We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regrets” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites / Hyannis

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites / Hyannis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites / Hyannis
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   206 Main St, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Montreal
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Regrets”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

08/29- I will keep the experience at ABVI simple. The rooms had webs in plain sight. The bath tub did not drain properly. The windows did not feel safe and could easily be tampered/broken into.
The breakfast is good. The service, I don’t think that any of the two guys at the front actually have any education in hotel management, as when a Real situation happened, they didn’t know how to take care of it. The only thing they were good for is to tell you where to find the best fish n’ chips.

The real situation that happened is that the 3 night stay of 300$ ended up cost me 6000$ in car damages. As after our full day excursion, we came back to the hotel to find that our car had been hit and to go to the office. Just to go to the office, the person there did not know anything. Another client had hit our car which was parked while we were at Martha’s Vineyard. It was Shifted out of it’s parking spot- two dents, and back bumper almost falling off. As per our home location we need a police report for any damages over 500$, so we asked the employee to call the police station and he didn’t have a clue what number to call, so he called some number which had only an answering machine- obviously it was 11pm. Just dial 911 and they will dispatch the call properly. Anyway the police came and was not sympathetic and did not make the report but siding with the other driver who had hit the car. The other driver said she was really tired driving from Albany and just smashed into our car. The whole time the employee was smirking and smiling… I called him up on it and he said he was not laughing at us.
The next day we went to the police station and the officer said the other cop should have made a report.
Anyway the next day- I asked the employee as checking out, if they can waive my room charge as it was paid upon check in- and he said so heartlessly it’s not the hotels fault with a smirk on his face- no customer service skills or compassion. The insurance will cover the damage, that’s not the point. It could have happened anywhere, but the way the staff dealt with it like shaking their head and smirking is not the kind of service you would find at better hotel chain. They need more speed bumps in the parking lot, as there is only one in the front. And I heard people speeding in there. The parking spots are really tight, and people drinking in the parking lot.
Our vacation was completely ruined after the first day. Have never stayed at ABVI and never will again. I know this hotel will not bankrupt or shut down as we all keep giving them a chance like I did despite the mixed review. There is a lot to be said about customer service skills and mannerism, just know what you are getting yourself into.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    63
    64
    33
    37
See reviews for
61
96
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the start of September and really enjoyed our stay. When we arrived we were surprised to be told we had a free complimentary breakfast. The breakfast was great, waffles, bagels and cereals so a nice surprise for us. The location is great, just up the road from the main street of Hyannis with all the shops, bars and restaurants. The rooms are basic but very, very clean and comfortable. Also get free coffee at reception where the staff are very friendly and helpful!
I would definitely return here again!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I spent two nights at the America's Best at the end of July. My friend and I were traveling up to Boston from NY by bus since it was only $26 dollars round trip! From Boston we took Plymouth- Brockton bus to Hyannis which took a total of 6 hours travel time. I let the front desk know we would be late and they said it would not be any problem. If we would be later then midnight they said we should let them know because they will leave the key for us and we could "check-in" in the morning. They were very accomadating, and easy to work with.
We arrived before midnight and walked the short walk from the bus station in Hyannis to the hotel. Check- in was fast and easy and within minutes we were in our room. When I first walked in the room it was HOT, and I was annoyed! Ok so I turned on the A.C., know big deal. Problem was when after an hour the room was not cooling off, I called front desk to complain. Long story short I should have just been patient, I woke in the middle of the night freezing! But in my defence, it had been a long hot day for us.
After a good night's sleep included in our stay was continental breakfast of bagels, muffins, cereal,eggs, danish, juice, coffe. It was good and saved alot of money. We would grab something to eat and on our way to explore the Cape in know time at all.
It was a great stay, clean room, comfy bed, walking distance to the ferry to Nantucket, shopping along Main street. It was very enjoyable, they even watched our luggage after we checked out so we could go to the JFK Museum before heading home.

