: Stay in an odd and high numbered room. Beware of Room 200...it's noisy. If you need a bathtub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYHI, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for writing and for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us. We do wish that things had gone better for you during your visit, but appreciate hearing your feedback so that we may strive to continually improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    161
    60
    21
    10
See reviews for
145
159
19
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san antonio, texas
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Maybe a notch below the standard for a Hilton product. Old looking, resembling the 2-story Holiday Inns or Howard Johnsons of the 1970s. Did not feel real clean. Most of the carpeting looked worn and dirty.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYHI, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Gosh, we are very sorry to learn of your disappointment. We’re a newly renovated property and although the feedback we receive is generally excellent with respect to hotel cleanliness, we regret that this was not your impression. We will be certain to pass on your comments to our housekeeping and maintenance departments. Thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed for one night and really enjoyed the plush bedding and full buffet breakfast. The staff were really helpful and gave us suggestions for scenic drives and places to eat in the area. And of course it is always great to receive a warm chocolate chip cookie on arrival!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYHI, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you! We’re delighted to read you review (great comment about our beds!) and appreciate that you choose us for your recent stay. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed two nights here as part of a Fall Follage tour. Overall the room and the hotel were well maintained. We enjoyed a great steak dinner in the on site restaurant and truly enjoyed the patio with the fire pit on the chilly evenings. The breakfast buffet was good on the one morning we were able to enjoy it. This brings up my one major complaint- the staff failed to place the requested wake up call and so on one morning we woke up 15 minutes prior to the tour bus departure time. I have to say that the front desk staff seemed fairly indifferent to their oversight, although the restaurant staff rushed around to provide us with coffee and pastries to eat on the bus. The following morning we received 2 wake-up calls. Other than that this hotel was a good value with a decent location.

Room Tip: Take your own alarm clock to this hotel as their wake-up service is unreliable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYHI, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank for your writing. We’re so pleased that you were able to enjoy our hotel and amenities during your stay with us. We do wish to apologize for the missed wake-up call and subsequent handling on our end. We have reviewed your comments with our front office personnel and thank you for candid feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junction City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The staff was very pleasant. The location was very nice and the room was quite nice.The staff was eager to help with all our questions.The hotel was close to most of the nearby attractions. The hotel had a nice restaurant and bar and the food was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYHI, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
How nice of you to write and share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. it sounds like all went very well! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights while we were on a fabulous Caravan tour to the New England states. The rooms were great and they have a fire pit on the terrace that's very inviting on cool nights. The little bar near the lobby is manned by the sweetest little guy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYHI, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
How wonderful to receive your 5 star review! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to spend some time in our courtyard firepit area. We'll let John our bartender know that he made a favorable impression - thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently while on a tour. It was very adequate, but starting to show some wear and tear. Paint was peeling off inside of our room door. Other than that it was a good value and convenient to area attractions. Food in the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYHI, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for writing. We're happy to hear that you found us to be a good value and conveniently located...and we will be sure to pass on your comments about the excellent food to our culinary staff. Sorry about the peeling paint on your guestroom door...we're sorry we missed that and will be sure to rectify!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis

Address: 287 Iyannough Road, Hyannis, MA MA 02601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hyannis
#3 Family Hotel in Hyannis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.