We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very impressed....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Codder Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Codder Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Cape Codder Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1225 Iyannough Road, Route 132 & Bearse's Way, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enchanted Village Package
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wilbraham, MA
1 review
“Not very impressed....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

From all the good reviews of this hotel,I expected far more, especially for the steep price.Our room was clean and slightly above average in size, but the bathroom was extremely small.We were thankful that the mattresses were comfortable (bed linens, however, don't fit the new thicker mattresses). This hotel definitely appeals to couples with young children, not older couples. Overall, the hotel needs updating - at least the parts that we saw....a tear in a hall rug, rust on metal doors, peeling wallpaper in the halls and in our room, rust on the piping to the toilet, rust on some of the fixtures in the tub, etc. There also was no motorized fan in the bathroom to take the steam out when taking a shower; mirror was completely fogged up; had to use hair dryer to clear it up. Because the bathroom was so small, the bathroom vanity had no drawers or storage space, so every day you had to bring your toilette articles into the bathroom and afterward, store them in the bureau drawers. The lighting in the room was very inadequate, but typical of many hotels, including more upscale ones. The lighting in the bathroom wasn't very good for putting on makeup or styling your hair. The toilet was so low it was very difficult to get up; even my husband needed to pull himself up by holding onto the vanity counter. Don't know if the water pressure in the area is poor or if a water restrictor was put on the bathroom sink. It took forever to rinse out a washcloth or to rinse your hands. The entrance door to our room didn't open easily. The lever had to be pushed down a certain way or you couldn't open it. If there was an emergency, you would lose precious time getting out. The sliding door to the courtyard was extremely hard to open and close and the locking mechanism didn't work.(signs of neglect and lack of routine maintenance). There's outdoor nightly music from a small band from 7 - 9 p.m. in the courtyard, but I'm sure those with infants didn't appreciate the noise. Our room was quite far removed from it, and we had to listen to bass tones throbbing, thrumming every evening of our week's stay. The staff at the desk were friendly and helpful, but the maid service for bathroom linens was hit or miss. Some days we'd get only one washcloth or one hand towel. The wall-mounted air conditioner would run for two minutes about every 10 minutes.. Because it didn't remove the humidity in the air, we'd wake up at night sweating. The week we were there the temperatures were in the 90s and it was very humid. The other thing that irked us was the $2.12/day "resort fee", which covers the pools, the outdated fitness center, BONFIRE, entertainment and local and long-distance calls. Never before have we paid extra for a pool, fitness center or entertainment. These costs are usually factored into the room rates. Guests don't like being "nickeled and dimed". Most hotels include free local phone calls and many guests use their cellphones to make toll calls.

Room Tip: Have heard that some sections of the hotel have been renovated. Ask for a newly-renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    257
    146
    64
    74
See reviews for
404
146
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked last minute and we basically found only this hotel. The service at the reception and at the spa was excellent. Room and facility was ok, as european I was expactin more. The location it not bad but you need a car to go everywhere. To reccomend for family but not for romantic escape for couples.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We went with couple buddies and hung out by the outside bar area, and it was awesome. The lovely Canadian bartender that waited on us (Handyman?) was incredibly nice, we couldnt have asked for a more amazing time with that lovely foreign bartender! Cant wait to go back and see DJ NRG later this month!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I went with my 3year old son and boyfriend. This was our first stay here and it was great! It was rainy but we made good use of the indoor wave pool. My son had a BLAST. We also liked the game room. I have to say though, the Hearth and Kettle restaurant was terrible...I mean the food was so not restaurant quality. The drinks were great though. There are many restaurants in the area anyway. We had a great time and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, RI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We decided to stay at the Cape Codder for one night at the beginning of our Cape vacation. We decided to start early and our other hotel wasn't available the extra night. We stayed in a standard double room in the 400s. The room was large, updated and clean. There are a variety of things for kids to do, including the indoor and outdoor pool, firepit and daily activities. The outdoor bar and dining area were nice too.

The thing that we were very disappointed in was that you really don't get that much time to use the pools when you stay for only one night. You can't check in until 3pm and there isn't an option to get your bracelets for the pool early to enjoy the day before your room is ready. The next day they change colors at 11:30am. With the time needed for check in and check out, there really wasn't that much time to enjoy the pools and slides for the price of the room. When we went to our next resort, they gladly checked us in at 11:30am (instead of 3pm) and gave us their pool and beach the entire day and also told us to stay and enjoy everything until closing on check out day.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just returned from another great stay here! As a parent one of the things that deters me from family vacations is the idea of figuring out and organizing every meal, every activity, etc. The best part of the Cape Codder for us is we really don't have to do anything or leave except for going to the beach which is a hop skip and jump from the hotel. Its all inclusive. There is so much going on in this place that my wife and I actually feel "relaxed" for a change! The staff has always been friendly and helpful and we've never had a room that wasn't clean and neat. This trip we started with lunch on the (newly expanded) deck. Great food and a very friendly waitress. From there half the family headed for the fantastic indoor wave pool and slide and the rest headed for the new outdoor pool which is beautiful. By the time we were done the activities were all over the place for the kids. They LOVED the reptile show and magic act. The live band on the outdoor stage was awesome and added to it all. There were movies, bonfire and a characiture artist and no shortage of things to do everyday. The Hearth and Kettle breakfast in the morning never fails - it is the best breakfast on the Cape! The entire family loves it and the price per night is more than reasonable. Will return as always. There is no other place like it on the Cape.

Room Tip: 100s, 200s and 500s on the courtyard side are the most convenient for us
See more room tips
Green Features: Seems to be very much into protecting the environment if you look around
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked an overnight here because my daughter wanted to go to a pool with a slide for her ninth birthday. This place looked good on the website, and we have stayed at their other property, the John Carver Inn, so we thought we'd give it a try. From the start the staff was warm and friendly. Our room was adequate and comfortable. In the section we stayed in (the 200's) the outside and hallways were a little dated, but the rooms seem to have been updated more recently. We were easily able to access the many amenities from our room, including the game room, indoor pool, and courtyard with its many activities.
We enjoyed the indoor wave pool first for a couple of hours, then went back for a rest. When we came back out in the evening there were many activities for our kids to be involved in while we relaxed in the beautiful courtyard area with a cocktail. That was the best part of our stay.
There was a band playing in the corner by "The Deck" that only added to the nice atmosphere, so we decided to stay and eat at the deck to enjoy the music. It did shower from about 8-815, so the band took cover. A major disappointment that they decided not to play anymore as they are advertised to play till 9! They certainly could've gone back on at 8:30, the brief shower had passed. We renamed the band from Hazy, Hot and Humid to Lazy Hot and Humid, as they seemed very determined to not go back out there.
Dinner at The Deck was average, but our waitress was an outstanding server! She really made our night. The next morning we enjoyed a hearty breakfast at the Hearth and Kettle, and Joanie our waitress was great.
One note, the hallways were not kept too clean, someone had dropped what looked like a sandwich on the stairs on Saturday, and it was still there when we checked out on Sunday!

Room Tip: Some rooms had a terrace or balcony, which would've added to our enjoyment. I would ask about t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Codder Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Codder Resort & Spa

Address: 1225 Iyannough Road, Route 132 & Bearse's Way, Hyannis, MA 02601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hyannis
#5 Family Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Codder Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cape Codder Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Codder Resort And Spa
Cape Codder Hotel Hyannis
Cape Codder Resort & Spa Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Codder Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.