We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Codder Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Cape Codder Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Codder Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1225 Iyannough Road, Route 132 & Bearse's Way, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cranberry Harvest Package
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
GreenLeadersSilver level
boston, ma
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked an overnight here because my daughter wanted to go to a pool with a slide for her ninth birthday. This place looked good on the website, and we have stayed at their other property, the John Carver Inn, so we thought we'd give it a try. From the start the staff was warm and friendly. Our room was adequate and comfortable. In the section we stayed in (the 200's) the outside and hallways were a little dated, but the rooms seem to have been updated more recently. We were easily able to access the many amenities from our room, including the game room, indoor pool, and courtyard with its many activities.
We enjoyed the indoor wave pool first for a couple of hours, then went back for a rest. When we came back out in the evening there were many activities for our kids to be involved in while we relaxed in the beautiful courtyard area with a cocktail. That was the best part of our stay.
There was a band playing in the corner by "The Deck" that only added to the nice atmosphere, so we decided to stay and eat at the deck to enjoy the music. It did shower from about 8-815, so the band took cover. A major disappointment that they decided not to play anymore as they are advertised to play till 9! They certainly could've gone back on at 8:30, the brief shower had passed. We renamed the band from Hazy, Hot and Humid to Lazy Hot and Humid, as they seemed very determined to not go back out there.
Dinner at The Deck was average, but our waitress was an outstanding server! She really made our night. The next morning we enjoyed a hearty breakfast at the Hearth and Kettle, and Joanie our waitress was great.
One note, the hallways were not kept too clean, someone had dropped what looked like a sandwich on the stairs on Saturday, and it was still there when we checked out on Sunday!

Room Tip: Some rooms had a terrace or balcony, which would've added to our enjoyment. I would ask about t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    249
    143
    62
    71
See reviews for
400
135
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have stayed here a couple times now as a family. Rooms are OK sized, about average. Cleanliness actually pretty good considering how much use everything gets. The hotel property has an intersting amount of things for the kids, pool (even in winter) wave pool, arcade, couple retaurants, and fireplaces in some of the rooms as well. Staff were overall quite freindly with a couple surly exceptions but that might have been the weekend. I suppose the strength here is the location to things to do on the mid cape, and the fact that if you do have a rain out day or two, you can make do without leaving the proporty. We also booked the new years party which was a hoot and worth the costs. Overall probably a 3.5 star place but i was feeling generous and rounded up. Biggest dissappointment was with the fitness center, pretty good selection but looked like most of the stuff was from the 1980's original fit-up and most was pretty worn. Still you can sneak in a good workout if you try. We would probably go back if in the area. When staying here think old-school all-in-one resort wearing a Best Western suit.

Room Tip: I would ask for rooms in the newer building overlooking the pool. I think they were larger and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Could not have asked for more in a family resort at the cape. Rooms were great size and clean. H&K restaurant is perfect for family breakfast/dinner. Lots of good activities for kids - and they absolutely loved the pools. Very helpful/friendly staff. Short drive to beaches and downtown Hyannis. Just an overall great experience!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

The cape codder was great from service to cleanliness to the concierge. Always great! Great summer activities all day to keep the kids busy and the wave pool is great! The outdoor salt water pool is amazing. Once there you do not have to leave. Two great restaurants on site and delivery places very close by. Night time is always fun for everyone of any age, from having a drink outside listening to great bands on the deck to roasting marshmallows outside in the fire pit to watching a movie outside under the stars with the whole family. There is something for everyone and I highly recommend this hotel any time of the year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Do not let the pictures on the website fool you. I have stayed at motels that are nicer than the Cape Codder upper level rooms. The website makes the rooms appear much nicer than what we actually received. The ceilings in our room showed signs of water damage, and I could literally move part of our wall with one hand. The beds were ok comfort wise, however the comforter sheet was hardly big enough to fit over the bed. There is a bonfire every night for hotel guests, but they let the bonfire go out on its own, so our room smelled liked bonfire smoke the entire night.

To be fair, our kids enjoyed the wave pool. However, the male lifeguards did not pay attention to what was happening. They seemed more interested in what their co-workers were doing.

The Hearth and Kettle's food at The Resort was average. The service from the restaraunt was exceptional. They offered helpful hints about which beaches and places to visit on Cape Cod.

We had a quick 2-day trip, so we did not spend a ton of time in our room. I would definitely recommend trying to find some place else to stay in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rspirlet, General Manager at Cape Codder Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
I have contacted this guest and apologized for their unpleasant experience and to assure them that we will make this situation right for them. I have offered a couple of options and I am waiting for their response.

The room in question was, unfortunately, recently affected by a roofing problem and with all of the rain this room did have some wall damage - which wasn't easily noticed at first. This is not, of course, acceptable and as mentioned we will make this situation right for this guest.

I am always available if anyone has any questions or concerns.

Raymond J. Spirlet
General Manager
Cape Codder Resort & Spa
rspirlet@capecodderresort.com
508-771-3000 ext. 701
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Wave pool a hit with the kids. Stayed here because it was close to friends we were visiting. Otherwise just an average hotel in need of updating. Carpet smelled old. Staff nice. Food fine for kids. Rooms a little noisy, thin walls.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Cleanliness is probably the most important thing to me when staying at a hotel, and the CC gets a giant thumbs up!! While at the hotel, I visited the spa for a manicure, pedicure and massage. All three services were wonderful and met with a professional and courteous staff.
I would highly recommend the CC hotel for your next visit on the Cape.

J. Weymouth
Salem, NH

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Codder Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Codder Resort & Spa

Address: 1225 Iyannough Road, Route 132 & Bearse's Way, Hyannis, MA 02601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hyannis
#6 Family Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Codder Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Cape Codder Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Codder Hotel Hyannis
Cape Codder Resort And Spa
Cape Codder Resort & Spa Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Codder Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.