We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Codder Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Codder Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Cape Codder Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1225 Iyannough Road, Route 132 & Bearse's Way, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enchanted Village Package
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
GreenLeadersSilver level
ri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I would recommend this place if you have kids or grand kids . we took our 9 year old granddaughter here and she had a ball in the wave pool and on the water slides. they had a bonfire at night and the kids roasted marshmallows and later they showed a movie. I wouldn't,t go here just for a couples weekend but I would definitely recommend it if you have children. one thing we disliked was the resturant attached The Hearth and Kettle had terrible food

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    257
    147
    64
    74
See reviews for
404
146
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyannis, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed at the Cape Codder Resort for the Goddess Girls Weekend with a group of six very good friends. The resort planned a variety of activities which included themed dinners, wine tasting, shopping and make up demonstrations. There is a full service spa which offers a full variety of services. There was something for everyone. There is a heated salt water pool outdoors which on Saturday night provided a warm relaxing opportunity to socialize and meet others who were staying for the weekend. The was also a psychic medium who offered opportunities to book private readings after a general talk given while we enjoyed a New England style clambake. The hotel rooms are spacious and comfortable. I highly recommend the Cape Codder located in Hyannis.

Room Tip: Upgrade to residence club. The amenities are beautiful.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel is mindful of water conservation offering the opportunity to re use towels in an effort to conserve water.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had two nights at this hotel at the end of a tour of New England. Some features of the decor were rather dated, such as the (I hope) deliberately wonky brick walls and metal railings on the stairs. Shared balconies may not be to everyone's taste either. The hotel layout was n't that clear, but site plans were provided. The room decor was rather old style - could I suggest installing coming and smooth finish ceilings? New rates does not disguise where ceiling leaks have occurred in the past. A clue that the tv was concealed in a wardrobe would have been helpful. Anyway, negatives aside, of the five hotels we stayed in during our tour, this one had the most character, the friendliest staff, the best meals and a great set of Halloween decorations. Shame we didn't have enough time to use the indoor pool, slides etc.

Room Tip: Less able guests may need to know there is no lift to upper floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mass
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had reservations to stay at the Cape Codder the weekend of Oct 25th. We had made reservations to arrive on Thurs night but when we arrived we realized that our confirmation had us arriving on Fri night. The woman at the front desk ( unfortunately, I cant remember her name ) was very helpful and calm and found a room so we could stay the 3 nights as planned. There were Hallloween events planned all weekend for kids so the hallways were nosiy at times, but it was to be expected.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was a hotel of contrasts. The rooms were quite ok . There was a very good heated open air pool, a jacuzzi which seemed to have a mind of it own when it wanted to work. The hotel is a few miles out of Hyannis, but as there are a number of other hotels nearby then I guess this area is in the middle of hotelville. They have a Hearth & Kettle , where the food is ok , and no more. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and ironically the breakfast supervisor who you would expect to be even friendlier was very off hand and grumpy,( if you don't like mornings dear, then switch to the evening shift !!!!!!!!! )

They had an excellent country band playing from about 4pm to 6pm, well worth going to see them.

The hotel is about 3 storeys high and spread over a very wide area, so much so that we saw numerous people getting lost and walking around in circles, clearly some people needed a sat nav to find their way back to their room

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed in a King-bed room near the spa part of the resort. The bed and pillows were very comfortable (in fact, we're going to purchase the same pillows) and the room was well maintained. Service was above average for the both the front desk (good restaurant recommendations and upgraded our room from another website) and with housekeeping. Overall, the location, value received from broker sites (not the rack or hotel site rate...too high) and the level of comfort were above average and expectations. Although the property is need of updating (face lift, carpeting, paint) and repairs (security doors and little odds and ends), it wasn't too bad and fairly well kept. Can't figure out why it's considered a resort since there's nothing about it that conjures up images of one. It's not too far from town, though a car is required (10 min). Found it to be relaxing and sooted for our needs, i.e., a place to sleep since we ventured out each day there. We did not utilize their eating facilities or swimming pool.