Room Tip: A good place to stay for day trip to Nantucket, and exploring this part of the Cape. If you are just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Just came back from 3 days in Cape Cod. Was going to stay at ABVI in Foxboro, MA but read reviews on the hotel and wasn't impressed at all. Shopping at Wrentham Village Premium Outlets & visiting Cape Cod was main reason for going. Got a really good deal on ABVI in Hyannis and liked what I read from other travellers. The hotel is really right in the heart of Cape Cod. Lots of restaurants & shops within walking distance. Within an hour from the Outlets, Boston & the nightlife in Provincetown, but traffic can be crazy, especially during rush hours. The staff at the hotel was very helpful & the rooms were different. Never stayed at a hotel where there were windows on both sides of the room. It was good for us because of the fresh air at night and not the sounds of an noisy air conditioner. Breakfast was ok...just enough to get by, and there is an indoor & outdoor pool. We enjoyed the shower in the bathroom...you can adjust the water pressure from the knob..very unique. Very glad we chose ABVI in Hyannis/Cape Cod and lots of thanks to travellers for their inputs & experiences.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, MA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is the second time we've stayed, as we appreciate the access to the Hyannis beach shuttle and Main Street. We saw a show at the Melody Tent and could easily have biked there (should have done, as our car ended up boxed in). Having a breakfast available helps and saves money - and there is a refrigerator on the room. Breakfast is simple - coffee and juice, cold cereal, bagels, hard-boiled eggs. There's always a line when it opens. The bed was firm and comfortable, but the pillows very flat. They have DirectTV, not cable, so limited TV stations. The wifi was mostly good, but slow when everyone was on it. We had a leaky toilet and had to ask twice to get it fixed. The room was large enough for a table and chairs, so we ate breakfast there. The indoor pool was nice, but the outdoor one was closed when I tried to use it. The grass could use mowing. All in all, pretty clean, comfortable, not expensive, but could be better taken care of.

Room Tip: Second floor room near the back would be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed here for one night this past summer,and it is the second time I've stayed here. We have the typical Saturday to Saturday house rental, and anyone whose gone to the cape on the weekend knows that the bridge traffic is just a horror show on Saturdays - all day. Having tried it both ways - heading down on Saturday or just taking Friday off heading down at our leisure, have found the latter so much a nicer way to kick vacation off. For this reason, the Friday night stay does not warrant 5 star accommodations. It just needs to be (very) clean and also allow a single nights' stay (as most places require a two night stay in season on the cape). For this reason, any triple-A approved inn, hotel or motel that meets these requirements is acceptable. This does that. It meets these requirements. Its "ok", the beds are rather hard, the pillows rather flat, the decor rather dated and it has an overall worn feel to it. But its very clean and the location on the strip on Main Street allows ease as you can just get there, check in, dump the car in the lot, and walk to cocktail and food Friday night and breakfast the next day before vacation really kicks off. Expect to pay top dollar because its Hyannis on season (with fees the online booking with the AAA discount ran ~$160/night,), but that is to be expected. Well worth it to me, as it prevents a cat fight in the car when my other half starts freaking out about the bridge traffic if we go down Saturday. The Hyannis Inn is equal in location, price, age, AAA approved, etc but I think that motel itself is in better shape and I prefer it to this motel. But you gotta take what you can get on the cape for a single night, right? Acceptable accommodations, nothing else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Although the staff was friendly, this motel was not very clean. A lot of dirt spots on the walls. Breakfast was minimal (boiled eggs if you are lucky; bread, eggo waffles and cake-like muffins, coffee and juice). The pool was very dirty as well (we did not swim). Spent as little time as possible in our room.

On the bright side, there is a fridge in the room, which is useful for storing our daily snacks.

We paid $70 per night and I felt it was a ripoff. I would say this motel is worth $50 per night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites / Hyannis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites / Hyannis

Address: 206 Main St, Hyannis, MA 02601
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites / Hyannis 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seasonal Property- Open April 15th thru October 31st, Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Cape Cod is a wonderful 2 floor, 84 guestroom property conveniently located in Hyannis, the heart of beautiful Cape Cod. Our tastefully decorated guestrooms offer modern in-room conveniences and quality amenities for the comfort of our guests. The name says it all - comfortable and quality accommodations at a valued price. Perfect getaway for couples and vacationing families. Relax and enjoy the value. We are centrally located in Downtown Hyannis' "famous Main Street Waterfront District". Our hotel is a short walk to Hyannis Harbor, ferry services to Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket, Cape Cod Scenic Railroad, the Kennedy Memorial, the beautiful beaches, and wonderful Main Street shopping which has waterfront dining. Our inn is the best value for clean and comfortable rooms in Cape Cod. Enjoy our gigantic indoor heated pool and outdoor pool with a sundeck. Guestroom amenities include wireless internet, refrigerators, premium cable TV, telephones, air conditioning, and a complimentary breakfast. You'll find it all at Americas Best Value Inn and Suites. We're right on Main Street in Hyannis, the very heart of the Cape...always close to the sights and sounds that make a visit to this wonderland a perennial joy artists' colonies and museums, stores and charming antique shops, restaurants, movies and summer theaters, churches. Everywhere there are meandering roads and picturesque villages. Nearby are challenging golf courses, boat rentals, and superb fishing facilities. Fine, safe beaches on Lewis Bay and Nantucket Sound are mere moments from our door. One stay and you will come to realize what others already have and what has made Americas Best Value Inn so welcoming for so many. So book with Americas Best Value Inn and Suites in Hyannis today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites / Hyannis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites / Hyannis Hotel Hyannis
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites / Hyannis
Americas Best Value Inn Hyannis
Americas Best Value Inn Hotel
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites / Hyannis Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites / Hyannis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.