We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem of a motel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Winds Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Winds Resort to your Saves list
Cape Winds Resort
657 W Main St, Hyannis, MA 02601-3420   |  
Hotel amenities
NY
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An absolute gem of a motel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

This motel was perfect and pet-friendly. What more could you ask for? The staff took care of us like we were family. And, boy! What a beautiful view of the inlet with a sparkling pool by the bay. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a great stay.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
18
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

A friend and I stayed at Cape Winds Resort in late April 2011 and were pleasantly surprised by our accommodations here. We had a fully-equipped kitchen, large bedroom with a queen-sized bed and sliding doors to a deck, a living room with a pull-out queen-sized bed, loveseat, table and chairs in a bay window, a flat-screen TV and two bathrooms. The whole place was tastefully decorated with new furnishings, lots of dishes, pots and pans and a dishwasher. There was a grocery store adjacent to Cape Winds which was so convenient for picking up breakfast essentials. The staff in the office were pleasant and helpful and a Keurig coffeemaker was in the office anytime you
wanted a coffee while the office was open. Cape Winds was close to shopping and the tourist areas and we found it easy to get around. There was also an indoor pool which we did not use. We arrived just as it was getting dark and did not want to go too far in the dark looing for a place to eat so went a ways up the street and found a place called Jack's...it looked like a Roadhouse..nothing fancy but the food was fantastic and reasonable. We went back another night and got a pizza to take out and it was equally as yummy as the first meal we had there.

Room Tip: Our suite was on the second floor and could not have been any nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

My husband and I take our grandchildren each year on a trip. This year we selected a Kennedy destination as my husband says. We took our family down to Hyannis, MA. It was a pleasant drive. We decided to stay at the Cape Winds Resort and we were not disappointed. It is a great place for family reunions. We booked a two bedroom suite for 6 adults, it was spacious, each room had a dresser and a very neat bathroom. Units are in good shape even though the facility is not new at all. The condo offered a full equipped kitchen as well (cookery and cutlery included) with a microwave, coffee maker and even a toaster. We had a unit with a patio, something that was great to enjoy some outdoor games; there is also a play area for kids and an indoor pool. By the way, if you decide to do some cooking there is a grocery store next door. The living room is big and has a cable T.V. The unit had a phone too. I must thank the staff for all their help, they are very nice, friendly and . If you go on vacations to this amazing destination you must take a stroll on the walkway to the sea at sunset; visit the shops, boutiques and specialty restaurants down there. If you enjoy cultural sightseeing the JFK Memorial is another must. A fun place to visit is the Cape Cod Potato Chips factory, the kids enjoyed the visit very much. Pay a visit to the lighthouse, you won’t regret. If you enjoy shopping as much as I do, then the Cape Cod Mall should be on your list. If we have the chance to go back to Hyannis, we will definitely stay at Cape Winds Resort again, very recommendable.

Room Tip: I like the ones with patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

When we arrived the place seemed clean, but upon further examination dishwasher had dirty dishes in it and I found a nightgown in the bed. The carpeting was filthy and there were pistachio shells on the floor and in the sofa. When I brought this to the office's attention the lady was very nice and apologetic but said their were no other rooms available. We were in a ground floor apt. and the following day I noticed the floor in the bedroom was wet (at that point it wasn't raining), I told the office and was told the maintenance man was sick yesterday and they didn't know if he would be in today, but I could put a mattress cover on the floor. When we returned later that day we found a dehumidifier in the bedroom, that no one came to empty. When we were checking out (2 days early) I found out the person I had been talking with in the office was the housekeeping manager and she had not forwarded any of our problems to management, because she was the person who would have been ultimately responsible.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastpointe, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We were overall disappointed with our stay at the Cape Winds 'resort'. The unit that we stayed in resembled a motor lodge not what we have become accustomed to with our timeshare exchanges. The staff was very friendly and helpful. But, the unit had some concerns: awkward, spiral staircase to reach the second floor (where the living area, kitchen, dining area were located). This little idiosyncrasy should have been noted in the timeshare exchange book and the Cape Winds own description of their facility. The stream of water from the shower head was spraying every where but on you (needed to be replaced), the arms of the chair and sofa were stained and dirty (we placed pool towels over them), the management wanted the guest to strip the bed, load the dishwasher, pile up the towels, take out the trash before leaving because 'they had 34 units to 'turn-over' in a 6-hour time span (that is a staffing / management issue) and they had the audacity to actually have an envelope in the room to tip the house-keeper...what house-keeper? The only recreational activity we saw was the horse shoe area and the pool...our stay at Cape Winds 'resort' ...was just....disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

This place would be great for a small family. We had two large bedrooms with dressers and closets. Two baths, large clean kitchen, large dining table for six comfortably. The living area had two sofas in front of the TV. You did not feel crowded at all. The patio had a table and chairs as well. The facilities had a pool and play area for the kids. Be sure to bring your own coffee, but there is a grocery store next door. The kitchen had lots of cabinets and space to cook. There is also a great restarant across the street.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

What else could you want? While modest, the rooms were large and very clean. A great layout with 2 bedrooms (1 with 2 twins - the other with a queen size bed) and a fold out couch. There is a good-size balcony (not completely separated from whoever is next door - but one can also see who is across on the other side of the resort - so don't plan on sunbathing nude) with a table and chairs, as well as a sun umbrella/parasol; the kitchen is well-equipped and large and there is an indoor pool as well as a nice outdoor common area. The location is handy to most everything and the people who work here were all very helpful and pleasant. I found it quite charming and a very good value. I came here through a timeshare and, having been to about 2 different resorts/hotels in the U.S. every year for the last 8, certainly think that this one is to be recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Winds Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Winds Resort

Address: 657 W Main St, Hyannis, MA 02601-3420
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Cape Winds Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Winds Hotel Hyannis
Cape Winds Resort Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Winds Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.