We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay for the view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyannis Holiday Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyannis Holiday Motel to your Saves list
Hyannis Holiday Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   131 Ocean Street, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
west yorkshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“You pay for the view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Very basic accomodation. Large airy room but very dated decor. No hair dryer or toiletries and only small towels. we stayed at 7 different hotels this holiday and this was voted the worst simple due to the fact that it has so much potential to be a fab motel but little things let it down. We have to say you are difnaetly paying for the view. Ours over looked the harbour which was beautiful.
Staff were very helpful - they kindly posted on to our hotel in new york a bag we left with a cam corder in it. - many thanks.
would we stay again? - probably,

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    70
    55
    19
    13
See reviews for
56
83
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Hotel was old but very clean. Staff was so helpful when we checked in - gave great recommendations for dining and activities with our kids. Location was ideal - right across from the harbor with restaurants and the ferries, walking distance to the beach and Main Street Hyannis. Would definitely go back and stay there again..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

We were very happy with our stay here. We came down from Maine for a show at the Melody Tent and decided to stay another night. The hotel is very typical of others that you'll find around New Engalnd that were built in the 60's - cheap and cheerful but nothing fancy. The rooms were clean and the view of the harbor was spectacular. The outdoor pool was nice and the folks at the front desk were pleasant and helpful. About all I can think of to complain about is the YMCA quality towels in the bathroom. Hyannis is a wonderful town to visit. A ten minute walk from the hotel brought us either to the closest beach in one direction or Main Street with it's shops and restaurants in the other. We actually would have stayed longer if our daughter didn't need to get back to work. Highly reccomended for the budget minded traveler who doesn't expect the Ritz at a bargain price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

This hotel looks like it has not been updated since the late '60s. So while the location is great down by the waterfront in Hyannis the rest leaves much to be desired. Security was slightly worrisome as the room just had sliding glass doors, so the sun light in the morning was a little tough. Minimal electrical outlets as well as no internet.

While the room was quite large, the bathroom and towels left much to be desired. The in room amentities such as soap and shampoo were of poor quality (packets of shampoo). You had to sign out a hair dryer with the front desk (and return at check out).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany, ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

I recently stayed at the Hyannis Holiday Motel in one of their harbor view double rooms. The room was spotless and had a great view. The staff was extremely nice and helpful and it was an all around wonderful experience. My son loved swimming in both pools and this hotel has the BEST location. Everything is within walking distance, including the beaches and mainstreet. We will definitely be back again next year. The only downside is that it does not have a mini-refrigerator in the room, so pack a cooler if you want cold snacks/beverages with you.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

When we pulled into the parking lot late on a Friday evening in July I was surprised to find it empty. It is high season in Cape Cod, an empty parking lot can not be a good sign. When we opened the door to our room a horrific musty odor came pouring out. The room was clean but the old awful smell was overwhelming, we went to the store to buy Febreeze the next morning. The beds were very uncomfortable. The continental breakfast consisted of boxes of super market donuts. We didn't complain because you get what you pay for but we will NEVER stay here again. Even the owner was unpleasant - maybe he was upset about all the places that were sold out around him.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

The hotel is clean but very dated. Feels like a flashback to the 60s. It is walking distance to most areas of Hyannis. On future trips to Cape Cod I'd stay in another area perhaps Chatham.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyannis Holiday Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyannis Holiday Motel

Address: 131 Ocean Street, Hyannis, MA 02601
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hyannis Holiday Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our magnificent waterfront location on the Ocean Street Docks in Hyannis is the ideal backdrop for a unforgettable Cape Cod vacation getaway for couples and families. Our courteous hospitality, relaxing atmosphere and clean accommodationns are the reasons our repeat customers continue coming back to the Hyannis Holiday Motel for the past 52 years. The Hyannis Holiday Motel, offers waterfront Cape Cod lodging that overlooks the picturesque Hyannis harbor. Our waterfront motel overlooks Hyannis Harbor and is directly across from the Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard Island Ferry boats. Our guests can walk to sandy beaches, restaurants, shops, local attractions and to downtown Hyannis. We are only a short drive away to the Hyannis Whale Watch cruises, Come Explore Cape Cod's Special Treasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hyannis Holiday Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyannis Holiday Hotel Hyannis
Hyannis Holiday Motel Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyannis Holiday Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.