Room Tip: The room in the back was quiet and easily accessible. The king suite is large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belchertown
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We booked this trip with our family as a late fall getaway and for the kids to engage in some halloween fun. The room (130) was clean with a view of the courtyard that was decorated for Halloween with ghosts, and inflatable decorations. Our bathroom was also clean but the tub/shower drain was very, verry slow and took some time once the shower stopped for the water to compleately drain out. This issue actually added a lot of time to our shower routine because, who actually wants to stand in dirty shower water, even if it is your family. The check in process was flawless and quick. Our check is was late on Friday so no notables here. On Saturday we went out for breakfast and decided to go to the town green in Hyannis for there Halloween kids activities which was slated to start at 9am and last until 11pm. We arrived around 11am and were disapointed with the activities, so we returned to the resort. The wave pool was a hit with our kids but part of the pool was in need of some cleaning due to alege build up. We then ventured out to the outside pool as we read that it was heated and open all year. Well it's hard to imagine someone swimming out side in even November as the water was only about 75 degrees, the air temp was in the mid 40's and it was cold. We returned to our room to warm up and get ready for the party. Most if not all of the staff was dressed for the occassion and the decorations inside and out were well received. The dissapointing factors were that the events (face painting, balloon making, crafts, ect.) were to start at 2pm and end with a DJ dance party and trick-r-treating in the hotel. When we arrived in the JFK ballroom for the activities the line didn't look long for face painting so we got in line, we were then informed that this was not the end of the line and that you needed to put our kids names on the list. Well, the list had 20 names on it and it was estimated that it would be about an hour or more wait, there wasn't 20 kids in the room, when we questioned it they said that the only way to move up is to stay in the room and wait for names to be called if someone is not here then you move up the list. We decided against the list and went to other activities. The cookie decorating station was a little suprise, we had to pay a fee of 3 dollars for each child, so much for all inclusive. We then got ready for trick-r treating and were given a map of the hotel where the candy stops were, they totaled 6 stops. I overheard a few of the staff that they had 2000 pieces of candy to hand out. However, when we got to each station each of our kids was given 1 piece of candy, not that kids need a lot of candy and sugar but one small twizzler, or a bite size snicker and it was made quite clear that only ONE piece is given to each child. There were maybe 100 kids and that may be high. We also found out that the psychic readings and fortune teller readings were an additional cost. Again, for the price we paid for the room the additional cost was a little shocking. The biggest disapointment for us was that once the dance party started there were no refreshments available, no snacks on the tables, no drinks (except for the two water coolers in the room) all the kids, ours included, were asking for something to drink. Most parents were comming back with pizza and drinks bought off the property as the in-house resturaunt was very expensive to feed a family. Poor planning I would sa,y as once the kids begin to party they don't want to leave to get supper so parents were forced to bring in outside food for their kids to eat. The DJ was very interactive with the kids and they seemed to enjoy the games and songs he played. I suppose as long as the kids had fun it was a good weekend but several improvements would have made it more enjoyable for the parents. I would think twice about staying for this event again as the price is not cheap.

Room Tip: Room was average for comfort and noise level
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Manager at Cape Codder Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us during our Haunted Hotel Weekend and for your review. We always welcome feedback whether good or bad to help us see what we're doing correctly and what we can improve upon. I have shared all of your opinions and ideas with the management team who put together the event and we will be taking them into account when we begin planning next years event. I hope you will consider us next year as we are always adding and improving upon out events from year to year. Hope to see you again soon!

Jason C.
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Codder Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Codder Resort & Spa

Address: 1225 Iyannough Road, Route 132 & Bearse's Way, Hyannis, MA 02601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hyannis
#5 Family Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Codder Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cape Codder Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Codder Resort And Spa
Cape Codder Hotel Hyannis
Cape Codder Resort & Spa Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Codder Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.